Cape Greko (Malahide) restaurant

Unit 1 First Floor, New Street, Malahide, Malahide, Dublin, Area Code: North Co Dublin

North Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Greek

Price Range:

€€

197 reviews
4 stars - based on 197 reviews

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Submit a review
Cape Greko (Malahide)

jimbo thebimbo
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 15 March 2014)

This is an amazing little restaurant. Been here a few times in the past 2 years. Food is delicious, and my favourite starter is the dolmades with the beef fillet for main course. They have the most amazing recipe for their pepper sauce, which the chef keeps to himself! We normally get a table but have been lucky on occasions as its really popular on the weekends. My advise is to have the fillet with chunky chips and of course the pepper sauce :)

Cape Greko (Malahide)

mssenanayake

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2014 (visited 5 January 2014)

Excellent Greek Cypriot place in beautiful coastal Malihide, Ireland.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

mmccabe
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2013 (visited 21 June 2013)

Had been meaning to try Cape Greko, having had a recommendation from a friend. The restaurant is upstairs with nice big windows so its lovely and bright. The tables by the window are the nicest. On this Friday, it was pretty busy with a large table set for a group. We started with the Keftedes to start, they were ok, a bit bland, we wouldnt choose them again. I then had the Beef Stifado which i enjoyed, it is just beef though with couscous so it gets a little boring but i enjoyed it, it was tasty. My husband had the lamb kleftiko, which is a lamb shank, this was very bland, the lamb was falling off the bone but it needed a nice sauce, it was just really tasteless, which is a shame as it could be really lovely. We managed desserts as having seen them pass by they looked good, we werent disappointed. The chocolate fudge cake was very good. So overall, nice place, the food needs a bit of work, i would go back but my husband wouldn't.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

sullyschoice
Dublin
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd January 2013 (visited 24 December 2012)

We were a gang of 8 adults plus 5 children on Christmas Eve, the restaurant had a fantastic atmosphere and as usual the food was up to its normal high standards. Service was friendly & attentive. We had been asked upon booking to vacate by a certain time but never felt under pressure to eat and run. A classy touch was being offered a drink on the house, even for the children. No wonder we try to go as often as possible..

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Dag1
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd January 2013 (visited 28 December 2012)

Fabulous food from start to finish! We had generous portions on all courses and left very satisfied for a reasonable price.Staff were very professional without being intrusive. We’ll definitely be back to try the large variety of dishes on offer.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

aud1
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th March 2012 (visited 24 March 2012)

Have always gone a la carte in cape greko and have never been disappointed - the food has been superb. However, we decided to try the early bird for a change. Bad decision!! We were told there was a party coming in, only didn't realise that meant the quality plummeted. We placed our orders and within 3 mins, we got our grilled mussels (which were ok) and so disappointingly dry, rubbery keftedes (always my regular choice). got 3, ate 1 and asked could I have 1 fresh one, waitress checked with chef and I was told no!!! got stifado, meat so tender, to die for, however no fresh taste from sauce. I asked to speak to manager before paying and told them I was not happy to pay for starters, was told it came as package but fair play they took price of starters off bill and charged FULL PRICE for mains (€1 reduction) €17.95 and a shot of liquor. Left Cape Greko after 45 mins, having been served 2 courses, btl wine and a lesson in how not to do fast food. Felt so let down by food and staff.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

CheesyGirl
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th March 2012 (visited 25 February 2012)

Following a wonderful holiday and after falling in love with Greek food, my boyfriend and I decided to check this restaurant out. We went for an early bird menu. The choice was very good and the food was very tasty, I really cannot complain. The only bad thing about it is that we were really rushed by the waitresses. We had only sat down that they already wanted to know what we wanted to order and came again about 3 times in the following 5 minutes, we had barely time to go through the menu... Then the two courses followed one another way too quickly. We really feel like we were being rushed out for the next service and could not fully enjoy the experience. It's a shame since the food was so tasty....

