Cape Greko (Malahide) restaurant

Unit 1 First Floor, New Street, Malahide, Malahide, Dublin, Area Code: North Co Dublin

North Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Greek

Price Range:

€€

197 reviews
4 stars - based on 197 reviews

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Submit a review
Cape Greko (Malahide)

foodismylove
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2011 (visited 14 November 2011)

I've wanted to try this restaurant for a couple of years now so I was excited when there was a Menupage voucher for a four course meal. The restaurant wasn't what I expected but the food was nice. My husband and I went on a Monday night so it wasn't busy but that was fine with us. We both had the seafood croquettes to start. They were nice. My husband had steak. He really enjoyed it. I had the spanakopita. It was nice but it was made with puff pastry instead of filo and didn't have enough filling so I felt like I ate puff pastry as a main! I definitely would have been disappointed if I had paid 15 euro for that dish. For dessert my husband had the apple pie and I had blueberry cheesecake plus two coffees. Our server was fantastic, very friendly. We will go back.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Mibs
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st October 2011 (visited 8 October 2011)

My husband & I both love the Greek Islands so I was delighted to discover that he had booked a Greek Restaurant for my birthday, the restaurant was buzzing when we arrived we were shown to our table straight away, the table were very close together. We ordered the Village Salad and Tzatziki for starters which were very good, my husband had the Moussaka which was excellent and I had Lamb Shank which was a disaster, I have had this dish many times but not like this! it had evidence of being cooked with garlic, thyme, rosemary etc but the sauce was water as if the meat boiled absolutely no flavour and so so fatty, I could not eat it, when the waitress came to see if everything was okay, I told her about my dish and she said this was the way it came! My husband had dessert and I had a glass of wine, we had 2 coffees and the bill came to 77 euros, a different waitress came with the bill and I told her about my mains again but to no avail we were not even offered a complimentary coffee! I subsequently emailed them and was told that the staff would receive more customer service training but nothing about my dreadful main course a birthday meal to remember but for all the wrong reasons.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

daibhi001
Dublin
67 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th September 2011 (visited 2 September 2011)

It would be very easy to pass this restaurant by as it is upstairs and out of sight. We came across it in Malahide some weeks ago whilst doing a bit of research into somewhere different to eat. The decision to try out a Greek/Cypriot meal was a new venture, and we weren’t disappointed. We had made a booking in advance and were seated immediately on arrival. The menu is very good with lots of choice and their early bird options are great value. We were left to browse through the menu at our leisure and as we did so, a jug of iced water was brought to our table. We opted for the two-course early bird. My starter was warm pitta bread accompanied by Greek yogurt with crushed cucumber, garlic and mint. It was delicious, just the thing to get the taste buds going in preparation for the main meal. This was equally as delicious – chicken breast marinated in olive oil and cooked to perfection. There is the option of salad, chips or garlic potatoes to accompany your main course. I chose the salad, which was a very good mix of greens, onions, cherry tomatoes and peppers, drizzled with a lovely light vinaigrette dressing. It was washed down with a nice bottle of red wine. Service was prompt and value was excellent - €59 for two early-birds, a bottle of wine and two coffees. The only negative thing I can say about Cape Greko is that tables are too close to one another. The seating is unusual in that there is a long continuous seat around the wall which is fixed, and cannot be moved, so tables have to be placed and spaced against it to best advantage, and that in itself is limiting. I had to squeeze myself in between the tables to get back to my seat, and I am of average build. We could hear the couple at the table beside us talking, so no doubt they could hear us. Other than the last observation, it was very good night out and we would go back again.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

angelgourmet
Dublin
105 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 04th September 2011 (visited 2 September 2011)

This is a lovely restaurant in a prime spot in Malahide village and, being upstairs, one gets a view of the sea whilst dining. It seems to be quite a popular place with everyone, from couples to families and everyone in between. I like the décor, it’s simple and understated and the Greek music being played in the background was subtle, yet could still be heard. Service was very good and delivered with a smile. Like a previous reviewer, we were left to enjoy our evening without being rushed to leave once our meal was finished. The meal was delicious and there are lots of mouth-watering dishes on the menu to tempt us back again. Maybe next time we’ll have a dessert instead of a starter as we didn't have room for both!

Cape Greko (Malahide)

cullins2
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th August 2011 (visited 31 July 2011)

We went here for a bite to eat last Sunday and we found it fantastic. The restaurant itself has lovely decor and is cosy but minimal in its interior. The staff were very polite and attentive and there was no rush on us to leave once we finished our food. The food however was by far the best thing about it. The selection of starters was so good it was difficult to choose from. We went for hummous and veggie balls which were both delicious. Would love to try the platter next time. We both had lamb for main, one stew type dish and one kebab. They were full of flavour and extremely tender. The only minor point I could think of was the chips which were not great but the side salad was very fresh. We had a greek dessert with pastry, nuts and honey which was amazing. They also have a very good wine selection. Great value night out for delicious food.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

rux10
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th July 2011 (visited 2 July 2011)

This was my first visit to Cape Greko and I already can't wait to go back. I always thought it was a dive since there's just a sign above a little pizza parlor, but it's lovely! The decor isn't cheesy at all, but actually very modern with simple Greek accents. They have a wonderful early bird special where you can get two courses for 18.50 or three courses for 21.50. I got the two courses and had the fried calamari as a starter and the moussaka as my main dish. Both were excellent. My husband had the turkey meatballs for an appetizer (which he said were okay) and the chicken souvlaki for his entree (which he loved). He did three courses and ordered the chocolate cake, which we split for dessert. It was very big and very rich. Everything was great, and the service was wonderful. Very friendly and attentive. It's a small enough restaurant so if you're going at a busy time on the weekend you may need a reservation, but I can say it's definitely worth a visit!

