Hush Brasserie restaurant

12A New Street Malahide, Malahide, Dublin, Area Code: North Co. Dublin

North Co. Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

105 reviews
4 stars - based on 105 reviews

Hush Brasserie

Submit a review
Hush Brasserie

Betty Boop
Dublin
83 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th May 2011 (visited 1 May 2011)

!st visit for a girlie night out. Nice little restaurant. Filled up v. quickly. Lucky we had booked ahead. We opted for the early bird menu. 2 chose the chicken vol-au-vents. Nice enough but pastry a little tough. 1 friend had the monkfish, but she said was a little dry (and I noticed she did not eat much of it). We all had the steak. Fine, but I really missed the fact it was not chargrilled for that special taste. It came on mash with a pepper sauce. To be honest could not taste the pepper and it was quite thin, more like a gravy. Having said that we ate all as we were starving and it filled the gap.We sat there for a good 2 hours but never felt rushed although they had to turn people away.The staff were lovely and friendly. Think thought on the next visit will chose from the main menu.

Hush Brasserie

scottie81
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd February 2011 (visited 22 February 2011)

Hush restaurant looks very impressive on the outside, but does not quite live up to the expectations on the inside. Faults: (1) Waitress gives us the menu and leaves without asking if we want a drink (2) Quail starter is undercooked in the middle (3) no apology offered about the uneaten starter (and states "oh, it must have been too pink for you" (4) VERY minimalist portions for the prices (5) lack of atmosphere (6) no prices on the dessert menu. On a positive note the rainbow trout main was lovely. However, the mashed potato and potato gratin were the only substance in the meal. Overall not a good restaurant experience

Hush Brasserie

Popglugglugglug!
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th January 2011 (visited 8 January 2011)

Having heard fantastic reports about Hush, we decided to grace it with our considerable presence for 'himselfs' birthday! 11 of us trooped in (and out for smokes and in again) to our requested table. Most of the table went for the seafood pancakes which were utterly delicious! The mussels... I'd take or leave. Of my dish, almost quarter of them were closed tight. So a little disappointing. Sirloin steaks were without fault. Absolutely beautiful and a good size on a cumulus cloud of mash! The waitress when queried by one of the crew on what exactly a 'truffle Jus' was, just laughed and said she hadnt a clue.... hmmm! Not quite the answer the lady was looking for. This now brings me sadly back to earth and desert with a bump :( Himself had eaten there before and was still raving about the Creme Brulee. 'Well how can I not?', I thought, along with most of table. Portion after portion of beautfiul creme brulee with a generous side of ice appeared. My eyes widen, my second desert tummy rumbled in anticipation and I may even have dribbled a little on my Jimmy Choos. Then mine came out......... 'Excuse me, I think you've maybe forgotten the Icecream on this one'. 'HAHAHA we've none left' replied the waitress of Truffle Jus infamy, jovially. Unbowed, i cracked the top of my beautifully frosted bowl of sunshine and found....... scrambled egg??!!! surely no!! But yes, scrambled egg topped by burnt sugar, cunningly disguised with icing sugar. A sad end to an otherwise fine evening. Will I go back to Hush? Yes, I probably will. Will I order Creme Brulee? Yes! And be warned Hush staff, if my Brulee aint cuttin the Mustard... you shall suffer my wrath next time! On that note...Pop! Glug Glug Glug!

Hush Brasserie

kelznz

33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2011 (visited 25 November 2010)

Went for an earlybird on a Thursday night and loved it. The service was great and very friendly, restaurant good ambience and not too cramped. The food was fantastic, lamb that fell off the bone and tasty seafood dishes. The earlybird is fantastic value as well. Will be going back soon.

Hush Brasserie

geeky
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2010 (visited 10 October 1970)

I have eaten in Hush on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. The service is excellent and staff very friendly. Atmosphere is always cosy and intimate, The early bird menu is fantastic value with plenty to choose from, I have tried many of the dishes and it has always been nothing but perfection. I can highly recommend this restaurant and I will be returning here again.

Hush Brasserie

Deirdre O'Hanlon
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2010 (visited 16 October 2010)

First visit to this restaurant last night and definitely not the last! Food, wine and service all superb! The staff couldn't have done enough for us even though the restaurant was completely full. Great atmosphere, and absolutely perfect food. A thoroughly enjoyable night out, well done Hush.

Hush Brasserie

CheesyGirl
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd September 2010 (visited 28 August 2010)

I went to this restaurant recently with my boyfriend and had a lovely time. We went for an early bird (which amazingly runs until 9pm!!!) and were really happy with the vast choice there was on the menu. The lobster bisque for starter was delicious and the chicken casserole with cinnamon was very tasty and unusual. Its always nice to try new combination of flavours. It is also really nice and cosy inside but can get quite stuffy so maybe try get a table near the window. To sum it up, this restaurant offers a great early bird menu at a very reasonable price. The only bad point about it is the price of the wine, it was quite steep so prepare a budget for it.