Cape Greko (Malahide)

HungryDan
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd March 2012 (visited 1 January 2012)

Just back from another delicious evening in Cape Greko. I usually visit this restaurant 2-3 times a year and it never fails to disappoint. The food is really good, portion size is not large but sufficient and the price is respectable too. What I love about it is that I always leave feeling full but not too full. You can just tell that ingredients are really fresh, healthy and well prepared. A great night out in my opinion.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Dulcie
Wexford
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th April 2012 (visited 27 April 2012)

Back again from yet another lovely evening at Cape Greko. We had our favourites seafood and chicken, sauteed garlic potatoes and a salad. We were offered and accepted a free shot of ouzo each- very much appreciated. Service as usual was impeccable. Great value, one of the best restaurants in Malahide, in our opinion.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Paulc54321
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2012 (visited 14 February 2012)

I brought my Fiancée for a romantic meal on Valentines. Everything was going well until the main course arrived. A mistake was made in the kitchen and my girlfriend got a beef dish instead of a lamb dish. My girlfriend brought it to the attention of the staff that a simple mistake was made. Instead of listening to the customer the staff handled it very badly. The manager embarrassed my girlfriend and intimidated her loudly telling my girlfriend that she was wrong in a condescending manner. It totally ruined the night. I had tasted the meat it was definitely beef. Very disappointed with the staff’s response. Even though we have been to the restaurant a number of times, we won’t be going back again after this experience!

Cape Greko (Malahide)

fitzyirl
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th January 2012 (visited 22 November 2011)

Have only eaten here once so far as I'm not a big fan of Greek food, however was pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere I found a little cold and characterless. The food was good and the service of a high standard. Would recommend, though only if you're a fan of Greek food.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

sammyshc
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th November 2011 (visited 27 November 2011)

we ate here on sunday , the place was buzzing nicely , we were seated promply , ordered ,didnt have to wait to long between courses , i had the prawns to start they were very nice my husband had the seafood croquettes they were fab the garlic sauce was amazing he had the fillet steak for mains ,wow it was fab he said , i had the seafood skewers they were full of fish just perfectly cooked ,fab , the desserts were great too , no problems at all with this resteraunt ,great food great staff will definitly be back ,

Cape Greko (Malahide)

Beano56
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th November 2011 (visited 18 November 2011)

Having visited Cape Greko many times I was delighted to see your offer of meal for 2 for €40. We always visit at early bird times so it was nice to be able to pick from the main menu. As always we weren't disapponted. Lovely atmosphere later in the evening too. Will definitly go back again and again.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

basilchick01
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th November 2011 (visited 20 November 2011)

I got a present of a Menu Pages Voucher for Cape Greko and we were delighted as we really love Greek Food. When we went to Malahide we found the restaurant upstairs. On arrival we said that we have a Menu Pages Voucher. We were seated in the restaurant without a problem as it was rather empty with only two other tables taken. We wanted to order the Mezze Platter for two but we were told that it was not included in the deal. We ordered it anyway along with our other dishes and said we would pay the difference. The starters were nice and tasty. Coming to the main course I had Lamb Kleftiko and my partner a Beef Stifado, the Stifado was tasty but the Lamb Kleftiko was absolutely disastrous. The lamb shank was over cooked with no sauce and no taste. I had to ask for extra sauce to give any taste to the dish as it was so bland, it was impossible to eat. Disappointment set in as it was not what I’d expected and along with this the atmosphere in the restaurant left a lot to be desired. We went onto have our desserts and they were tasty enough. We paid the bill that came to € 105 for 2 adults and 2 children and one bottle of wine (had to order a Spanish wine as no Greek wine in the Menu!) and that included the Menu Pages Voucher deducted off. I felt it was overpriced for what we got and a huge disappoint overall.

Cape Greko (Malahide)

level5
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2011 (visited 18 November 2011)

Having never visited Cape Greko before, I was looking forward to sampling their food. For starters, I ordered Pan-fried tiger prawns with garlic and fresh chillies and my partner ordered Halloumi cheese. The Halloumi was good, the prawns were nice if not a bit dry and when I asked for some chilli oil, the waitress informed me that they did not have any but they had chillies!!!!. For mains we ordered Shank of lamb slowly cooked in the oven with mint, rosemary, thyme, garlic and white wine and Skewered diced lamb marinated in white wine, olive oil, garlic and thyme, served with tzatziki. To say it was the worst meal we ever had was an understatement.The shank of lamb was tasteless and its fatty juices were swimming in the plate, some parts of the lamb overcooked and some undercooked. The kebabs were well overcooked and also tasteless. In fairness to the waitress, she asked if we would like to change dishes, at this point I just wanted the bill. To make matters worst, when the bill came, they tried charge me for the amount that I already paid for through Menupages but then apologised saying it was a mistake. If this is the food they present to try entice new customers, they will fail badly. We were not the only unsatisfied customers that night and I have recommended my friends not to visit this restaurant.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5236 ]