Chez Sara Wine Bar restaurant

3 Old Street, North Co. Dublin, Malahide, Dublin, Area Code: North Co Dublin

North Co Dublin

View on Map

Cuisine:
Bistro

Price Range:

€€

88 reviews
4 stars - based on 88 reviews

Chez Sara Wine Bar

Submit a review
Chez Sara Wine Bar

dehzorzi

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd September 2013 (visited 31 August 2013)

The decor is "shabby chic" but the quality of food and service is outstanding. The waiting staff was very friendly and attentive and there was virtually no waiting time for our food. As for the food itself it was delicious!!! I plan to go back very soon.

Chez Sara Wine Bar

karlux

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2013 (visited 29 August 2013)

One Of THE BEST restarant in Ireland. Dont tell your friends because they have only 8 tables.'The mussels and chicken wings are gorgeus.....

Chez Sara Wine Bar

chocolategirl
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2013 (visited 27 June 2013)

Was here for a nice evening meal on a Thursday recently and the food was amazing! service was good and the portion sizes were just right. its a lovely little restaurant, great for a nice meal out.

Chez Sara Wine Bar

karenbracken23

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st July 2013 (visited 30 July 2013)

Really lovey restaurant, waiter was so friendly. Food was really good, just the mains a little on the small size but overall a good night.

Chez Sara Wine Bar

niamh.mccormac
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th July 2013 (visited 25 July 2013)

Beautiful meal, really enjoyed it and will be back! thanks a lot

Chez Sara Wine Bar

Isobel2388
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2013 (visited 7 November 2012)

Really nice, quaint little resteraunt situated in Malahide. The Mussels and wings are both lovely! Good value for money too. Felt a little rushed by the staff when we were leaving ( even though it was only 10.20pm) Few things I would preferred differently but I would still return on the basis that I really enjoyed the food.

Chez Sara Wine Bar

hungrypaul
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th October 2012 (visited 28 September 2012)

Was here once before, two weeks ago, thought we would try it again... Starters very good, mains not so much. Partner had fried sea bass, she felt it had been boiled or else left waiting too long to be served. I had monkfish with ginger. What a huge let down. I like monkfish, I like ginger, but I do not like monkfish with a trace of ginger and a half bottle of sweet chilli sauce, completely ruined it. When the waitress took away our plates and asked if everything was alright, my partner started to explain what she thought was wrong with the dish. The waitress said "sorry, sorry, sorry" as she cleaned up. She never acknowledged what was wrong with the dish. As the owner/manager was behind her, I expected him to come over and say something, never did. As I was leaving, I had a word with him about the food, he appeared interested, but never commented on what I said. I got the impression that the restaurant was full, they were turning people away earlier in the evening, and that a few complaints did not matter. As the total staff consists of only three, chef, waitress and manager a slightly more interested attitude might be more apt. Total bill about €80, starters, mains, wine

Chez Sara Wine Bar

hungrypaul
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th October 2012 (visited 21 September 2012)

Rating for price range is incorrect, this is not a cheap restaurant. Two of went here on a Friday night. Very busy, small but intimate restaurant. Food very good, house red wine good and very good value. Bit slow on getting the starter out, 45 minutes. Will be back

Chez Sara Wine Bar

discodiggers
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th October 2011 (visited 13 October 2011)

Myself and four friends went for dinner there last night and we had a lovely experience. Three of us had the Seabass with spinach and a delicious mash. The Seabass was dwlicious and cooked beautiflly. We also ordered a chicken and mushroom dish which was great and our friend that arrived late had an array of bread, olives and dips. The sundried tomato dip was particularly good so when I ordered a cheese plate I asked for some which they happily gave me. To drink we had the house white and had one bottle of champagne. I was surprised at how good the house white was especially as I sometimes find Chilean whites to be a little acidic.They were very accommodating towards us as and we had a lovely long and leisurely dinner. I hadn't been there in almost a year and was happy to see it was just as good.

Chez Sara Wine Bar

doodles1
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th September 2011 (visited 29 September 2011)

It was quite some time since I had been in Chez Sara. I wanted a change from the usual places that I would go so my self and my friend decided to go there. I was surprised to see that the menu has not really changed since my last visit which was ages ago. It is a nice small cosy restaurant, you don't get many places like this. Service was pretty good and starters of dips and pate were really nice however I was really dissapointed in my main course. I ordered the fish cakes, the guy said there was salmon and cod in them which I was looking forward to as I love Fish Cakes. However when I got them there was so much lemon grass in them they were sickening, it is a very overpowering herb and usually I love it, but these had a ridiculous amount I couldn't taste anything else. I didn't finish and I told the waiter why, however not an offer of a drink on the house or anything to compensate. Also bill at €93 was very expensive for what we got, pity as I had lots of good nights there over the years.

