Metro Cafe restaurant

43 South William Street, South William Street, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


66 reviews
4 stars - based on 66 reviews

Metro Cafe

Submit a review
Metro Cafe

DaisyPembroke
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th November 2009 (visited 9 November 2009)

I love this place. The staff are friendly and the food is good. I like that you can get small breakfasts, like just toast or a snack. And you can sit for ages with a cup of tea without being moved

Metro Cafe

a04bf097
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd November 2009 (visited 29 October 2009)

I come here for lunch a lot. The BLT on sour dough bread is really tasty and the staff are very friendly.

Metro Cafe

Ondes
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th August 2009 (visited 15 July 2009)

Im honestly suprised at the reviews below my opinion of the staff is completely different.Ive always felt welcome and found the staff to be friendly and efficient.Ive often gone in here with my boyfriend for just a coffee or hot chocolate and theyre delicious. We often stayed here for hours chattin orderin another tea every so often and never been rushed out. The food especially the muffins are lovely here but my main attraction to the place is the wonderful atmosphere.Maybe you could get the place on a bad day but ive been here numerous times and havent had a bad one yet.

Metro Cafe

DonJulián
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th August 2009 (visited 30 July 2009)

This is the best bar of Dublin. I was there last month and the better is the service. Three fantastic girls works in this bar. They are so kind and very good workers. When I will return to Dublin I will go to this bar.

Metro Cafe

loulovesfood
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2009 (visited 15 September 2009)

Had a nice turkey sambo here for lunch with a good cappucino. braved sitting outside since it's not raining for a change! staff were very friendly and wasn't too busy for lunchtime

Metro Cafe

signpostk
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st June 2009 (visited 31 May 2009)

Went for Breakfast here yesterday, a big mistake. We were attracted to the fact that we could sit outside and enjoy breakfast in the sun. However it proved to be a disaster. The service was functional at best, but the staff obviously did not want to be there and everyone was gruff and off-hand. The food did arrive quite quickly but was inedible. I ordered scrambled eggs which were the very bad 'plastic' variety and could not be eaten...the coffee was bitter....overall not good at all.... So do not go here!!!

Metro Cafe

CeeBeeGeeBees
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 21st May 2009 (visited 21 May 2009)

Visited the Metro Cafe for lunch today. Had been here on a few occasions just for coffee, but today tried the food also. The lunch was the standard fare of sandwiches, salads etc. Opted for a chicken salad while my companion went for the special of the day. The special was definitely the better option, as the chicken salad wasn't all that inspiring. Service was very good, and the staff generally attentive to the many demands of the people around them. My coffee order was forgotten in the lunch time melee however, though I was impressed with the response when I mentioned it to one of the staff - they arrived back at the table a few minutes later with a coffee and reissued bill, minus the price of the coffee, apologising for the delay and saying it was on the house. That is thoughtful service and leaves a positive memory of the place.

Metro Cafe

ruben
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th April 2009 (visited 8 April 2009)

Love this place for meeting up and having a good chat. Food is great and so is service.

Metro Cafe

paulaoc_
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st March 2009 (visited 18 February 2009)

Have wanted to try this place for ages but it is always packed! After eating there I can see why. The menu is reasonably priced and the food is great. The staff are both helpful and friendly. There is a lively buzz about Metro, stemming in the outdoor seating area and carried right through the cafe. This busy atmosphere tempts you in,almost like you're missing out on something by not eating there!

Metro Cafe

eatsin
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2008 (visited 11 October 2008)

I'm a sucker for good service, and that's what you get here. I had a salad, he had a sandwich. Both hit the spot! Often come here post-lecture for a coffee and a spot of people watching. Love it!

Metro Cafe

Newmarket
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th November 2008 (visited 8 November 2008)

Stumbled across this place on Sat, it was lashing rain and we came into this place for a quick bite to eat.. so warm and friendly from the min we got in the door, food was simple but tasty and great value. I think i will be here again very soon! It was packed which I feel shows how popular it is and rightly so!

Metro Cafe

karen_darbyshire
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th November 2008 (visited 1 November 2008)

Having ate here every night I was in college for 4 years, I had not been in a few months. The place always offers excellent service, casual but quick and with the least amount of fuss. I think the staff here are better than a number of people you see in restaurants around town. The food is simple but good quality if slightly dearer than other sandwich bars/cafes but I think the overall experience is worth it and so it seems that a lot of other people feel the same as it is very rare to go here and it not be busy! If you are feeling frivolous i would recommend the death by chocolate cake which is to die for, you may need to walk around the block a few times after though, very calorific!!!

Metro Cafe

aismul
Dublin
60 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd September 2008 (visited 8 September 2008)

Had a quick lunch in here. Decided to be healthy (joke) and got "The Metro Special" - exactly the kind of food you'd get in a New York cafe. It was tasty and filling. However it was difficult to find room for my tea pot as the tables are so tiny and cramped.

Metro Cafe

Topsy
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th July 2008 (visited 20 June 2008)

Pulled a sickie, sauntered to the Metro, big cup of coffee & Metro special with an Irish Times crossword. The perfect start to a lazy day!

Metro Cafe

VEGAS
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th June 2008 (visited 24 April 2008)

Great place. the food is always really tasty. Love their turkey brie and bacon sandwich and the metro special is great as well. The only negative would be that it is quite hard to get a table at lunchtime and sometimes the service can be a bit slow. The food makes up for it though.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4773 ]