Deep restaurant

12 West Pier, North Co. Dublin, Howth, Dublin, Area Code: North Co Dublin

North Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Seafood

Price Range:

€€

137 reviews
4 stars - based on 137 reviews
Deep

SundayLunch
Kildare
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th October 2013 (visited 5 October 2013)

Stopped by here with a friend of mine last Saturday evening. Beautiful evening so we got a seat outside. We only fancied something light as we had other plans for later. We shared a Deep Fried Calamari and some Moules Mariniere. The calamari was a pretty miserable size but the batter and the dip saved it. The moules were not plump and juicy like you might expect and the stock was only luke warm. All in all, disappointed but the waitress was very friendly and attentive. Prices are on the high side for what we got.

Deep

nkeegan
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th October 2013 (visited 28 September 2013)

This place was fantastic and I will definitely be going back, the service was 2nd to none the staff couldn't be nicer, the food was fab...

Deep

kittyandpinchy
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st October 2013 (visited 29 September 2013)

A little on the expensive side compared with other restaurants in the same area but the quality of the seafood is amazing and the portions are generous. Although my seafood linguine was delicious I was very jealous of the seafood platter I saw served up on the table next to me and will be back to soon to sample it for myself!

Deep

daggergirl
Dublin
41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 29th July 2013 (visited 28 July 2013)

Popped in here for lunch on Sunday with no reservation and were looked after promptly. We were pleasantly surprised with this place as we had no expectations but were in the mood for some seafood. My friend and I shared a seafood platter that was really tasty and the portion size was great, with plenty of food for two. The service was really good and the staff were friendly and attentive. I will definitely be returning here to try more of the seafood on offer as the selection was great.

Deep

allers82
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 12th July 2013 (visited 10 July 2013)

My boyfriend and I went over to the West Pier on Wednesday night looking for somewhere to eat. There are a few restaurants along the Pier but we found this to be the best value as they do an early bird up until 9.30pm; two courses for €19.95 or four courses for €24.95. We ended up going for the four courses. I had the mussels to start, Rock Bass for main and ice cream for dessert. All of which were really good. My boyfriend had the chicken wings to start, he said they were really good but felt the portion was a bit small, he had the Sea Trout for main and a delicious vanilla and toffee cheesecake for dessert, which was to die for. This is a lovely restaurant if you're looking for a relaxed casual dining experience with a good atmosphere. The service was very good and the staff are really friendly.

Deep

twhite1
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th June 2013 (visited 19 May 2013)

We called into Deep with no reservation, and the staff were very helpful and managed to get us a table quickly even though the place was very busy. The atmosphere in the restaurant was great and the food was amazing!! We got the seafood platter for 2 which was delish and reasonable priced! I would highly recommend this place, but perhaps book a table just to be on the safe side!!

Deep

Betty Boop
Dublin
83 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2012 (visited 11 August 2012)

1st visit on a warm Saturday evening.Popped in without a reservation but they managed to squeeze us in. Very buzzy place. Nice if you want tasty food and good conversation. There were a good number of waiting staff and all were lovely, helpful, chatty and willing to help with any decisions. We had chosen a bottle of wine which was out of stock and our waitress helped pick a different one without pushing for a more expensive one. I opted for the chicken wings to start and hubby asked if he could have the starter seafood platter for 2 as his main (and have the mussels that come with it as his starter). No problem at all with that. I had the rib eye with mushrooms and chunky chips. The mushrooms had a really unusual yummy flavour and the steak was delish and has to be said, far nicer than ones I have had in many "upmarket expensive" restaurants. Only 2 slight quibbles, the seating is not v. comfortable. Long benches, slightly too low for the tables that slope backwards so you have to sit on edge to eat your meal, so hard on your back. And their lighting not working properly so a bit too bright as they could not dim. But aside from that a lovely evening and will be back again very soon.

Deep

liv46
Meath
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th July 2012 (visited 30 July 2012)

Had a fabulous meal this evening. Had prawn in garlic butter and rock bass both delicious my friend had crab claws and seabass equally delicious. Desserts were disappointing there was 4 tarts, no imagination. Service was slow but very polite staff. Would recommend it, definitely will return.

Deep

brianbmcd
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th July 2012 (visited 28 July 2012)

Was out in Howth pretty early for a walk and decided to have a bite to eat around lunchtime. Noticed that Deep were advertising platters for 2 and went for the one that included prawns and calamari, smoked salmon, mussels and so on - very very tasty!!! Atmosphere was very good, service was excellent. Wine @ €7.75 a glass was pricey but I would recommend for the food / service and atmosphere :-)

Deep

Mulron
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th May 2012 (visited 24 May 2012)

There were 4 of us for lunch. My partner and I were being treated so complaining was not an option. I thought rip off Ireland was alive and well in Howth. Lots and lots of visitors so I felt no effort was made on the food and it was expensive. 25€ for Dublin Bay prawns swimming in garlic butter and how they got them to be tough and tasteless I do not know. €18 for cod and mashed potatoes and nothing else. The risotto was tasty but was not the right consistency and you cant go far wrong with cod in batter with chips for €18. We wont be going back its a shame because Howth is lovely but in this day and age in Ireland value for money is essential and so is good cooking.

Deep

Nikki34
Kildare
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th May 2012 (visited 15 April 2012)

What a find....you could easily overlook Deep as you stroll around Howth, it is the far end of the pier, facing a warehouse!!!! From the outside, it does not look like much, but they have done an amazing job with the interior - bright, fresh and a mirrored wall gives the image of greater space. The staff are friendly and attentive. We were a party of 2 and ordered the seafood platter - it was so yummy, full of Fish cakes / Calamari / Smoked Salmon on brown bread / Crayfish in a lemon mayonnaise / Mixed green leaves / Sweet chilli dip and garlic aioli. We were in heaven - the calamari was very tender, not a bit chewy, the smoked salmon was so soft and tasty.....everything was great and more than enough for 2 people. Will definitely return.

Deep

laurie_mcd
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th January 2012 (visited 19 November 2011)

came here for a family 60th as a party of 9, on a busy Saturday evening. the restaurant is quite small, but because of this there is a really cosy atmosphere! the early bird menu is great value, with plenty to choose from! the waiting staff are lovely, and always helpful and knowledgeable. have been a few times for dinner, and also for lunch, would however advise prebooking for either as the place is always full! lovely little restaurant, would recommend it highly

Deep

MaryPoppins
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th January 2012 (visited 6 January 2012)

Been there with 3 friends for lunch last friday. The place is nice and cosy, really warms you during these rainy days. All of us had the early bird menu and shared the plates so we could taste everything. The mussels in white wine sauce were to die for as well as their pan fried salmon. Fish was fresh and cooked to perfection. The staff was friendly and service attentive; they left us waiting the right amount of time between courses so we could pause and have a chat. We left full and happy; we'll definetely be back soon.

Deep

Mad4goodFood
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st November 2011 (visited 22 October 2011)

Went here with 3 others two weeks ago. The staff are very friendly and atmosphere is brilliant. We had a mixture of tiger prawns and seafood platter to start. all items were delicious and perfectly cooked. For mains we had the stone bass, seabass and both wee amazing. I will definitely go there again and will recommend to a friend. I would advise to watch your step as the tiles are slippy which inst a friend to those in heels!! :)

Deep

yummy84
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2011 (visited 14 July 2011)

Went here for lunch and a glass of wine. Had the seafood platter. It was delicious. Best calamarie Ive ever had! Was a sunny day, so was lovely to sit outside while eating. Staff were very nice.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5295 ]