Chez Sara Wine Bar

KarenFR
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th September 2011 (visited 14 September 2011)

Really good food. I had Duck breast & a tart tatin... The food is really well presented in the plate, hot but not burning (at the perfect temperature). The Duck with the Gratin Dauphinois was really good and the Tart Tatin excellent.. Really tasty food. Nice and cosy atmosphere. To recommend

Chez Sara Wine Bar

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th June 2011 (visited 15 June 2011)

We really enjoyed our visit here. The service was very pleasant and smiling throughout. For starters we both had a beautiful tomato soup accompanied by some fresh bread. For mains I had a perfectly cooked tasty fillet steak. My companion chose a chicken dish which was very good in both taste and in portion size. For desert I had icecream with amaretto whilst my companion chose a cooked to order chocolate fondant. Both of us loved our deserts. This eatery is cosy and homely and it is a pure joy to be able to watch the chef at work. I noticed a lady at the bar enjoying some wine and cheese which I thought would be very nice if one didn't want a full meal. I will be returning here again and I would highly recommend a visit.

Chez Sara Wine Bar

harvean
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th June 2011 (visited 26 June 2011)

We've been to Chez Sara many times and it would have been one of my favourites before last night. It was my Dad's birthday so we booked a table for 9 people including my 5 year old son for 6 pm. They dont provide a kids menu but he's not fussy so wasn't worried, I ordered the veg lasagne for him but they couldn’t do a small portion as it was already made up so I said ok even though it’s 18 euro but asked if they could bring it out with our starters as we’d been waiting ages at that stage to give our order. 10 mins later she came back to say it would be another 45 mins for the lasagne as it’s cooked from scratch, even though they couldn’t do a small portion?? Instead I asked if they could do a portion of pasta for him with some chicken or something as it’s on their lunch menu which had only finished at 4pm but she said they didn’t have any penne left. Then I asked were the fishcakes spicy and she said no. So I ordered them with some mashed potato and veg on the side but could she bring out asap as it was now nearly 7pm. They were full of chillies and had a big dollop of creme fraiche on the top!!! He ended up eating bread as the veg had tonnes of olive oil over them so he couldn’t eat them either. I said it to her about the fish cakes but she didn’t apologise. I’d ordered them for my starter and I found them spicy too as did another of our party. Then I asked could she bring out some ice cream for him with the mains and then after all the mains came out they left us waiting another 10 mins for the ice cream saying it would take a while to organise it? We’d been there from 6 and left at 8.45 and all we had was starters and mains. I probably wouldn’t go back again. There are better options out there.

Chez Sara Wine Bar

twh
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 11th January 2011 (visited 8 January 2011)

We went to Chez Sara to celebrate my hubby's promotion. We were initially surprised at how small the venue was but it was more than made up for by the wonderful food and atmosphere. We started with the wings which were fantastic and both had the steak with homemade chips and flat mushrooms with a red wine jus.The steak was perfectly cooked but possibly could have done with a bit more seasoning. We had a 2 glasses of the the chilean cab sauv which was excellent value and delicious and hubby has 2 glasses of white which he said were very nice. This restaurant was a real find for us as we love to eat out - not suitable for groups larger than 4 but we will be back :) Next time dessert - but we couldn't fit a single thing after our 2 courses.

Chez Sara Wine Bar

babyrags
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th November 2010 (visited 23 October 2010)

Having beena regular at Chez Sara for the past 12 months it feels that a review of this delightful hidden little gem in the heart of Malahide is long overdue. Are there any negatives? It's small and so getting a table can be difficult! Also given you're half in the kitchen no matter where you are in the restaurant you leave smelling of home cooking (not always bad!). Although this is me being fussy because this place is fantastic! In the winter you feel that you could be in the middle of the french alps and in the summer you're too busy sipping the gorgeous house rose wine (not usually a fan!) to notice where you might be! The chicken wings are THE best in Dublin (and I have tested ALOT!) and whether you want to go for a combination of startes (my recommendation!) or the more conventional started and main you will not be disappointed. All wine is served by the glass which helps when you don't think you can manage another bottle (and inevitably drink 4 glasses instead!). This place is great!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4806 ]