Chilli Banana restaurant

112 Upper Drumcondra Road, North Dublin, Drumcondra, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 9

Dublin 9

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Thai

Price Range:

€€€

122 reviews
4 stars - based on 122 reviews

Chilli Banana

Submit a review
Chilli Banana

chopstick
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th June 2012 (visited 9 June 2012)

i ate here last night with some friends, the food and service were excellent. its a great local spot, we will be going back soon.

Chilli Banana

pamleco
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd May 2012 (visited 30 March 2012)

Always found the food here to be so tasty and full of flavour compared to other restaurants where all dishes nearly taste the same. Service was excellent, only gripe I would have is that the tables are too close together and you cannot have a private conversation without being overheard or hearing your neighbours conversations. Overall excellent place to eat

Chilli Banana

Happy3
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th April 2012 (visited 27 April 2012)

Following a lovely meal in its sister restaurant Il Corvo, my boyfriend and I decided to try Chilli Banana. The decor is lovely and very comfortable.Authentic Thai but not tacky. The tables are a little close together though. Portions were impressive and the waitress was very accommodating with my rather awkward order. Food was delicious; Combination of starters and sizzling beef and prawns and ginger for main. The chocolate cheesecake is pure heaven! Food is good value and served in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Staff are very friendly and chatty; something you don't really get anymore. Service was attentive throughout. I will definitely recommend Chilli Banana....I'll be back soon.

Chilli Banana

dubai
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2012 (visited 5 April 2012)

There were five of us for dinner last Thursday and four of us were new to the Chilli Banana. We ordered two of the sharing platters which were extremely tasty and the portions very generous.We had a variety of dishes which everyone really enjoyed and my chilli chicken was hot without the chilli being too strong.The wine was reasonable and decor made you feel like you were out for the night even if it's a local destination. The staff were very friendly and the total bill turned out to be very reasonable. I would definitely go back.

Chilli Banana

Cwitch
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th November 2011 (visited 14 October 2011)

Early bird on a Friday evening for 2 people. As there were very few people already in the restaurant, we felt the staff were 'watching' us a bit too much & it was a little off-putting, especially as the restaurant is quite narrow on the ground floor, so you are close to where the staff are. The starter of spring rolls & chicken satay were small and tasted a bit over done as well as a bit re-heated. However, the main course of thai chicken with rice was really nice, authentic taste and look. Staff were very nice, water brought to table etc.. Will go back a bit later in the evening to sample better atmsophere later at night & to have tasty thai chicken again.

Chilli Banana

Twinkle09
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2011 (visited 28 August 2011)

I dined here with three other last month and I have to say we all agreed the food was fantastic! The atmosphere and service were ver good also. Since dining here I have also had a take away twice, both times it was lovely. I would certainly recommend this restaurant for a romantic meal or for larger groups.

Chilli Banana

lav6891
Dublin
47 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th July 2011 (visited 10 July 2011)

Nice setting……however we were unfortunate that the night we went in it was quite dead! There was a mix up with our order, we ordered one starter platter between the 4 of us (as we weren’t that hungry)….however as the platters are for 2 people they brought us out two platters…. We explained we had only ordered one but we felt bad that they had gone to the trouble of cooking it so we took it in the end- it’s not as if there was anyone else in the restaurant that they could’ve given it to. We didn’t expect them to charge us considering it was their mistake but they did! The food was decent enough but I just thought it was a little expensive for what we got. Don’t know whether I’d go back based on my first experience there.

Chilli Banana

sanctamaria
Meath
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 23rd June 2011 (visited 19 June 2011)

Myself and my husband ate here last Sunday. It was a last minute decision as our original choice was fully booked as it was father’s day all restaurants in the area were very busy! We got a table here but were advised they needed it back in an hour so needless to say we really rushed our food down! This was a major disappointment to us but everything else was fab. The tables were a little too close together but the atmosphere was great. We were on our way to the Take That concert in Croke park as were most of the customers here! The food was delicious - we both had the chicken satay to start, I had the Thai green curry with chicken and rice and my husband had the beef stir-fry with noodles unfortunately they do not offer chips which we both wanted too! This is very strange as to be honest a lot of people like chips and rice with their curry’s etc?? We finished with the chocolate cake and sticky toffee pudding. It is a little pricey but the food and service was excellent. We will definitely return.

