The Harbour Bar (Rush) restaurant

Lower Main Street, Rush, Co. Dublin., Rush, Dublin, Area Code: North Co Dublin

North Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Pub Grub

Price Range:


31 reviews
4 stars - based on 31 reviews

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

Submit a review
The Harbour Bar (Rush)

Foodie100
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th June 2010 (visited 17 June 2010)

My wife and I went to the Harbour Bar on the recommendation of friends and we weren't disappointed. It is a bar and in all honesty not a desperately attractive one but it is set in a lovely location beside the harbour (funnily enough) in Rush with a lovely walk available along the pier and into a small park should you desire. The service was first class with the waiter advising of specials and taking our drinks order as soon as we sat down. the menu is extensive and as you'd imagine is concentrated around local seafood. We couldn't settle on just one starter each so we had three between us, the Crab Claws, The Tempura Prawns and the Potted Crab, all superb and good size portions, served with freshly made bread, delicious. I had the Fish Pie for mains and my wife had the starter portion of the Pasta Carbonara. My only criticism of the Pie would be the amount of mash covering it, less would be better. Total cost for the above plus drinks came to less than 70Euro, terrific value for a really good meal. We'll be back and we've already told a lot of our friends about this little gem.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

FoxyRoxy
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th January 2009 (visited 8 January 2009)

Have ate here a lot in the past but have gotten very bored with it and dont go as much at all. At the start when the new owner took over the specials were somthing different each week and always somthing you would go for. Now they are just the same and very bland. The menu has not been changed very much at all. The surf and turf is very over priced and the prawns are like the frozen ones out of the bag and the steak can be very fatty, not good at all for the price. Staff can be ok but have seen a few of them arguing with each other. Not somthing a customer wants to see.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

Tenderbits
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st November 2008 (visited 16 November 2008)

This is definitely one pub/restaurant to avoid. Food is awful, dont know how they get away with serving garbage. Service is abysmal, so slow,indifferent, rude and appaling generally. As there are not a great selection of restaurnats in Rush, it is crying out for a decent one. Just do not know how owners expect to stay in business with this type of service/fare. Definitely this is one to avoid. Sory there is not one positive comment one can make about this shebeen.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

Anneliese
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th November 2008 (visited 26 September 2008)

I live down the road from Rush and I think I can safely say this is probably my favourite place to eat in Rush....the food is much better than anywhere else in the town. My only real problem is the waiting time , you could be waiting on a busy day up to an hour for your food so you need patience! Its not bad value for money and the staff are quite nice . I've tried a few thing from the menu and everything was always beautiful. I will return again

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

bbqduck
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd October 2008 (visited 13 July 2008)

Living in Rush and offering a true and unbiased opinion, this is not an enjoyable dining experience. I don't normally resort to reviews, but having read some on this I can only conclude nepotism exists. The reality is its an old pub which is fine, but it needs refurbishment. Atmosphere is anything but convivial in our experience. Food is only mediocre and good service is lacking. In fact the staff are quite rude and the management arrogant. Any time we have been here its out of necessity or laziness, it is convenient. We always hope we might experience what the last reviewer describes but we are always; 1. Disappointed 2. Adamant never to return. All the boxes are ticked regarding traceability and hygiene standards but the reality is different. It makes an impressive statement in the pub, but see the reaction from the landlady if one complains. The menu reads well, unfortunately the food does not match up. There are no culinary skills used in the kitchen by our standards. The wine list is basic and overpriced. Desserts are boring. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. Its overpriced for pub food that is poor quality. Its true there are better choices close by.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

Tastebuds

6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2008 (visited 10 October 2008)

Have been here a number of times and found it, on the whole, extremely pleasing. The roast of the day is usually excellent for content and value and there is a decent range beyond that plus a good selection of wines by the glass. It is comfortable and convivial, aside possibly from frantic Sunday afternoons, and the service is usually faultless and cheerful. Meat sources are listed which displays a commitment to good food and customer satisfaction. I would recommend it without hesitation.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

Dunkinpaddy
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2008 (visited 10 October 2008)

Its belt and braces all the way here. Don'T bring anyone here to impress them. Its basic. Food,service,ambiance is poor. If your palette is unsophisticated this is the place. Its sooo out of date, prawns and Marie rose sauce, garlic sauce, surf and turf must be last millenia's menu. Really though service is abysmal. So depressing inside, smell from toilets disgusting. Dark and dingy! Couldn'T get out quick enough. How can a place be so out of date, even for OAP's! Bring an extra set of dentures the steak is real tough. Too many better choices within the Malahide/Swords/Skerries area

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

starlimo
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th August 2008 (visited 18 August 2008)

The food here is very good portions are very generous. Clean and well presented. Will return again. It is food not trying to be anything other than food.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

CM-cubed

13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th August 2008 (visited 7 August 2008)

Good food at a good price. Great to have a local seafood restaurant. I had a chicken salad starter & the fish special as a main, and was pleasantly full afterward. My companions all had the roast of the day and all commented on the generous portion size.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

munchiem
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 08th July 2008 (visited 20 June 2008)

This is not intended to be gourmet dining but for a change we don't have to leave Rush to have a nice meal out. Food is good, as is the atmosphere and location. Their daily specials are very good value. Try the tempura chicken as a main course! So tender.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

robert1.kelly
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd June 2008 (visited 22 June 2008)

Excellant Sunday Lunch venue

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

hungry eyes

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th June 2008 (visited 8 June 2008)

If your looking for good food done simply come here, all dishes are priced very reasonably, crab claws and mussels are my favourite, served with homemade brown bread, also they have a great wine list. I have now eaten here five times and experience a great service, must warn you weekend can be very busy, but you could also cross the road and take a stroll on the beach while a table becomes available.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

hunkjasmine
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th June 2008 (visited 21 June 2008)

Was invitd to a function here at week end. Was here before and could not recommend it. Was not looking forward to returning. Unfortunately no better. Service is desperate, food less than average, wine list boring and pricey. Place could still do with a face lift. Good varierty of fish as you would expect given the location but unfortunately it is overcooked,and dried out, bread was not fresh either. Havent tried the meat dishes. Service is slow.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

Tippman

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd June 2008 (visited 3 June 2008)

Have been here a few times and the food is always good, the rib eye steak is lovely and the but prawn tempura is a must. Well worth the drive out to Rush.

The Harbour Bar (Rush)

stacey
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th May 2008 (visited 4 May 2008)

Came across this place totally by accident as was only out for a drive last Sunday, had claws and prawns. Great value, great food, service so so, quick and efficient, but lacking personality, still a swift return is on the cards, half an hour from Dublin and the prices are halved, worth a visit!!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4798 ]