Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro restaurant

Carlton Airport Hotel, Old Airport Road, Cloughran, Cloghran, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 9

Dublin 9

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

23 reviews
4 stars - based on 23 reviews

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

Submit a review
Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

jackpdh

28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th August 2007 (visited 25 August 2007)

We tried Clouds after seeing it featured on TV. Unfortunately there was no cod on the menu, but there was monkfish so one of us had that. I had the prawn starter and the duck and we split a dessert that was so memorable, I cannot remember what it was. First off amuse bouche of duck liver pate on toast is not an appetiser. A severe lack of imagination here and it applied all the way along the menu. My prawns were overdone in a bitter butter sauce. The duck was good as was the monkfish which sat on a pea puree bed and nothing else. A dish of sorry looking mash accompanied the meal (I couldn’t bring myself to try it). The staff were friendly and the place lacks atmosphere. If I wanted a view of the city I would buy a ladder - it’s a lot cheaper. Cappuccino from a machine is not what I expect in a 'fine dining' establishment. Overpriced and needs to perk up on many levels.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

jennybryce
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2007 (visited 23 August 2007)

Thursday night, whim to dine out - no reservation made. We wandered into an empty Clouds and feared the worst. We were pleasantly surprised by our meal. Sizable and tasty prawn starter, thoroughly satisfying double cooked duck and tasty, if not a little too salty, monk fish wrapped in Parma ham rounded out the starter and mains. All complimented by a basket of warm breads and a lovely duck pate amuse bouche which could have doubled as a starter. Dessert let us down a bit, a pineapple tartin in an unevenly baked phyllo pastry case with champagne sorbet. Tasted great just looked amateurish compared to the presentation of the food that came before. The lattes were strong and unpalatable. The service was attentive, the dining room nicely dressed and the price did not air on the cheap side of things. On leaving the restaurant, in the loo of all places, was an advert for their first year anniversary special, 4 course meal for 2 plus complimentary bottle of wine for 100 Euro. I would consider that great value for money and we would have availed ourselves of the offer if we had only thought to go to the loo before dinner. Instead we paid 90 Euro for one starter, two mains, one dessert and coffees. Nice dining experience. Would be willing to eat there again.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

vineuil
Dublin
39 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th April 2007 (visited 4 April 2007)

We went last sunday for a sunday lunch at 1.30 PM, it was quiet which provided a nice atmosphere. The set menu was at 29 EUR which I thought was good value. We all got something different, i love doing that, you can taste everybody's food but I was very disappointed. I wished the food was as good as the service and the presentation was quite good too. Starter was a very very warm soup, and the salmon was abnormally too crispy for my taste, other starters such as prawns cocktail and ceasar salad were ok, for other mains chicken was OK, beef average and pasta bake very greasy. Wont come back even though I am aware the saturday night with patsy'chef in the cuisine and his a la carte menu may be a different story, sorry first impression last...

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

Mullah

11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th April 2007 (visited 5 April 2007)

We've eaten in Clouds on two occasions - one special family occasion and one intimate romantic dinner. On both occasions, we had a wonderful restaurant experience. The food was superb, the atmosphere wonderful, the service perfection, the staff extremely professional yet friendly and welcoming. I can't recommend the restaurant enough - a real place for a sense of occasion, not just another meal out.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

seniorfoodie

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th February 2007 (visited 26 February 2007)

My wife and I went for a drink at the Carlton bar last weekend. Whilst in the hotel I fancied a look at Patsy McGurks restaurant. I asked the maitre'd if there was a possibility of a reservation the following night at 8.30pm. I really didn't think wed have a hope getting a reservation on a Saturday night with 24hours. A call from the restaurant on Saturday morning informed us that we could have a reservation that night at 8.30pm. On arrival at the restaurant we were greeted warmly and shown to a great table overlooking the city. The menu was varied and I chose venison to start and my wife had the chowder. Both were wonderfully tasty and beautifully presented. My wife had sole for her main and I had beef. Again, both were tasty and presentation was phenomenal. I would urge others to go if not only for the surroundings and the exquisite food, but the highly informed staff who made the meal ever so more enjoyable. Definitely up there with the best of what the city centre has to offer!!!

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

dublin-2006
Dublin
67 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th February 2007 (visited 26 February 2007)

Was here on Sunday evening with friends. Lovely restaurant and nice atmosphere. The staff were excellent and very friendly. Service was very good. Food was delicious. Very reasonably priced too.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

constantin3

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th February 2007 (visited 25 February 2007)

Possibly the worst restaurant I have ever been to. Ordered the seafood chowder and the beef fillet. When the chowder finally came, there was a thick skin on top of it, as if under a hot lamp and hot plate for a while. That came and went. Then, 1 hour and forty minutes after we sit down, the mains arrives. Beef fillet arrives, seriously underdone and again as if they were trying to cook it under a hot plate. Not once were we asked if the meal was OK due to lack of waiting staff. The manager came over at the end after I had complained to the waiter and asked if everything was OK, I set out my grievances and he said sorry and walked away.

Kitty Hawks Bar & Bistro

DORO

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th December 2006 (visited 17 December 2006)

Went to clouds for special occasion recently fantastic restaurant, staff great, food beautiful, chef spoke to the table at the end of the night, very jolly and sociable man, nice touch.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4576 ]