Octopussy Seafood Tapas restaurant

7 West Pier, Dublin 13, Howth, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 13

Dublin 13

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Tapas

Price Range:

€€

66 reviews
4 stars - based on 66 reviews

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

Submit a review
Octopussy Seafood Tapas

Emmetontour
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 17th October 2013 (visited 10 October 2013)

With a World of choice in Howth, we always come back to Octopussys. Consistently good. Try the Hake à la Rosa. Perfect!

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

AngelaAntunes3d
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 26th August 2013 (visited 25 August 2013)

One of the best seafood restaurants I have ever been to. We ordered the mixed seafood plate and it was GREAT value for the money! The scallops were delicious and the oysters are as fresh as they could be. Oh, and the sticky toffee pudding with vanilla icecream is to die for!! The atmosphere is great, maybe because it was a lovely sunny day, and the waiters were always available and didn't keep us waiting too long, even though the place was crowded. In conclusion, I would go back there again tomorrow :)

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

The Greek
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th August 2013 (visited 19 August 2013)

What a great place to stop and have a few tappas on a day out in Howth. Every single time I visit this place, like today, I am astonished how good the food is. Service is attentive, friendly and most important fast. The food...I was watching one of the chefs, a blonde girl, how meticulous she was cleaning the prawns from their vanes. Not only it was clean but tasted...yummy. We had also some meatballs which were done with an amazing fresh made tomato sauce...again yummy....I could go on and on....if you are into good food and I mean good food rather than sophisticated but maybe...well, if it is about food and some mediteranean atmosphere...have some wine and some tapas and enjoy it...We just did!

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

men-rui
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2013 (visited 22 June 2013)

We visited this restaurant last Saturday evening after a day lounging around Howth in the sun. We didn't have a reservation and popped in around 7pm and got the last table available. We were offered the snug in a private area towards the back which was cosy and nice although as it was a little hidden we also got quite forgotten about by the waiting staff. We ordered a bowl of chowder each followed by 3 tapas to share (patatas bravas, the special of chili and ginger shrimps and a small portion of chicken wings). Overall food was tasty, the chowder was delicious and the brown bread that came with it was fresh and tasty. The shrimps were the smallest portion of anything I have ever seen in my life and also tasted frozen rather than fresh which was dissapointing considering we were by the sea. The Patatas Bravas were OK, lacking in Bravas and a little soggy. Overall portion sizes in relation to price were not great value, very tiny portions and big prices. The restaurant was quiet although the staff who seemed rather young were very disorganized and scatty. They gave us a prawn pil pil belonging to another table which we regretted not ordering instead of our measly shrimp. Service wasn't great considering the restaurant was quiet, when we finished we were left waiting for ages, no one cleaned our table or offered us dessert menus, so I went and asked. The waitress took our order yet still didn't remove the plates. Tea and dessert took an eternity, I explained we were getting a train and if they weren't coming soon we would need to leave, another 5 minutes or so and they came along with tea and coffee. My partner moved our dinner plates in front of him and eventually when desserts were brought they removed them as there was nowhere to put the dessert plate. I got the cheese board which was really nice and contained a good selection of cheeses, my partner got the chocolate biscuit cake as the chocolate tart wasn't available. He found it sickly sweet and only managed a little bit of it. We asked for the bill, however they somehow lost the record of what we had ordered and knocked the tea and coffee off the bill for this blunder. Overall the food was nice although small and expensive, service was pretty poor. There is only one bathroom in the premises and I wasn't too happy sharing it with a bunch of guys. There was no soap and it was a bit grubby which left me rather disgruntled, especially after eating cheese and chicken wings. We were not offered any wipes either after the chicken wings which is the norm in any other place I have been. Overall food is nice but not outstanding, service was poor and the bill was high. I would probably visit somewhere else on my next visit to Howth.

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

evaforman
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th August 2013 (visited 20 July 2013)

Without a doubt the best restaurant in Howth if not Dublin. Food is flawless and the service is excellent despite the fact that they are always out the door. Great value for money. Couldn't speak highly enough of it!

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

AlexBee
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th July 2013 (visited 29 July 2013)

What a difference from a tapas restaurant we had just visited the Saturday before. It was exactly what a Tapas restaurant/ cafe should be: fresh food, very nice and attentive staff, good wine selection and felft like being on holidays. Even our very young boy was raving about the seafood chowder. We will definitely be back and would recommend it.

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

Jillianbeggs

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th July 2013 (visited 9 July 2013)

Excellent seafood. Fresh and simply prepared. Will definitely be back!

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

biana042000
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th April 2013 (visited 6 April 2013)

Delicious seafood and a great atmosphere! Beautiful view and a very polite and attentive service! Affordable prices! Highly recommend for seafood lovers!

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

Betty Boop
Dublin
83 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2012 (visited 10 August 2012)

1st visit on a lovely summer lunchtime. We sat outside and it was just like being on holiday. Inside is quite small and all tall tables and stools so maybe more a daytime place than night dining although they are open in the evening and very busy. We had a lovely friendly waitress that was kept extremely busy but nothing was too much trouble if you needed it. We decided to choose 3 items and share. Chicken wings, Cajun prawns and White fish in batter. All were lovely and just perfect for a summer afternoon. A nice bottle of wine to wash it all down. Will be back again for another visit soon.

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

deedeeone
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 6 April 2012)

excellent food at good price in this lovely, atmospheric restaurant. Service is always prompt and professional, staff knowledgeable and friendly.

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

jenbon
Cork
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd April 2012 (visited 2 April 2012)

Best meal for a very long time. Fresh Seafood, Very Very good Value. Very satisfied, cant wait to go back!

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

Sapna
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 25 April 2012)

We went there as my daughter loves mussels. A bit disappointed as there were no mussels. We had chowder and calamari to start , prawns on skewer and scallops for our mains they were fresh and tasty as always. Would like to see cheesecake or rhubarb crumble for desserts.

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

Honey24
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th December 2011 (visited 3 December 2011)

Went here with 2 friends at 6.30pm on a Sat. There are 2 areas for seating, we were in open area as you enter restaurant on high stools and were the only ones in that area for most of our meal which I though was unusual for it being a sat evening. It was difficult to judge how much food to order but luckily we got it right and finished almost everything. Food was really good and choice on the menu was impressive. Service was fine, it was good how there was no rush and they weren't all over us considering how quiet it was. I will definitely go back but hopefully they are busier next time!

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

Zetsuei
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2011 (visited 9 November 2011)

Arrived here for a lunch time meal with my family after my graduation. The place was empty so I was a little worried but it came recommended by a friend. The seating consisted of high stools or a small little whole in the wall, we chose the whole in the wall and it wasn't very comfortable. When the food arrived we forgot about the bad seats because all the seafood was excellent. I have never liked seafood chowder till I came to this restaurant, all the dishes were in their own tasty creamy sauce and everyone of them was delicious. The waitress was friendly and the meal itself ended up being very cheap. Will return here. Id say this place would be awesome to go to with a few friends before heading out for some drinks

Octopussy Seafood Tapas

arshavin
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th October 2011 (visited 10 October 2011)

Have been to this restaurant a few times in the last few months for lunch. A walk in howth and a bite to eat and a glass of wine is perfect. Seafood is good, Enjoy this little place.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4871 ]