Hush Brasserie

chadzer
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th July 2010 (visited 27 May 2010)

I was in hush with my girlfriend not long ago....we were there for the early bird menu. We both liked the look of what was on it, however, neither of us were too impressed at what was served, considering the price. I had the steak which was well cooked, but that was literally all I got on the plate....with the exception of some pepper sauce and a little garnish. For such a small place I thought the service would have been good but we found that to be lacking also... slow and a little impolite. Needless to say we wont be returning...

Hush Brasserie

nollagh
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th June 2010 (visited 18 June 2010)

was here last night with my husband,great location thats about it the food was't anything special its over priced will not be going back

Hush Brasserie

new2this
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th May 2010 (visited 9 May 2010)

The atmosphere here is very nice. However, there is room for improvement with the food. For starter, I had the salmon and leek tart. This was served not hot, not cold but very slightly warm. For main course, I had mussels served with garlic bread baguette. The sauce tasted mainly of cream and was not very nice. My partner had soup of the day for starter, again served with garlic baguette. I think homemade wheaten bread would have been much better. For main course he had the burger which had far too much mayonnaise. Desserts were good. White wine by the glass was not really chilled.

Hush Brasserie

fubar
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th March 2010 (visited 29 March 2010)

steak tough,waiter stiff our baby seat wos broken, charged € 2. for a drink of blackcurrent,we were overcharged and then stuck with a service charge of €40. overall a very very poor show ! and this was only lunch how bad could dinner be ? will not be back and wont be recomending it !

Hush Brasserie

sugar&spice&nice
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd January 2010 (visited 2 January 2010)

Visited for lunch as a table of four people. The atmosphere is always nice in here as it is small and has a low roof. The lunch menu has a good choice and is well priced. Unfortunately the food lets this place down a little. Myself and one other had the sea bass with pesto linguine for our main. Although it was a good portion of fish who ever had filleted has been lazy leaving a fin on and not cutting the fillet properly. Also the linguine did not taste of pesto at all just cream and was not seasoned. When I went to season my fish the salt shaker was empty. Maybe a silly thing but its the little details that make a meal in my opinion. Another guest had the lamb shank, it had very little meat on it and was tough. We should have sent it back but all of our company didn’t know each other well so it was let go. I have been here before and had different dishes that have been tasty, but in these times I feel places can’t afford to be lazy in any way. A disappointing meal from a place that could be a real gem!

Hush Brasserie

sarah_col
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2009 (visited 23 September 2009)

Lovely early bird menu. felt a bit rushed. other than that would recommend.

Hush Brasserie

Noshman
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 31st July 2009 (visited 10 June 2009)

Yes...very nice indeed. We tried before to get a nosebag here but the place was full. Indeed....a good sign. The next time we were early so we nipped in and got seated by the window. More to see who is passing rather than to be seen! The greeting from the owner was friendly and warm. The restaurant is divided in 2 ..left and right. We went right. It is a bit tight so best not to discuss the neighbours here! Service could not have been better or more pleasant. Our young (very pretty!) waitress was charming and attentive. The food arrived within 10 minutes and was very well cooked. Not gourmet...but very competant. Pate and crab to start. For mains I had the burger. Medium rare please. The burger came and it was .....overcooked! And so it was dry and not great. Not to my taste at all. (Health and safety....the scourge of our lives says no you can't have it any way but medium to well done. Why should some underworked and overpaid souless gnome tell me how to eat my food? Can you explain this to me?If I want it raw....so be it. Not your affair. Keep out of my life!!). It also had onions in it that were too dominant and the pieces were way too large. Really is best to omit these....they don't really go well in a burger. Just the best beef and lightly seasoned is the way to go. My lovely Gf had chicken which was perfect. Wine....a sauvignon Blanc was just as it said on the bottle. Nice, fresh with a hint of fruit. Overall I would probably go back as I liked it overall.

Hush Brasserie

pamela somers
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th June 2009 (visited 16 June 2009)

Seen the early bird menu on window so decided to go in. I had salad for starters which was lovely & my partner had the tartlet, pastry was a bit thick & hardbut otherwise nice.I had the chicken & my partner had the fish for main course, both gorgeous, cook to perfection.The service was excellent. We asked for the bill & at the same time we were offered glass of wine or tea/coffee on the house. the wine was not great but it was a nice touch! Early bird was good value.

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5516 ]