Chilli Banana

scaramouche
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2011 (visited 13 April 2011)

It's been a while since I've been here as I was never a fan of how close the tables are to each other. Unfortunately I gave it another go. We were here for the earlybird which sounds good but the portions were so bad. I had a beef dish which hardly had any beef in it what so ever my partners dish didn't fair much better. The staff were unfriendly to boot...will not be back.

Chilli Banana

goodfoody
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th April 2011 (visited 26 March 2011)

Absolutely amazing find! Went to the chilli banana early on a Saturday evening. I am gluten free, dairy free and egg free so eating out can be a challenge, the staff were so helpful and there was a huge amount that I could have on the menu. For starters my boyfriend and I had veg spring rolls which were amazing and for main course I had a thai curry and he had a stir fry with chilli. Both cooked to perfection and the portions were a really good size, we were fed without being stuffed! I'm already looking forward to going back again, there was so much on the menu that I could have and am dying to taste. Its been so long since I had such a vast choice and I'm happy to say that I wasn't disappointed. On top of it all, it was very good value for money for the quality and service. This gets a thumbs up from me!

Chilli Banana

yummyoat
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2011 (visited 11 January 2011)

This restaurant is unique and had a lovely atmosphere when you walk in. The lights are dim and there are candles on the table. I wouldn't say its my kind of food, I was brought here for a family outing but the food was of good quality. The service was great, the waiter was friendly and helpful but the value wasn't great.

Chilli Banana

bettybee
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd March 2011 (visited 17 March 2011)

This restaurant has disimproved so much since the last time we ate there. It was always expensive but now it is such bad value because of the standard of food they are serving. We were given prawn crackers after we ordered which were served in a dusty dirty basket, without even a napkin to line the basket. We then had to wait over 30 minutes for our starters to arrive. I had the veggie tempura which I'm guessing caused the delay seeing as I mainly got onion rings and fried mushrooms in batter. That is not a typical thai tempura. It was piled high to make up for the lack of actual veg. The fact that you still have to pay for rice and the portion size you are given is appalling. Everything we got was fried within an inch of its life. I really don't know what has happened to this restaurant but we won't be returning. Such poor quality and bad value.

Chilli Banana

Dee Kennedy
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th February 2011 (visited 19 February 2011)

Realy enjoyed everything about this place, the food was delicious, service was good and good value for money. overall a very pleasurable expecience.

Chilli Banana

stiofandebrun
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th February 2011 (visited 5 February 2011)

I've been here on a few occasions and always enjoyed the food and thought it was a well run place. On my last visit I had a more average experience. We phoned beforehand to book a table for 8.00. We ran late and didn't arrive until 8.15. We walked into the restaurant (Saturday Night - Busy) and approached the hostess. I gave her my name and she said that we would have to wait 5 minutes for a table to become available. I asked her was there a table free and she said NO and we sat down and waited. After about 1 minute the hostess came back to us and said our table was ready, t just seemed like they did not know what was going on. That was my first time that I saw a hostess employed and in my opinion she seemed to be complicating things rather than helping out. Food was okay but the portions of rice are just too small and the price points I feel are a little high considering the portions. All in all this is a good 'Irish Thai' place that will suit quick eats. Slightly expensive for what you get.

Chilli Banana

Zildo
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd January 2011 (visited 21 January 2011)

Myself and my partner went here for the Late Night Menu on Friday night. The resturant was full which was great to see, but the tables are placed very close together. We where lucky that we where seated next to an empty table so we where able to talk without worrying if anyone was listening in!! The menu had a nice selection to choose from and was very good value for money, the house wine was 2010 which was drinkable. The only complaint i had was that the service was a bit too quick as we both felt as if we where being rushed and the chocolate cheesecake was not worth nearly 7 euros.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5464 ]