Bianconis Bistro restaurant

232 Merrion Road, Dublin 4, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Bistro

Price Range:

€€

49 reviews
4 stars - based on 49 reviews

Bianconis Bistro

Submit a review
Bianconis Bistro

weeshe
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 07th November 2010 (visited 15 September 2010)

Great restaurant. would recommend it to pizza lovers!!

Bianconis Bistro

Noodlelover
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st October 2010 (visited 30 September 2010)

This is one of the few Italians in Dublin that get the thumbs up. The food is standard Italian pizza/pasta with some nice meat and fish dishes too. I had a Hawaiian pizza and the chunks of pineapple were lovely and fresh and the ham good quality. My partner also had a pizza. We were driving so ordered soft drinks which came in huge ice cold glasses. It was perfect! The waiters are very attentive and packed up our leftover pizza (they are very big!) in lovely boxes which was a nice touch. If you have a sweet tooth they have a great range of desserts up at the top of the restaurant in a fridge. It's a pity it is out of my way otherwise I would dine here more often. The city centre needs an Italian like this one!

Bianconis Bistro

A. Barino
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th July 2010 (visited 12 July 2010)

By chance have eaten here 2 nights this week. This restaurant seems to do a steady trade with people coming in and out. We were offered several menus from early bird, to set menu for €28, and also their a la carte. Food was fine, what we ordered was what we got. One of the few restaurants around that serves veal milanese, really veal on this occasion and not pork. My only observations would be that the restaurant gets a liitle dark as you move down the back and also on both occasions the friendly waiter seemed to be running the whole show on his own.

Bianconis Bistro

badabing
Dublin
112 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th February 2010 (visited 11 February 2010)

"Never Again" Thats what I thought about returning to Bianconis as I was pulling a foot long hair out of my soup. It's rare that I felt so uncomfortable in a restaurant. The service is cool and distant, the selection very limited and for the food, well the soup was nice if it had'nt got someones hair in it. The menu is overpriced, make no mistake I for one won't be back.

Bianconis Bistro

Mushy Peas
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th December 2009 (visited 21 December 2009)

I have eaten here a few times as I work in the area and there is very little else around. There is generally a good atmosphere, food is always tasty but pretty overpriced - the best way to work it is to order at the counter and then take your seat - you could be left waiting for a while if you are depending on the staff to take your order from where you're sitting!

Bianconis Bistro

gerbeenie
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 06th December 2009 (visited 29 November 2009)

not a great atmosphere. amazing cakes! highly reccommend the lemon meringue pie!!!!

Bianconis Bistro

elsibarita

15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th June 2009 (visited 4 June 2009)

We called in here today for a morning coffee and snack. No real complaints with anything except the price. I was genuinely startled to be asked for €13.60 for two coffees, one florentine (€3.50!!!) and one slice of cake (€5.50!!!). Both florentine and cake were nothing special but nice enough. The price left a very sour taste. This was a queue up and pay at the counter job so you aren't even paying for table service. The owners of places like this need to understand that the days when no price was too silly are long gone. There are just too many other places around where the standard of everything is as good and better but the prices are more reasonable. I had no complaints but I would not go back until a realistic price adjustment is made.

Bianconis Bistro

thecaptain
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th May 2009 (visited 1 May 2009)

You can't beat the lunch time menu here! Great food reasonable price. No complaints!

Bianconis Bistro

foodiequeen
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th March 2009 (visited 21 March 2009)

We decided to celebrate Irelands Win at Bianconi's, our first visit. The atmosphere was electric, as we entered the place was buzzing. Thank goodness we reserved a table, because it was packed. We had the all night set menu at €28 each which included a free bottle of wine. I asked for spaghetti carbonara which was not on the menu and told no problem. And it was the best in Dublin. For dessert I had the Panna Cotta which is home made and mouth watering. The service was friendly even though they were busy. I so glad that we have discovered this place. We would recommend this place.

