The Abbey Tavern, Howth, restaurant

Abbey Street, Howth, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 13

Dublin 13

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

62 reviews
4 stars - based on 62 reviews

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

Submit a review
The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

lollymcd
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th April 2011 (visited 2 April 2011)

We where in Howth for the Prawn Festival (unimpressed!!!) and wanted somewhere to see the West Brom v Liverpool match, we had about given up on it when we stumbled into the Abbey Tavern and the wonderful barman/waiter spent nearly 10 minutes finding out if they were showing it, finding the correct channel and putting it on the TV beside us. He was amazingly help, beyond anything we had expected. We just had sandwiches, chips and onion rings to eat but they were passable pub grub, the BLT didn't really represent value for money but it was tasty! The wine seems like good value, instead of a quarter bottle or a small glass it comes in a mini carafe which holds at least two glasses. Nice little bar and a good choice if you want to see something on Setanta1!!!

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

Breenipants
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st March 2011 (visited 8 January 2011)

This place is nice.. Nice surroundings and nice place. When we arrived we got a bit lost in the bar. The resturant in not signed very well so had to ask someone where it was. The service was grand..attentive but not too much. The food was lovely but definately a little over priced, you definately do not get what you paid for...

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

goodenoughtoeat
Dublin
67 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th August 2011 (visited 12 August 2011)

Just popped in for a quick bite and glass of wine. We both had the chicken wings which were lovely and spicy and had a fab blue cheese dip which was finger lickingly delish. Always return here as food is always great and the staff are extremely friendly.

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

Food Kritic
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2010 (visited 5 November 2010)

This restaurant was recommended by a friend and i would pass the recommendation on. The service was excellent, the food was amazing and the value was really good. The place on the night lacked some atmosphere. There were only 5 or 6 couples in the restaurant at any given time and at times it felt awkward. We had the 3-2-1 deal for €70 and really enjoyed it. I had the steak and my girlfriend had the chicken, both served with mash and green beans. The bottle of house wine included wasn't great, it was quite heavy and acidic, but when included in a deal for two for €70, that’s not such a big deal.

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

Pi31415
Dublin
78 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 26th July 2010 (visited 23 July 2010)

Five of us turned up for a meal in the Loft having read lots of good reviews. Four went for the 'special' (3x Course + wine for €70). All the dishes were delicious, the decoration very tasteful and the ambience pleasant. Service was both friendly and efficient - I have no complaints on any count. I had the Soup of the day followed by the stuffed chicken and the Banoffee to finish. A great restaurant if you're in the area and worth a once-in-a-while detour if you're not. The bill including the tip came in at €35 a head which was good value for the amount of food we had.

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

pamelac
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2010 (visited 30 April 2010)

Food in the bar is excellent and good value, the service is good, and atmosphere is good

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

Zanie
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th June 2010 (visited 26 June 2010)

Was here (for the first time) last Saturday with my husband and another couple. We were runing slightly late so rang ahead which they did not mind at all. The décor is fabulous...real marine-like but not in your face. We had a basket of bread with various oils given to us as we sat which was a nice touch. We picked from the 3-courses-with wine- for-€70 menu and there was plenty to chose from. All courses were quite big so we were full by the end of the night! I had an amazing Bailey's Coffee - the nicest I have tasted. The service was great, the food tasty and the value excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant :-)

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

monkeater
Laois
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th June 2010 (visited 11 June 2010)

If you live nearby, you have to visit! Went to there on a recommendation. Food was excellent at really attractice prices. Had 3 course meal for 4 people. Service was really friendly and attentive and there was a very chilled out athmosphere. I am already planning my next visit, definitely a new local treasure.

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

AliFox
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th June 2010 (visited 16 April 2010)

i absolutely love coming here, the food is gorgeous and the atmosphere is great. howth is a lovely spot and it makes a brilliant night out

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

biggrub
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2010 (visited 4 May 2010)

It was my first time I eat there, both the food and service was as good as you can imagine. The staff were excellant, among the best service I have received in Dublin I thought. It's a nice place to eat. But the price was like little expensive for us.

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

united
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th March 2010 (visited 23 March 2010)

had lovely meal here with family and friends 23/3/10 for my 60th birthday. The table was set out for the occasion and set in a lovely area of the tavern. Food and drink were first class and the service was plesant and efficient. Will be back soon.

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

lauraloon
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th March 2010 (visited 19 February 2010)

We love this restaurant, warm, friendly and the food is delicious. Great value with 2 meals and a bottle of wine for 70 euro. We have never had a bad meal here and go back at least twice a month if we can. Please dont change a thing! Happy customers.

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

Sini
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2009 (visited 30 November 2009)

Food i s delicous here....Very warm cosy place, I would recomend this to a friend, I have gone here twice and i am going again next week for my christmas party.

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

runbean
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th November 2009 (visited 7 November 2009)

Brought two friends from the States here for some traditional Irish food. I liked that the menu had some obvious 'tourist' choices but some great variety and wasn't totally geared towards tourists. The food was very tasty, soup was delicious, guinness pie was really good and goats cheese tartlet was also very enjoyable. Good service, nice atmosphere and would definitely pop in here again next time I'm in that neck of the woods.

The Abbey Tavern, Howth,

livypig
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st August 2009 (visited 30 July 2009)

Came here for dinner with my family for the early bird which is pretty good value. I had a crab and avocado salad which was fine but slightly insipid. I had a stuffed chicken breast which was lovely but once again nothing totally amazing. The staff are friendly and there is a good atmosphere but wouldn't be in a hurry to go back.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5430 ]