The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin) restaurant

Coolbanagher Church Road, North Co. Dublin, Swords, Dublin, Area Code: North Co Dublin

North Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

115 reviews
4 stars - based on 115 reviews

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

Submit a review
The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

Curlyann

37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th October 2014 (visited 3 October 2014)

This was my first time here. I was late arriving but when we did order my glass of wine took way too long to arrive. For starter I had baked goats cheese with beets and walnuts. This was that fluffy type goats cheese....pleasant flavour. Thankfully some bread was left on the table as it needed it. The avocado salad looked like mostly lettuce, the prawn starter went down well. My main of monkfish and scallops was disappointing, and I had been looking forward to it. The monkfish wasn't hot enough, the scallops were cooked really well but didn't have much flavour. It then had drizzly black tasteless sauce included. I think this was supposed to be black pudding but I expected crumbly tasty style so this wasn't good at all. One of our group had toblerone cheesecake which was pleasant but certainly didn't taste like toblerone. The coffee was lovely though. They forgot to charge us for the bottle of wine and when we pointed it out they didn't charge they threw in the glass of red wine with no charge which I thought was decent. Nice pleasant place/staff but food didn't do it for me.

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

martha.moussally28422922
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd September 2014 (visited 5 July 2014)

Fantastic restaurant! Great service and food, one of my favourites being the fillet steak with blue cheese butter...the blue cheese butter is not always on the menu but worth asking for! I usually go gluten free and this place makes it very easy adapting almost every dish to suit. I will be back very soon!

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

philamurphy
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd September 2014 (visited 3 September 2014)

Great early bird deals, had the fish special of the week, very good and great value, would recommend for food and value

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

PJB
Dublin
90 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 19th August 2014 (visited 18 August 2014)

Tried lunch here and really enjoyed the experience. My partner got Trio of seafood open sandwich with chips, and I got the Corned beef plate with mash potato & cabbage. Yummy all round.Very reasonable too. Lovely surroundings & good service. Will definitely be back again

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

curley wurley
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 26th June 2014 (visited 25 June 2014)

Visited here with a friend on Wednesday as we had a voucher and it was the last day to use it. The service was very quick and we felt a little rushed! it turned out the restaurant was booked for a retirement party and we were asked to vacate our seats and they brought us downstairs with a free pot of tea. While this was very nice of them I felt we were equally as important as the party and should have at least been told before booking that there was a party, That said the staff were very nice and the food was very very good. Will definitely return.

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

Gargo
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th June 2014 (visited 6 June 2014)

This place never lets us down - Husband loves the sizzling steak and I have tried the tacos, prawn dishes and other on the bar menu... Love it and staff are extremely nice and friendly - Love their new buzzer where you can buzz a staff member if you want assistance at table so not waiting around

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

52phill
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th May 2014 (visited 11 May 2014)

this is the best value restaurant in swords by a long shot,my kids love the free wi fi and i love the big steaks that come with chips mushrooms onions and pepper sauce for less than 19 euro,go there every sunday for dinner,its always busy and if your not there early you might have to wait ,but it is worth it,friendly staff always there to help,can't fault this place

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

raydoody
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th May 2014 (visited 15 May 2014)

I was there on a Thursday night and was surprised at how busy it was, The meal was really nice and tasty, I had Pan fried prawns for starters and Pork Belly for my main, my husband had Goats cheese and beetroot starter and then a Fillet streak, we shared a passion fruit and white chocolate cheesecake, all the food was really nice, even the fresh basket of bread was lovely, All in all no complaints, will be back!

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

ciara_ni_b
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th April 2014 (visited 23 April 2014)

absolutely love this restaurant, went for lunch last week with the girls, food, service and atmosphere was brilliant as always. really homely place with plenty of food to choose from.

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

Munch30
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th April 2014 (visited 27 April 2014)

We dined here tonight (table for 6) and the food was excellent, particularly the steaks which 5 of our group ordered. The starters were wonderful and varied and the deserts divine. The entire bill with 2 bottles of wine came to 220 euro - very good value. The staff were warm and friendly. Needless to say the place was packed on such a fine sunny evening. The recession has definitely receded! We will be back soon.

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

redser999
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th April 2014 (visited 11 April 2014)

The Old Schoolhouse Restaurant & Bar in Swords could teach other restaurants some valuable lessons! This place is very popular joint in Swords - very good food and wine at very reasonable prices. I dined here on Friday evening with my brother and sister...our table was booked for 8pm and even though we only had to wait a short while before being seated, they offered us a complimentary bottle of wine for delay. What a very nice and decent touch and not many other places would do the same. We all ordered the steaks - two fillets and one rib-eye - they were all cooked to perfection and served with chunky fries, mouth-watering onions and mushrooms and great choice of sauces to accompany each dish. So glad we didn't order starters as the mains were more than enough. Great buzz about the place and no rush on getting table back....very good service. Overall I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good night out and the bar down below was hopping, with great buzz in outdoor beer garden. Definitely a return visit on the cards again....they serve three great menus- the early bird, the a la carte but also the ingenious Night Bird - three courses for only €26 - but you would want to have plenty of room to fit it all in! Very decent wine list to match any food - and again apart from ordering by the glass, carafe or bottle, they also give option of free 20ml taster glass to make sure! It's these extra touches that make all the difference - as I said - lessons for others to learn!

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

markdro
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 4 April 2014)

Best Restaurant in North County Dublin, both the bar and restaurant, the fish pie and chowder cant bettered anywhere.

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

lindaredmac

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th March 2014 (visited 28 March 2014)

5 star all the way, wonderful food, service and value.

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

RestaurantFan99
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th March 2014 (visited 5 March 2014)

We ate here years ago and it was only so-so. Have heard great reports recently so decided to give it another try and I'm so glad we did! They were having their "Fishy Wednesday" promotion last night and the place was buzzing. We had walked past a few restaurants in Swords which were practically empty - obviously everyone was eating in the Old Schoolhouse! I had the Fisherman's Pie and it was one of the best I've ever had. It came with chips and mushy peas and all for €10! Regular price was about €13 and I would gladly pay that any other day of the week. My husband had the prawns to start - delicious - and a fillet steak for main course which was cooked to perfection and came with onion rings, mushrooms, mash and chips. Service was excellent and I can see us becoming regular customers of The Old Schoolhouse!

The Old Schoolhouse (Dublin)

sam71

30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 02nd March 2014 (visited 1 March 2014)

As always great food fab atmosphere. Love this restaurant! n

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5063 ]