Canal Bank Cafe restaurant

146 Upper Leeson Street, Dublin 4, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

165 reviews
4 stars - based on 165 reviews

Canal Bank Cafe

Submit a review
Canal Bank Cafe

Marialoughlin145123256
Dublin
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2015 (visited 12 December 2014)

We went here for a pre christmas dinner. 20 minutes before arriving we were called to say that our table was delayed and that we would have to wait. We were advised to go across the road and wait. No free drinks was provided which I felt could have been. We got a nice seat in the back, but the noise level in the restaurant was atrocious, we had to raise our voices to be heard which wasn't conducive to a very relaxing atmosphere. I ate the burger which I must remark was tasty and well presented, and everyone seemed pleases with their food. My friends drank cocktails which they remarked were delicious. The wine was alright, would be unlikely to order it again. When the bill arrived despite numerous calculations, we failed to find a sources for an additional €20 which none of the party could account for in their personal tally. This caused a delay in our leaving and some friction, with the waiter waiting on us. The bathrooms were absolutely Baltic and quite uncomfortable as a result. The decor in the bathrooms needs improving. I would be reluctant to return given it's location, which is not walking distance late at night into the city after your meal. As a result I would be very unlikely to return as it proves a nuisance to get back into town. I believe their chicken wings are fabulous, although I didn't try them. Overall, it would suit if you were in the area, although if not, I wouldn't return. Reasonable value for money, but I'd request a quiet table, so you can enjoy your meal.

Canal Bank Cafe

Manue Kc
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2015 (visited 14 December 2014)

The worst burger and service in Dublin. I got the wrong burger with very dry meat.They took it back without apologizing and brought it back with overcooked cheap cheese.The fries were not homemade and cooked several times and oily. I got a boiling latte. Very disappointing. It used to be good, It's going downhill...

Canal Bank Cafe

conall.lavery92616567
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2014 (visited 3 October 2014)

One of our favourites in Dublin for dining with family and friends. You never who you might run into there either, saw Colin Farrell there once which gave my daughter a thrill.

Canal Bank Cafe

lisacharlottekelly68421462
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st November 2014 (visited 20 November 2014)

Got a lovely seat by the window - chicken wings were delish x

Canal Bank Cafe

nafets74
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th November 2014 (visited 14 November 2014)

Went for the wings which were as good as ever, burgers very good too.... staff are friendly, location is great and overall the price was reasonable.

Canal Bank Cafe

shsurprise
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd October 2014 (visited 26 September 2014)

Food was good. Very busy during lunch time. Great venue for friends hanging out but not so much for a client dining. Recommended.

Canal Bank Cafe

DarrenC
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th June 2014 (visited 1 June 2014)

Not cheap but the food and service is amazing, if you're opting for the chicken wings to start and there are only 2 of you then share a main course....honestly you will be too stuffed otherwise

Canal Bank Cafe

elainemaria
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 12th May 2014 (visited 10 May 2014)

I met a couple of friends here on Saturday night. On arrival I was very happy with the atmosphere and everyone in the restaurant where happy and enjoying themselves. Then, we were not shown to our table. We were sat at a table that was suitable for 2 people not 3. The food arrived and it was lovely, I couldn't enjoy it because I was sitting a a cramped table with no room. But the food was good. I had the burger which was cooked to my liking and plenty of it. I would recommend a trip to this restaurant just make sure you get a big enough table for your party!

Canal Bank Cafe

LisaD
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th March 2014 (visited 22 March 2014)

I was here with a friend on Saturday at 3.30pm. The place wasn't packed at this time which was nice. Our waiter was very friendly, we didn't know whether to order one basket of wings each as a starter and then a main or to share the wings, he told us there would be enough to share as a starter and he was right. And they were DIVINE! My main was the steak sandwich, again divine, cooked to perfection with little or no fat, very impressed. My friend had the French toast, this too was delicious! The bacon was a little salty so be careful not to add extra salt. Without doubt I will be back here again. Food a little on the expensive side but you get what you pay for, delicious food and friendly staff and I would gladly pay for that every time. Oh and the lemon water for washing our hands in was hot - a sign that a restaurant knows what its at!

Canal Bank Cafe

Pullapoika
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th March 2014 (visited 7 March 2014)

Just as lovely as the sister restaurant in Ranelagh. The interior is nice, the staff is friendly, the food is good and especially the chicken wings are the best I've ever had.

Canal Bank Cafe

fgoulding
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th February 2014 (visited 8 February 2014)

This is one of our favourite places to eat. The menu is always interesting, the value is great and the service is friendly. Not the greatest decor in the back part of the restaurant but the tables up front are great.

Canal Bank Cafe

lindaloo
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 15th February 2014 (visited 14 February 2014)

Had breakfast here and can honestly say it's the nicest breakfast I've ever had. I had bacon, scrambled egg & mushrooms and he had Full Irish. The bacon is amazing, it's like it's been cooked on a bbq giving it a beautiful flavour (and I'm not all that into bbq food). The mushrooms had a hint of garlic to them, not overpowering just enough to make them taste lovely. The bathrooms are huge, decorated well and spotless. The staff are very friendly too. Will definitely be back at different times as I want to try the other sittings (lunch & dinner) times. Recommended.

Canal Bank Cafe

adamster
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2013 (visited 7 May 2013)

The best chicken wings you'll ever taste!

Canal Bank Cafe

slynch80
Dublin
52 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2013 (visited 27 June 2013)

This is a lovely restaurant that I return to time and time again. We ordered the chicken wings and the portion size is large enough for two people to share as a starter - it is very filling. The burger and salads were delicious too. It has a lovely atmosphere and good service.

Canal Bank Cafe

rosebud
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2013 (visited 19 August 2013)

I just moved in to an apartment across the road from here and had never even heard of it before that. I've been here about 5 times now and I've yet to be disappointed! The wings are amazing! (I've even rang them up and ordered them to takeaway when i'm been hungover.) The eggs Benedict is one of the nicest I've ever had! Could barely eat the club sambo it's so packed with fillings, and the goats cheese bruchetta thing is really tasty! I find the staff really friendly and reading some of the old comments I think they must have gotten new staff since then as they're all so nice! Not a bad word to say! Keep up the good work!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5045 ]