McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

59 St. Assam's Park, Dublin 5, Raheny, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 5

Dublin 5

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Bistro

Price Range:

€€

106 reviews
4 stars - based on 106 reviews

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

Submit a review
McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

Carlos
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2013 (visited 31 January 2013)

Overall great early bird menu and excellent value. Two suggestions - linen tablecloths and take coats off guests when they arrive

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

aoifeey85
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd October 2012 (visited 13 October 2012)

Have eaten here a good few times, always great food & service. The last visit was for a family meal. My mam & bro are veggies so it can be tricky at times to choose a restaurant. Picked McHugh's as I knew they had a number of veggie dishes and if they didn't like them, there was always spuds and veg!!! My mum is a picky eater & generally doesn't enjoy meals out but she said the food was fantastic and she really enjoyed it, as did everyone else. They cut up a cake for us, it was my dad's birthday, and brought us out a slice each with a bit of extra strawberry sauce! Service was great, food was delicious and so reasonably priced! Will definitely be back!!!

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

Restaurant-Spy
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2012 (visited 1 September 2012)

My wife and I eat out a lot and have eaten in some of the finest restaurants around the world, and we know good food and cooking and service etc. Looking for somewhere different, we found Mc Hughs on google, and decided to give them a try.We had no reservation [ about 5.30pm], but luckily they had a cancellation. The Manager /owner? said "Welcome to Mc Hughs" which I thought was a nice touch. We were brought to a table immediately and Menus, Water, and a selection of bread was served. We didnt order wine as my wife was driving, and we were both heading to the gym the next morning. We decided to order from the A la Carte Dinner menu rather than the Early bird menu. Both menus had excellent choices.My wife had Salad of pan fried tiger prawns to start and I had Roast Quail humus and walnut.The flavours were amazing and presentation was excellent. For mains, we both had the Pan roasted rump of Lamb , which came with mash and mediterranean veg and we ordered a side order of green beans as an extra. All I can say is excellent, excellent excellent! The lamb was cooked to perfection. The staff were very friendly and attentive checking was the food ok for us etc and replacing the table water. For desert I had the Strawberries, choc ganache, wow amazing taste and presentation, and wifey had Apple and rhubarb, but she was too full to finish it! We finished off with Americanos coffees.At this stage the restaurant was buzzing and very busy.Total food cost about 84euro We gave an extra 15 euro tip. The chefs working here are excellent at their job, and the flavours and presentation reflect their skill and passion for cooking food. This restaurant surpasses a lot of those so called Michelin star restaurants that we've dined in. I was so impressed with this restaurant that I bought a 200euro Mc Hugh's voucher for my Aunt and Uncle who live close by. We are looking forward to our next visit to Mc Hughs, and will be leaving the car at home and ordering some Cru Bubbley!!

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

Buzzy Bee
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th August 2012 (visited 5 August 2012)

Went here with my Boyfriend one Sunday to treat him to one of my local restraunts. It'd helped that I'd had a €50 voucher to spend on the meal, which we were able to get a starter and main each, a dessert to share, with €8 to spare. The food was top quality, well cooked and very tasty...apart from the dessert, a decadent brownie mared only by uneven heat (mirowaved?) part warm and part scalding hot. Service was excellent for most of the evening, the waitress was chatty and friendly, and we recieved all our food in good time. However when it came to paying....everyone dissapears. So it took a bit long too actually pay and get out. Overall I enjoyed my evening and would reccomend this restraunt to anyone who wants a good meal for great value but don't mind waiting for digestion.

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

Cwitch
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th May 2012 (visited 25 May 2012)

Visited with a large group on a very hot Friday in May. Courses were nicely spaced out. Starters of soup, goats cheese & wings all went down well, very tasty burgers, chicken and pasta dishes were ordered for the main, all very nicely served and very tasty. Deserts went down a treat. Waitresses kept bottles of water topped up throughout the meal. Service was very good, food very tasty and will return. Aircon kept the restaurant really cool. Just two minor downsides, there is only one toilet and there is no outdoor space/rear courtyard and it would have been nice on such a hot day to be able to step outside.

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

gavin89
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th January 2012 (visited 5 January 2012)

was there with my friends,food was good.service was ok.we will go back again

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

Eating all
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th January 2012 (visited 11 January 2012)

Enjoyed a family group dinner here on wednesday evening last. The food was very well presented & the belly pork particularly memorable. Nice choice of starters beforehand. We'll be back !

