Metro Cafe restaurant

43 South William Street, South William Street, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


66 reviews
4 stars - based on 66 reviews

Metro Cafe

Submit a review
Metro Cafe

teacher1
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th September 2011 (visited 11 September 2011)

Just came back from brunch at the Metro. I had a craving for pancakes and streaky bacon...and there it was! Hurrah. For 6.75 we were served scrambled eggs, two small pancakes, streaky bacon, cooked perfectly. My only complaint was that the syrup wasn't real maple, just golden syrup with maple flavour. Other than that, great atmosphere, good food, and very reasonably priced considering the neighbourhood. Looking forward to going back for brunch again.

Metro Cafe

DocOc
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th July 2011 (visited 3 July 2011)

It had been a while since I had been in Metro, but it has always been somewhere that I recommend to friends for a tasty Sunday breakfast. Somewhere to relax. I'm certainly not sure that would be the case anymore since going there last, as the food was terrible. To my annoyance I did not complain at the time. I got the Metro Breakfast (my favourite) but this time the whole thing was rubbery and reheated. Bacon was certainly reheated; scrambled eggs looked like they had come out of tupperware and then been been chopped and reheated; and the pancakes were impervious to syrup. My girlfriends bacon sandwich was also disappointingly filled with reheated bacon. I will say that the girl who served us was very nice, and the general vibe was fine. For a restaurant though, food should at least be a consideration.

Metro Cafe

hungrymungry
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th December 2010 (visited 26 November 2010)

Went there for lunch with two companions. This was during the cold weather, and when we went in the place was nice and warm. However, when we were brought further into the place it actually got much colder, as all the heat was concentrated at the entrance. We had to keep our coats on. I had the turkey and brie ciabatta, and while it was fine and filling it was on the bland side. That cost around €6.25, and with a large cappuccino at €3.10 it starts to mount up alarmingly! Service was quite slow and on the brusque side. I love the idea of these independent cafes, and I've always liked the Metro Cafe in particular. I'd love to give it higher scores, but when you can get a lunch special of a starter, main course plus tea or coffee in other places for the same price as tea and a sandwich here it highlights the lack of value.

Metro Cafe

willdekorte
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th December 2010 (visited 4 December 2010)

Anytime I stay up in Dublin, which is now becoming more regular , I always love to go to the Metro Cafe for breakfast on the Saturday. Having first been told about it by my friends Damien and Lesley earlier this year, I keep coming back. Its at the top of South William St going towards St Stephens Green shopping centre. The staff always seem so nice in here aswell which really adds to the place. I always go for the same breakfast , I get a large mocha coffee, scrambled eggs on sourdough bread, two sausages and lots of extra relish. It comes to 12.50, and its truly worth it, its a beautiful breakfast and I always leave happy.

Metro Cafe

MRSCC
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2010 (visited 2 October 2010)

My friend and I went here for a bite to eat on Saturday. The place was packed due to the rain outside. We got a good table and that is where the good experience ended. We waited ten minutes before getting to order, and the waitress was so rude, I just couldn't understand it. We ordered our food and coffee. Our coffee came 20 minutes before our food arrived so we had no coffee with our meal. When we enquired as to where our lunch was our heads were bitten off, and were told that we would get it, when it was ready. I hate to see this type of service particularly in these times, service like this does not deserve the business. Very disappointed

Metro Cafe

sunflowermania
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2010 (visited 19 September 2010)

On a sunday afternoon when one wants a nice bite to eat and a spot to sit a watch the world go by Metro seemed like a good option. This was not to be the case. The waitress was horrendous, rude abrupt and ignorant. While I realise the difficulties in this profession having waitressed before I have never treated people in this manner regardless of whatever this girl was going through on this given afternoon. Onto the food I ordered the Brushetta. a very basic dish and you'd have to agree very hard to get wrong well they did. I sometimes determine whether a restaurant is good or bad by the way they do the simple things. Bread, Tomato, garlic, fresh basil olive oil and balsamic vinegar.....It was teriible...No garlic I had to ask for balsamic and there was two timy pieces of wilted basil. I will never go back to this restaurant again and it seems to be relying on its location to lure the public in but does not follow through with the food.

Metro Cafe

ladytron
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th August 2010 (visited 14 August 2010)

I love Metro, it's a place I've gone for years but today was the first time in ages I had been in. We sat outside in the sun (because that's where you get to people watch and take in the nice atmosphere of the streets of Dublin). Our waitress was slightly abrupt and threw her eyes up at me on two occasions when I couldn't decide what I wanted but I shook it off as her on a bad day. Food was lovely, coffee was fab, and service fast and efficient. Great value for money, 4 coffees, a ciabatta, a bagel, juices and a croissant came to about €30, not cheap then we chose expensive items from the menu. I hope this place is here forever because it's my favourite cafe in Dublin, great location!

Metro Cafe

yummy84
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th May 2010 (visited 30 April 2010)

Lovely little spot to sit ouside and watch the world go by. Had lunch, it was ok, nothing spectacular. Coffee was good though.

Metro Cafe

Ndebele
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:42%

Reviewed 05th May 2010 (visited 5 May 2010)

I love this place for lunch. Had the leek and potato soup, which was on the special board today. It is a meal in itself and good value. Very tasty. Also a fan of the cheese and bacon toasty. Service is fast and efficient, relaxed atmosphere and food always good. A winner!

Metro Cafe

iheartnoodles
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th April 2010 (visited 4 April 2010)

Always come here with my boyfriend for late Breakfast, The metro special is really good, Coffee's perfect and O. J fresh. God bless the staff on a sunny day, they're always mobbed! Atmosphere very laid back, waiter are efficient and you can tell don't get paid to smile. Very cosy. Will be there in the near future.

Metro Cafe

yumi3
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th April 2010 (visited 16 April 2010)

Visited on Friday, it was packed with the sunny day. The staff were awful, we waited ages for menu's as they attended to all the tables around us ( even though the people had sat after us) before they came near us. We just had deserts and coffees, both coffees were awful and deserts dry. Will not be revisiting any time soon.....

Metro Cafe

Gluttony
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th February 2010 (visited 5 January 2010)

I like this place because its nice and cosy but I have to admit, I was a little disappointed with my food after ordering. I had a ciabatta but found it a bit on the dry side and kinda overpriced for what it was. Its nothing too amazing. Sometimes it can be jam packed. Its nice if youre a smoker as you can sit outside, or in the summer its a good spot. If you feel like a snack its good too because you can just order a scone or scrambled eggs on toast.

Metro Cafe

jan_gfm
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th December 2009 (visited 17 December 2009)

Really nice cosy spot for a post shopping coffee / snack to get in from the cold. Love the hot chocolate in here!! Didn't eat on this occassion but my friend did indulge in what she siad was a very tasty ham and cheese croissant..it certainly smelt good!!

Metro Cafe

sandrauws
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2009 (visited 21 November 2009)

I enjoyed the Metro cafe. The food and service was really good. Not great but very good. The coffee is a bit weak for my taste and I the place is a bit cramped.

Metro Cafe

lynlovescheese
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th November 2009 (visited 18 November 2009)

The food here is overpriced and not tasty. I ordered the warm bruschetta. What I got was a pile of garlic soaked tepid tomatoes on soggy toast. So disapointing

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4862 ]