Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

Findlater House, North Co. Dublin, Howth, Dublin, Area Code: North Co Dublin

North Co Dublin

View on Map

Cuisine:
Seafood

Price Range:

€€

163 reviews
3 stars - based on 163 reviews

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

Submit a review
Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

brendanfurlong
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th March 2014 (visited 14 March 2014)

Great value with the menu pages coupon

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

mulligan3721018310923
Donegal
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th March 2014 (visited 7 February 2014)

Brilliant birthday party, fab cocktails mojito my fav... will go back for lunch. Brilliant staff who swept in when we realised we forgot the birthday cake!! Great food, defo the best party venue on 3rd floor I have been in for outdoor area and views at night

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

michelledevlin1234
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2014 (visited 8 March 2014)

Everything was fab!!

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

prelovedsale329446526
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2014 (visited 3 March 2014)

We came here on a Monday night hoping to eat in the restaurant. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed and we were going to go to the Brass Monkey across the road as a result. The nice manager (it turned out I knew his grandfather years ago!) enticed us to stay with a cosy table in the window and a pint of Guinness. Two menus were produced with great advice and recommendations. The chef sent out an amuse bouche to make up for the fact that we were disappointed we were not eating in the restaurant! We could not fault the welcome and the charming service and decided to stay. We were glad we did. We had the breaded fish cakes and the deep fried calamari to start. It is unusual to get calamari cooked well, these were perfect, no rubbery texture just crisp and tender the way they should be. The fish cakes had a lovely mix of fish and were bound together well not just full of white fish and potato - the chive sour cream accompanied them perfectly. My better half had the Grilled Free Range Chicken Fillet with cep glazed tagliatelle,and truffle dressing beautiful.. the truffle dressing made the dish and the chicken was moist and full of flavour. I went for the Dublin Bay Scampi with hand cut chips. Real fresh prawns that tasted as if they were pulled from the sea that day. Delightful. Too full for dessert unfortunately as it looked great. Will drop in for cheese board and wine again as another table ordered that and it looked tasty. We had great banter with the staff and a few too many pints of guinness by the end of the night. We were so glad we stayed and will definitely return on a weekly basis it was that good!! Thanks

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

mrmrssmyth
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th March 2014 (visited 1 March 2014)

Six of us braved Howth Head for a long walk on Saturday. We came back to Wrights Findlater for a well deserved late lunch and drinks. This is a beautiful building with great views over Howth Head. When we arrived it was warm and cosy with candles lit everywhere. We were immediately seated by the manager who went through the menu with us. He was really helpful and chatty. We had a mix of dishes with Fish and chips, Pork Belly, Chowder, Minute steaks, scallops, spicy chicken wings (better than Elephant and Castle!), lamb burgers and Beef and Guinness Pie... well we were starving! The food was really well presented and the taste was superb. Given our eclectic mix we thought there would be one dodgy dish in the mix. Not at all, the chef and his team are obviously talented and the ingredients were fresh and flavoursome. We opted for a few apple crumbles to share after and they were definitely better than my granny used to make. A lovely cinnamon taste and served on a slate dish.. yum! Couldn't recommend this place more highly.everything was great, atmosphere, staff, music and food (a great pint of Guinness too..) and we stayed until 11pm, although we just went for lunch!

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

biana042000
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2014 (visited 20 December 2013)

We went to this restaurant for a Xmas party and the food was amazing! I am a bid seafood lover and I did enjoy it very much! Every one of us was very satisfied with what they got! It is a bit on an expensive side but the food was just delicious and the service was great! The only down side it is very noisy but that was time for Xmas parties, so I understand. Would go back!

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

dyml22
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th December 2013 (visited 6 December 2013)

Worst food I've had in a restaurant in a long time. The goats cheese salad had a few droplets of dressing and so was very dry, I also tasted my partners smoked salmon which you'd think would be nice as Wright's are known for their fish but it was chewy and only ok. I had the pheasant for main which was very dry and like leather. I couldn't cut it with the knife it was so tough. Feeling sorry for me my partner gave me some of his steak which was delicious but this just annoyed me more as when I asked the waitress about it she told me it was like a carvery roast beef, not a steak so I didn't order it. For dessert we both had Apple crumble which was a bit bitter for my taste, it was served with cream and custard but the custard was cold! Also it took them a very long time to bring out the dessert and tea. Definitely won't be going back and wouldn't recommend.

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

aussiefoodie
Dublin
48 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2013 (visited 9 November 2013)

While it took the 4 adults a while to choose off the menue - we were looking for more fresh/grilled healthy seafood options I guess, we were all very happy with our meals. The seafood pasta was a huge serving, which neither of us were able to finish; the fish'n'chips was falling over the edge of the plate, and while my husband left a lot of the batter, he enjoyed the fish. One carnivore amongst us .. and our daughter enjoyed her calamari. Our visit was ok, not great/not bad, OK. Not sure we'd rush back, but it was a pleasant, spur of the moment Sunday lunch.