Bianconis Bistro

bleu
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2009 (visited 6 March 2009)

Was pleasantly surprised by my experience. This is due to having one of the worst meals I have ever had here some time ago and vowing never to return. This time the food was very tasty and well presented. The service was friendly overall, although not very knowledgeable: when I asked what the 'baked cod' was cooked with, I was informed it was 'baked cod' and given an irritated look. The restaurant decor is a mish-mash of wanabee chic and home grown italian. It seems unfinshed in places but has a fantastic cake display case (full of pretty fantastic cakes). The front seating area is more open, suitable for coffees etc - and for prams - and the back long and narrow. We were eating early, so we endured the noise of tired and hyperactive children to the front (with mothers making no attempt made to control them) and the drunken cackles of a group of women out early further down. Apart from this and the rather tired toilets, Bianconi's has a lot to offer foodwise. We had the set menu which came with a recession busting free glass of wine - one of the smallest I have ever seen (glass) filled with some pretty awful plonk. Rather ungenerous as the menu was reasonable but not cheap. My friend had the gnocchi which were light and delicious. The gorgonzola sauce was piquant and also light. I had fried mozzarella - again light and succulent. The mains (spaghetti with clams and pork escalopes) were delicious and generous. Desserts were tiramisu and creme brulee. Yum - the creme brulee was more of a flan but delicious nonetheless. We left happy with our food (which we finished to the last crumb), pleased enough with the service which was generally friendly, disappointed with the place and ambiance and unsure as to whether you would bother to go back. Only if you were in the vicinity. Not by design I think.

Bianconis Bistro

Goldwolf
Wicklow
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd March 2009 (visited 1 March 2009)

I have never walked out of a restaurant until yesterday. From the service, to the wine, and quality of food, this place is a disaster, and I mean this frankly. I am horrified to even think of my experience yesterday in this so called ' Restaurant '. My girlfriend and I went here for dinner last night before a concert, it was 5.30pm, Sunday. We were sat at a table, when the waiter came over he simply said " What do you want ? " !! I asked for 2 glasses of Soave wine, this arrived, corked of course. Granted he changed this though he looked at me as if I had 2 heads! My girlfriends starter, the bruschetta was dry, bland and tasteless. I ordered a pasta and my partner a lasagne...My pasta arrived dry, tasteless, and can be at best described as rubber texture. The lasagne... honestly, Aldi make a better one for only €2 ! Worse yet, my 'parmesan' it was of course not parmesan, and was ROCK hard grated cheese as it had been left out in the air for hours on end, the entire bowl of cheese was solid ! The service was horrific, and I can assure you this waiter does not like his job one bit. I like to assume the normal chef was not there, as if this is as good as it gets here, then God help us ! Honestly, I can say from my many reviews this restaurant is Dublins worst, and I will never return here, even if my meal was free, I would not offer it to my worst enemy. Take my advice, look at the menu, smile, and keep on walking, it is not worth a moment of your time. The attitude of the staff was horrific and unforgiving. I refused to pay for my food, uneaten of course, so they charged me for a coffee !! Appalling and ludicrous behaviour. I only hope the owner takes note of this review and may care enough to clean up the act of Sundays in his restaurant as it is simply terrible. If you read this feel free to contact me as I assure you in my many years I have never been met with such bad attitudes from staff, nor been delivered such poor quality.

Bianconis Bistro

clynch82
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th February 2009 (visited 19 February 2009)

The food here is lovely - but a large menu to choose from. The staff are very friendly and attentive also. The food is great value as well. I defintely recommend.

Bianconis Bistro

carolgus33
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th February 2009 (visited 19 February 2009)

this place is fab real authentic italian stuff and good for the pocket too!

Bianconis Bistro

yvonne hedderman
Kildare
60 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd October 2009 (visited 20 October 2009)

the pizza here is absolutely delicious. Got stuck in work till late so decided to treat myself to pizza on way home. Really tasty.

Bianconis Bistro

Argot
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2011 (visited 14 May 2011)

Been a long time since we were here. But the guy who owns it is still as pleasant, helpful and professional as ever. Also still excellent value for money. My Mother in Laws 70th Birthday on Sunday saw the family (a big one) congregate at extended tables and each of us enjoyed the three course Sunday special meal. I had Crostini Rustici to start, Pollo Ai Funghi E Panna for my main and hot apple pie and cream to top it off. Good wholesome tummy nourishment. My sister in law opted for the smoked salmon starter and the Insalata Contadina Invernale which she said was 'good'. Ideal for a family gathering and something to suit all tastes on the menu. No doubt we'll be back for future family occasions!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4827 ]