The Goblet restaurant

Malahide Road, Artane, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 5

Dublin 5

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Pub Grub

Price Range:


42 reviews
4 stars - based on 42 reviews

The Goblet

Submit a review
The Goblet

MrsMac
Dublin
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th May 2010 (visited 29 April 2010)

I went here with work crowd for lunch and I have to say as a first timer I was impressed. I got poached pears in red wine with salad and cashel blue cheese which was delicious. My mains was chicken with a rosemary jus greens and mash potatoes the meat was soft and tender and the mash tasty and buttery. For dessert I got a fantastic marscapone and mango mousse with a pistashio biscuit it was a beautiful finish to a lovely meal. Everyone loves their meals which included swordfish, duck, and chocolate cake for 5 starters, basket of bread, 5 mains 3 desserts and 3 glasses of wine it was €169 which was quite reasonable. I would reccommend this restaurant to anyone.

The Goblet

Jo76
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th May 2010 (visited 22 April 2010)

The garlic mushrooms were lovely and big - althought there could have been a few more. There was only 1 option available out of the 3 vegetarian options on the menu which was very disappointing - not all vegetarians want to live on risotto!! The prices were good - but it is only pub grub. The atmosphere was that of an average pub and the service was good, although nothing to write home about. Probably will try again but only as it is local and there are a few more places to try before we go back.

The Goblet

taunt
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2009 (visited 12 September 2009)

was there for a saturday lunch for a birthday... the service was good and the food was cheap but it wasnt amazing... nice for lunch, havent tried the dinner so might be better... all customers looked ahppy though!!!

The Goblet

rapsody2003
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th July 2009 (visited 13 July 2009)

great place to visit for lunch so much cheaper compared to other pubs in the area. their soup is the nicest soup i've ever had and the portion is huge. great selection for lunch.

The Goblet

EClinton
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2009 (visited 8 May 2009)

2 buses from Dromahair Up for the Celebrity Bainisteoir match final in Parnell Park stopped and ate before the match at the Goblet. The service was excellent for all 106 of us. The food was really tasty with a great choice. Service couldnt be better all 106 of us were very happy with our visit. A big thankyou to the Goblet.

The Goblet

appetite monster
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th May 2009 (visited 24 April 2009)

The Goblet is one of the busiest pubs on the Northside of Dublin. Went there for lunch which contained wholesome tasty food at a reasonable price compared to what others charge. It also serves as good a pint of Guinness as you might expect to get anywhere.

The Goblet

bid
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st February 2009 (visited 1 February 2009)

ate here 2 weeks ago and am in no hurry to go back.menu very basic and outdated ,furniture very grubby def needs a revamp although our waitrss was very cheerful.

The Goblet

foodlover27
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd January 2009 (visited 19 January 2008)

I went here one saturday evening and there was very few people there. We were seated beside the window. The waiter was not great as we had to go and get the menu's ourselves. We have only opened the menu when the waiter came over to take our order. We ordered Drinks from the waiter and was told that we had to go to the bar for drinks. However the waiteress brought drinks over to a different table. The food was good and the porsions were great. However I ordered the Crab cakes for started and they were still cold in the centre and had to be sent back to cook. All in all I would not be pushed on going back to the Goblet for Dinner

The Goblet

yum yum
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2009 (visited 21 January 2009)

Great and reasonable pub grup. I think the inside of the pub could do with little re-vamp furniture is a little gruppy. Carvery had good options and evening menu is good value and most important food is great.

The Goblet

Tsweet
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th December 2008 (visited 15 December 2008)

I live locally, so the Goblet is very handy for some quick grub and a few pints. The food is usually quite nice and is good value. It is your regular local so nothing to get TOO excited about.... The Sunday dinner is very tasty!

The Goblet

alsam
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th September 2008 (visited 19 September 2008)

I live nearby and visit the Goblet restaurant frequently and whilst most of the reviews are good and I mostly agree the menu needs to be updated as two years or more is a long time for the same food to be trotted out. Portions are huge and good but evening staff need to learn to smile a bit . The carvery is always a great bet and I have friends from Ireland and abroad who rave about the soup and sandwich available at lunch down stairs . You will not beat it for a lunchtime soup and generally need to bring half the sambo away as it cannot be finished . Well worth a look

The Goblet

aliciamaree
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th September 2008 (visited 7 August 2008)

The Goblet is a good little local bar to have a meal and a few drinks. There isn't much of a selection on the menu, but they are good traditional pub meals, and are absolutely HUGE. Don't order a starter because you will struggle to fit it all in. It is a little expensive I think for a pub meal, but they make up for it with the amount of food you are given.

The Goblet

Hungrybrigade

19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd July 2008 (visited 1 July 2008)

Three of us had a meal here last night and it was so nice!! We didn't have a complaint between us! Waiters were friendly and attentive. The portions were huge and the chicken and mushroom vol-u-vont and garlic mushrooms starters were so tasy. Two of us got the rack of lamb which was cooked to perfection and another got the fillet steak which was really thick and the pepper sauce is really nice! The only thing is they don't seem to have glasses of wine of the wine list and we didn't want a bottle. I will defo come back here!

The Goblet

cloed

6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th February 2008 (visited 4 December 2007)

I live near here and have been many times over the years, and have yet to have a bad meal. Mind you I always have the same - spicy meatballs hmmmmmm lovely. My friends and family have had most of the dishes and have always cleared their plates. Will be back again soon

The Goblet

thatisatastyburger!

21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st February 2008 (visited 10 January 2008)

I'm afraid to say i totally disagree with all other comments about the Goblet, I do think I am in the minority though. I have been here twice as everyone is always raving about how good the food is. First time i had the vol au vent, it was vile, couldn't eat it at all! the staff were not as friendly as everyone has said. I went back for Sunday carvery as i thought that was just a bad day and I picked a bad dish. I had the veg soup and roast beef dinner. The soup looked like thick, lumpy, lukewarm vomit. And the dinner was not much better. The staff were very unfriendly, definitely not service with a smile. While there I dropped my plate, while it was my own fault, not one member of staff came over to see what happened or to help me clean it up, the service was awful. Won't be going back and I won't recommend the place to anyone.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4701 ]