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

jmahallahan
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 08th August 2013 (visited 4 August 2013)

Failing our better judgement we decided to go for the roast of the day which was on the menu as leg of lamb. What was served was mutton it was tough as shoe leather being a lover of lamb i am well aware of what it should taste like unfortunately we did not do as other diners did and returned it to the chef. however we will not be back again service was dreadful and it was not even busy now we know why

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

CalKen
Dublin
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th May 2013 (visited 5 May 2013)

Pretty disappointing. We had eaten here before with our kids and were looking forward to this return visit. We didn't book but we were shown to the upstairs bar area while we waited for a table. We were seated at 7.30. By 7.55 and with both of our drinks gone, we still hadn't been approached for our orders - my husband eventually caught the eye of a waitress who said that she had assumed we were finished our meal and were waiting for dessert. Anyway she took our orders down on a napkin and apologised for the delay - apparently the waitresses has swapped sides and our table was left out. We were disappointed to see that the menu had changed to a much shorter menu and that favourites such as the fish pie and knickerbocker glory were no longer available so I ordered ham terrine to start with hake to follow and my husband ordered scallops to start and steak to follow. Another 25 minutes passed and no sign of our starters. We decided to leave but just as we were getting up our starters arrived - no apology for delay. We were disappointed with the starters. My husbands scallop dish which cost a hefty €11+ consisted of 3 tiny scallops separated by two half slices of black pudding. My starter was more substantial - two half circles of terrine with a huge portion of egg mayonnaise and two pcs of sourdough - but fairly tasteless. Our mains were better, although again another long delay waiting for them to arrive. My fish was perfectly cooked - served on large portion of mash with 6 cockles and a few little bits of chorizo. Unfortunately there were no accompanying vegetables - you needed to order these separately at €3 a pop. My husbands steak was lovely but the chunky chips and onion rings were overcooked/greasy and tasteless - we had our suspicions that they had been reheated as another table near us had been served their mains instead of their starters a few minutes earlier and had sent them back. He ate his steak and left the rest. Bill was €66. Won't return.

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

CalKen
Dublin
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th December 2012 (visited 28 December 2012)

Booked table here for myself, husband and kids. After a drink in the nice pub-like downstairs area we were seated upstairs. The place was fairly empty and not much in the way of atmosphere. We weren't offered the early bird menu so ordered off the main one - reasonable prices (mains around €15 and desserts around €5), but accompaniments were extra (€4 each). Our boys both had large portions of mussels which they demolished - very tasty but they found the sauce too salty to mop up with the accompanying brown bread. I opted for the fish and chips - lovely fish and great real (not frozen) chunky chips, but only a tiny portion of mushy peas. Husband had the fish pie which was packed with fish and prawns topped with crispy mashed potato and came with a side salad - he loved it. For dessert we shared two delicious warm chocolate brownies which came with fabulous brown bread whisky ice cream, and one knickerbocker glory - the highlight of the meal with pears soaked in liqueur, crunchy hazelnuts and delicious ice cream. Service was fine - our waiter was chatty and helpful. With two pints of Guinness, a glass of white wine, two soft drinks and two (not great) coffees the bill was around €95. We would definitely visit again but would probably opt for sitting downstairs.

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

urf
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th November 2012 (visited 10 November 2012)

About 13 of us went here for dinner recently. We were given a set menu where you chose a starter and main for €19.95 which seemed like pretty good value. Usually you would see steak on a set menu, albeit with a supplement charge but not on this particular one. For starters there was a choice between chowder, soup or ceaser salad. For mains chicken, salmon or nut roast wellington. The options weren't great and so a few ordered from the a la carte. I opted for chowder and thought it was fine, but have had much better in other Howth restaurants. I got the nut roast wellington and the presentation alone was pretty offputting.. it came on a pile of ratatouille that would have fed a family of five. Taste was bland. The guys that had the chicken for mains had a job in front of them, there was so much work involved in trying to eat this big half-chicken on a bone sitting up so high off the plate! Two of the party ordered steaks from the a la carte but said the cut of meat wasnt great and that there was no taste off them. On the positive, the people who ordered the catch of the day from the a la carte said it was nice and fresh. The staff were efficient, the house red wine was nice. But overall the presentation of the food along with the lack of flavour was disappointing and all of us agreed we wouldnt visit again, given that there are so many other lovely restaurants in Howth.

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

eaty

9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2012 (visited 3 November 2012)

Having been here before during the summer on a number of occasions when I had their very impressive spicy chicken wings, I decided to come again two weeks ago and ordered the chicken wings again, however, I was not aware that the menu had changed earlier in the week and the wings were no longer spicy, but instead they had a strong vinegar flavour (peri peri sauce I think). These were not to my liking at all and to be honest I won't be visiting this place again until such time as they return to using the previous chicken wing recipe. They have also changed the fries too, which were a very skinny frnech fry - to a slightly thicker but not as tasty version. Bring back the old chef/menu!

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

thewizthewoz
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 15th November 2012 (visited 3 November 2012)

A little bit disappointing as they have slightly changed their menu. Having eating here a few times before I was looking forward to a particular starter dish, a spicy tomato sauce with hot goats cheese and pitta bread on the side. It was not longer on the menu. I decided to sample the chicken wings which were fine, nothing special. I have now tried and tasted a lot of chicken wings around Dublin and these ones would not make my rating :( They were presented lovely though. I will return here but probably eat upstairs and check their menu first!!!!

Wrights Findlater Howth Restaurant

Stillorganboy

29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th November 2012 (visited 21 October 2012)

Had a Sunday lunch here upstairs ( well by the lift ), fish & chips which were excellent but the menu was filthy. We were never shown the specials board which the girls showed some customers. It's a nice setting but very busy.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5220 ]