The Nuthouse restaurant

Howth Road, North Dublin, Clontarf, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 3

Dublin 3

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Casual Dining

Price Range:

€€

72 reviews
4 stars - based on 72 reviews

The Nuthouse

Submit a review
The Nuthouse

tecsteward
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th February 2010 (visited 11 February 2010)

Tried this restaurant on the reccomendation of a friend. And wow, it may be compact is size but the quality of the food was awesome. I had the soup of the day to start which was Tomato and roast pepper served with delicious homemade soda bread (cut thick). For the main I had what can only be described as the best cooked piece of fish I have ever had in Dublin. It was Cod served on bed of hand cut chips with a side of puree pea and carrot. Also of note was the fresh made Tartare sauce. On top of this was a quaffable Australian house wine @ €5 a glass. Overall great food, great value and well worth a return visit.

The Nuthouse

grublove
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th January 2010 (visited 18 December 2009)

I ate here a few weeks ago with a couple of my girlfriends. I found the staff very rude and hard to understand, the decor very basic. Now to the food the menu is completely different then what is specified here its a basic deli. There are no prawns or steak,just soup sandwiches and salads. Totally overrated over priced and would never recommend it to anyone.

The Nuthouse

food-lover!
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th November 2009 (visited 7 November 2009)

I seriously recommend this place to anyone who enjoys excellent food with a lively atmosphere! Im a regular customer in the Nuthouse and i cannot believe the comments below! I have always found it an excellent restaurant. the soup cannot be further from the suggestion of it being like dirty water,its excellent and always fresh! the food is always cooked fresh and it can be seen that care is taken in it. it's really a must for anyone who wants to relax with a coffee or fancies a spot of great food in the evenings.

The Nuthouse

gottabegood
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th October 2009 (visited 13 October 2009)

We ate here recently and all i can say is this must be the most misleading page ever. Food was just awful awful awful as is the service, The soup was a disgrace, like dirty water in taste and texture. Other reveiws that talk of matre d's , chefs and sublime food are wrong in the extreme.

The Nuthouse

mary39
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th January 2010 (visited 7 January 2010)

Had lunch here today, nice food, just a pity its so draughty (even though they have put up a curtain to try an block the draughts)

The Nuthouse

foodiexxx
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th September 2009 (visited 4 September 2009)

For those of you who thought the Nutouse was just a Lunchtime cafe think again. I had an evening meal there recently and discovered one of the best bistros in Dublin. The Chef is excellent and dishes out generous portions of absolutely delicious food. The maitre di is very welcoming and the wine is very reasonably priced. The early bird is fantastic value and the a la carte menu is keenly priced also. I am making this place my regular and those in the killester clontarf area should do to. 10 out of 10:)

The Nuthouse

Lumpyroo
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th September 2009 (visited 4 July 2009)

Like most people who live in Raheny this little place is one of the many shops that are passed on a daily basis by people on their onward journey. I decided one of the days to actually stop and venture in to this little place. Little is correct in describing the actual physical space but it should not be used to describe the atmosphere, the menu or the welcomeness that each customer gets when they are in the Nuthouse. A great place for a coffee stop or for a bite to eat!

The Nuthouse

gavggt
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2009 (visited 26 August 2009)

Was always curios about this place having passed it so many times. Finally went in with 2 others for dinner. While initially thinking it was a bit on the pricey side, the portion sizes and quality of the food were fantastic. The host was extremely friendly too. We had soups and bruschetta for starters and they were excellent. We had the sea bass, tuna (fantastic, and with superb potatoes and chorizo) and a pasta dish for mains, all great. Overall, I'll be back. Worth a visit, especially if you are local.

The Nuthouse

Dukes
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2009 (visited 17 August 2009)

I've been to The Nuthouse lots of times over the past 6 months or so, mainly for lunch, once for breakfast and once for dinner. The dinner we had was excellent, most memorable was the bruschetta it was absolutely delicious. The service was excellent that night as it usually is when we go for lunch. Then came an unforgettable breakfast experience: microwaved poached and scrambled eggs...gross! 4 sausages that were obviously reheats. We both sent them back, and as a replacement we were almost thrown 2 black greasy sausages between us that had obviously been deep fried. We decided to give it another try last week, as their french toast is great. One of the chefs and what seemed like management were arguing behind us, it was just plain nasty. The French toast tasted great but my other half was very unhappy with his, the only thing I didn't have that he did was the black pudding. We were really good customers Nuthouse but we're never going back!

The Nuthouse

Flos
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th August 2009 (visited 17 July 2009)

I live quite close to the Nuthouse and had been in for breakfast and lunch a couple of times - nice but nothing too memorable. However dinner was a different story. Both I and my companion loved our meals. We both had the mushroom bruschetta to start which was the nicest we've ever had. Then we had tuna and salmon as main couses, both lovely, especially the tuna which came with roast potatoes with chorizo. The wine was reasonably priced and the whole experience was topped off by the great service we received. We'll definitely be back.

The Nuthouse

ginger_nymph
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th August 2009 (visited 5 August 2009)

My bruschetta was one of the best I've ever tasted.However my friend's Piri Piri prawns took over 35 minutes to arrive, and when they did, they were swimming in a bowl of oil! Overall, the food was mixed, and a little overpriced for what we got.

The Nuthouse

Gourmetdublin
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th July 2009 (visited 29 July 2009)

The Nuthouse is a lovely intimate little restaurant, serving excellent fresh food in a very friendly atmosphere, at very reasonable prices. There is a great host and he went out of his way to provide wonderful service to us. Will definitely be going back soon...

The Nuthouse

ladydd
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2009 (visited 27 June 2009)

A great spot for breakfast at the weekend. The food is fresh and good quality. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It's always busy which is testament to the food and service. The breakfast or the bacon bagels are yum.

The Nuthouse

sineadg
Cork
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th June 2009 (visited 27 June 2009)

i go here alot for brunch on a saturday and it never fails! the food is consistently good and the staff are always cheery. its great value for money and even though its always pretty full you never have to wait too long for a table. its so nice to have a cafe of this standard in the suburbs!!

The Nuthouse

rowenadwyer
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th May 2009 (visited 22 May 2009)

This is a super little restaurant - great menu, with fresh food and good ingredients. Very good value for money also - four of us went out for dinner on a Friday evening (no special offers) and for two courses each, a bottle of wine, some beers and coffees, the bill, with tip included, came to €35 a head. Very pleasant atmosphere also and entertaining service.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4978 ]