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Squeezy
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th June 2011 (visited 4 June 2011)

This was my first visit to Cape Greko and I will definately be back. The decor is gorgeous, there was a really nice atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We shared a mezze to start - lovely fresh flavours - and I had seafood souvlaki while my partner had chicken souvlaki for mains. Both were really tasty. All washed down with a few cocktails ... and a pleasant surprise when the bill arrived as it was only about 90 EUR. Lovely restaurant.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

bugsyz
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st May 2011 (visited 28 May 2011)

Went here with a group of friends for dinner on a sunday evening. The restaurant was pretty full and seems to be always busy. This gives a nice atmosphere to the place. The staff were really friendly and polite. And we were given plenty of time to look at the menus and between courses so we didnt feel rushed at all. The selection of food on the menu is very good with a range of meats and vegetarian options. I had the feta cheese to begin and chicken pilafi for mains-the food was tasty and quite flavoursome. Its a filling meal so the portion sizes dont need to be too large. I would definitely return to this restaurant as the value for money is also good.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

lollymcd
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th March 2011 (visited 15 March 2011)

Cape Greko looks beautiful when you enter, there seems to have been great attention to detail here. When we arrive for an 8pm sitting there was only two other tables occupied but the restaurant filled up nicely and was over half full by the time we were leaving around 9.30pm, for a Tuesday night this is surely indicative of it's popularity. We started with the mezze platter which contained Greek village salad, keftedes, halloumi cheese, kalamari, dolmades, tzatziki dip, hummus dip and pita bread. The flavours were perfect and transported me back to my summer holidays last year. There was more than enough for the two of us to share and we held onto the dips for the main course. For mains we had the mixed soulvaki of lamb and chicken with chips and the panga fish fillet in beer batter with chips. The meat was wonderfully seasoned and succulent, we were used to soulvaki arriving with pitta bread as a sort of sandwich but here the meat just comes on a plate with some salad, it was tasty though. The panga fish was huge, too big in fact, I was intimidated by it from the start! I managed to eat only half. Both portions of chips were a disappointment, they tasted dry and reheated. We had some nice Cypriot beer called Keo with the meal. Overall a great experience.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

leinsterman

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th February 2011 (visited 26 February 2011)

I visited Cape Greko with my family on a Saturday evening as part of a birthday celebration. I'd advise booking in advance as it was very busy. The atmosphere was lively, loud and energetic (which is what I'd expect from a restaurant like this, perfect for a celebration) ... so its a place to go with a group of friends more than a romantic dinner for two. The service was excellent. The table staff are great fun, helpful and very friendly. Even when we were last to leave, very late in the evening, they were not pushing us out the door ... quite the opposite ... they offered another drink and invited us to stay a little longer. The menu is very good. It provided just the right balance, giving a good range of options without going overboard. For our appetisers, we had the seafood and regular mezes ... very good, a lovely balance of different foods/meats, accompanied by wonderful Mediterranean salads. The dolmades and prawns were particularly good. The only slight criticism was the calamari, it would have been better if it was freshly prepared rather than using the frozen battered supermarket variety. The mains were superb. I really enjoyed the Lamb Tava (essentially a tomato based stew). Another person had lamb cutlets which were cooked to perfection. I also had a sample of the wonderful Sheftalia (Pork). Overall I'd recommend it as a great place to eat, run by friendly people with a wonderful attitude. The food probably won't win any awards but it is very tasty and carefully prepared nonetheless.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Orange
Dublin
55 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd February 2011 (visited 28 January 2011)

I went with a friend last Friday night and thankfully we had a booking as the place was packed. It looked great, the staff were really good, perfectly attentive but not intrusive. The food was absolutely perfect. We shared the vegetarian starter for 2 and it was gorgeous. It would be perfect as a main course for 1. I had the Halloumi & Pepper salad as a main dish but I couldn't finish it. My friend had chicken kebabs and couldn't finish them either! For dessert we had a couple of cosmos. I'm already planning my next visit.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Smallfood
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th January 2011 (visited 6 November 2010)

I love this simple restaurant. The vegetarian mixed platter for 2 makes for a delicious main course. The service is always good, particularly the female waitresses - attentive and also pleasant. Having eaten a lot of the menu, the beef stifado is a highlight. Only word of warning, if you go at the weekend they aren't too keen on sharing food/small purchases - this usually irritates me but in this case I'll let it go.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

lastmanback
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st December 2010 (visited 27 October 2010)

This was a great dining experience. I had the Sikotakia starter, chicken liver cooked in red wine. Very rich and strong flavors cooked perfectly. I had Chicken Pilafi for my main. Again this was fantastic food, everything on the plate tasted amazing and it was a big portion too. Everyone in our group of 10 thoroughly enjoyed their food. The service was excellent and the staff were very nice and knowledgeable about the menu.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Sleepingbeauty
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th December 2010 (visited 10 December 2010)

Heard great reports about this place so was really looking forward to it. 6 of us went on Friday night at 7:30. Place was quite empty which was disappointing. Menu is huge and contains everything you would imagine from a Greek restaurant (loads of fish). All the food was exceptional. Fish was cooked perfectly and the garlic chips were lovely as a side. We had a Couple of vegetarian dishes which were nice (kebabs were top notch). Service were good and we got a free shot at the end of the night which is always a great way to end a meal. Bill came to just over 300 EURO. Not too bad for such great food. Pity the place wasn't full to add to the experience. Sure I will be back in the near future.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

RAPW76
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th November 2010 (visited 22 October 2010)

Great food for excellent value. Very friendly staff with a great atmosphere!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5215 ]