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

zagathead
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th September 2011 (visited 23 September 2011)

Found McHugh’s by accident while visiting friends in the Raheny area. Both my wife and I decided to give it a try. It was 5 pm so there was only about 6 other diners and the restaurant was quite empty. Either way the manager said he would need to check if they could accommodate us and came back with the message that we would have to vacate by 7.15 pm. I know restaurants have to do this but the way they convey this can impact the dining experience! The early bird offered 2 course for €20.00 with some excellent starters and mains to choose for . The ala carte had starters in the €4 to €8 and mains from €14 to €20 plus for steak. My wife opted for the early bird and had Saddleback Pork Chops on a mustard grain mash followed by tarte tatin with ice cream. I opted for the Ala Carte and went for Mackerel Fish Cakes for starter and Confit of Guinea Fowl with a Celeric mash. We choose the house 09 Bordeaux Superior @ €19.00. Server was very attentive and supply us with extra water without asking for it. The food was excellent and very tasty. I certainly knew it was a Mackerel fish cake and both mains were cooked to perfection. The bill came to €65.50 and was worth every cent. We will be back

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

critic75
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2011 (visited 14 September 2011)

Well as a valued customer to Mc Hughs I do eat there quite regular, the food and service is always excellent. But, the last 2 experience's we've had have not been great. well the food has been great as usual but i found lately that the service has gone really down hill. now Im not the type of person that would usually complain i usually have great little chats with the staff, it was nice to be noticed, how ever the first bad experience was 4 to 5 weeks ago we went in with friends we were served buy a new girl she was pleasant, but i found i had to keep waving to get any attention off her. Then the second time it was myself and my partner and the same again. we were left waiting for our server to take any attention to us. how ever i went in again last nite for a family meal. thinking maybe it was just 2 bad nites, they were new staff, but again i left feeling very unsatisfied . we were left waiting ages on the server, then it took ages for our starters to be cleared , the food was perfect as always, To me, there crying out for experienced staff.. they really are a great restaurant but i feel they need to pull up their socks on the service , as i said i really love this place and im just worried that it mite just go down hill for them if they dont get some good staff back.

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

yankaii
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th August 2011 (visited 1 August 2011)

Booked late on the Bank Holiday Monday,and they had no problem fitting us in. The Menu was the "sunday Specials" menu, but although it was very limited in selection, it had what we wanted. We had pate for starters, mains of Roast Lamb and the Home-made burger, along with a burger from the childrens menu, all delicious and cooked to our satisfaction. With two desserts, two minerals and a bottle of wine it cost a very reasonable less than €80. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We will have no problem going back to McHugh's, especially as its almost local and close to where we live.

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

Blue39
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th August 2011 (visited 25 June 2011)

Ate here on a Sunday evening, was surprised that it wasn't as full as previous visits.The only downside to our evening was that we felt that the dining room was very bright which made it feel very causal and cold. As always the food was excellent, we both had the shoulder of roast lamb which was cooked perfectly. Starters consisted of chicken wings for me and a goats cheese salad for him. We just had enough room left to share a delicious chocolate brownie!

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

sparkle-sparkle82
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th June 2011 (visited 17 March 2011)

I visited this place on Paddy's day last and even though I didn't have a booking the owner went out of her way to get us a table. We were seated after 10 mins of waiting. The place was packed and there was a buzz in the air. The bread they give you at the table is lovely as is the olive oil dip. I wasn't crazy about the starters we got. I had a mushroom stuffed with cheese and my OH had the chicken wings. The wings were just regular wings with Franks hot sauce or they tasted like it anyway. The mushroom was ok. The mains however were gorgeous. I had the burger with chunky chips and he had pan fried chicken which was to die for. The wine list in this place is great. I'd recommend this place for the wine alone.

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

misskidd
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 14th June 2011 (visited 28 April 2011)

I really like this restaurant. The food is excellent quality. I usually have a fish or the daily special dish. My partner has the steak - he says the quality of the meat is excellent. The place itself is done up as a parisien cafe. Really cute. And if you are ready to have a pre or post dinner drink go across the road to Cedar Lounge. Its a fabulous 'old world' bar!

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

rancidbutcher

16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th May 2011 (visited 25 May 2011)

I was very pleasantly surprised by McHugh’s. It’s a very nice suburban restaurant with a cosmopolitan feel. Service and food were both very good. Good to see it packed out on a mid-week night too. I just hope they keep up the high standards!

McHugh’s Wine & Dine Restaurant

Scotia
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th April 2011 (visited 2 April 2011)

We come here for lunch on a Saturday fairly regularly – every few weeks or so. The food is reasonably priced, and well cooked, provided in pleasant surroundings. We usually have the soup and panini combo, although in the past we have had a larger meal – starter and main course. The house salad is good. The thing I would flag up is that the lunch menu doesn't seem to change much. Last week the soup of the day was carrot and coriander, which was delicious. In fact the soups are always good. I had the gammon and cheese panini and himself had the parma ham.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4978 ]