Bear restaurant

35 South William Street, Dublin 2, South William Street, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
Steak

Price Range:


82 reviews
3 stars - based on 82 reviews
Bear

hungryhawk
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th June 2014 (visited 3 May 2014)

I have eaten here a couple of times and enjoyed it. The steaks are very flavoursome and seasoned perfectly (in particular I like the rump steak). The parmesan coated onion rings are also delicious. I recommend this place for groups of friends who want a good quality steak meal at a decent price.

Bear

lukefitz
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th May 2014 (visited 11 May 2014)

Great food, a little unhealthy but a nice treat to cure what ails you on a Sunday afternoon! Had a mammoth t-bone steak with the million dollar fries, portions enough to feed a small nation but I wasn't complaining, service was great but it was a little quiet, perhaps due to the time of day (early Sunday evening). Would return for sure, as there's a lot of mouthwatering prospects on the menu that I wish I'd had room to try!

Bear

mcgeeverc85323655
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th April 2014 (visited 29 April 2014)

I decided to bring my Husband for his birthday. It was lunchtime and we could immediately see there is a staffing issue. Less than half the tables were full, two staff available, both staff were looking like they were under pressure. There was no smiles or welcome. We were made wait for a table with no apology for the delay. I didn't mind waiting. The issue is this: staff are completely unmotivated. There is no conversation from the waitress when she took our order. Our food arrived, minute steak and 9oz sirloin with fries. Very underwhelming. The slaw is bitter. Paid the bill and no communication from the waitress at all at the till. Won't be recommending or returning to Bear. Really disappointed to have spent €40 on two steaks and slaw. No drinks. Felt upset that I had brought my husband their for his birthday.

Bear

robertbee7877380186
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th March 2014 (visited 19 February 2014)

was really looking forward to dinner here with my other half, as a friend recommended it, but left feeling confused and annoyed. its a big space which was quite loud, staff need to be trained in customer service as they were borderline rude. we ordered two steaks medium rare , one came medium well the other rare, sent one back 30mins wait for another, we nearly walked out no apology and charged full price.will we be back? I doubt it.

Bear

callinas
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 25th March 2014 (visited 5 March 2014)

Seemed to be a slow night and the service was a bit lazy. Steaks to share definitely best option to share. Presented cooked as ordered which is always a pleasant surprise when one orders steak! Menu a little restricted, even for a steak joint.

Bear

fgoulding
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th February 2014 (visited 16 January 2014)

We had high hopes for this restaurant but the service is really poor. The staff had a great knack of ignoring eye contact! Plus they seemed quite unfriendly. Maybe it was just a slow night and they were bored. When we did get served, the steak was good but not much more than you would find in a good pub. Also, the draught beer selection is spartan but the bottle based craft beers were great. I don't think we will return due to the service.

Bear

Dinerpip
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th February 2014 (visited 2 February 2014)

Went to Bear for Lunch last Sunday, food was good, got the steak sandwich which was nice and the homemade lemonade which was lovely but the service was atrocious, there were 2 floor staff on and we must have waited 15 mins to order. Also waited another 15 mins to be brought down a desert menu which never arrived. I wouldn't mind but there were only about 3 other tables occupied in the restaurant. Overall an ok experience. Food was good but service leaves a lot to be desired!

Bear

Jonas

5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd February 2014 (visited 25 January 2014)

Went here with hubby and another couple for a meal. We opted for the shared steak. The portion was huge and was cooked perfectly. We recieved a free bottle of procecco which we weren't expecting. Service was prompt and the waitress advised us on what to order. Glad we took her advice. Overall a great meal and we will be back.

Bear

spwofa
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th January 2014 (visited 25 January 2014)

Went to this place on Saturday night with hubby and two friends, and was very impressed! We booked online after hearing it was lovely, and were given a great table right by the window. As soon as we arrived we were told there was a complimentary bottle of Prosecco as Jamie Heislip had renewed his Leinster contract! We didn't order starters and went straight for mains which wer amazing! and the side orders are to die for...million dollar fries are a must...and selection of dips and sauces just top it all off. Yum! Also they do really nice lemonades (vodka optional) served in cool little jars...would definitely go back.

Bear

foreverfood
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd January 2014 (visited 19 November 2013)

Nice but not amazing. Food was so so accross the board, none of us were blown away. Service was fine also but nothing special, this place could and should do much better.

Bear

Kitten30
Dublin
60 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th January 2014 (visited 22 December 2013)

Enjoyed lunch here just before Christmas, Hubby had a steak sambo and I had the rosary steak. The lunch menu was good value and I really enjoyed my steak and fries, very tasty. Service was satisfactory. We sat in the window, people watching in the bad weather. All in all enjoyed the experience would like to come here for dinner some time.

Bear

Suc
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th December 2013 (visited 12 December 2013)

Was really looking forward to going here but was very disappointed. Service was poor and we were reminded 4 times that our table had to be vacated by 930. They were out of rib eye steak when we arrived. Steak we got was small and sides were not great. Steak was quite tasty but I have had better. Also quite pricey for what we got. Disappointing

Bear

*m*
Wexford
48 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th October 2013 (visited 3 October 2013)

Had heard great things about this restaurant so was dying to try it. We ordered our meal me the chicken and him the ribs but were not advised that they did not come with any sides. Having waited for 35 minutes as the chicken is cooked from scratch, we didn't feel like waiting an extra period of time for sides so decided to forego. Couldn't fault the meat, very tender and spicy but the restaurant lacked any atmosphere and the waiting staff gave the impression of being bored and couldn't wait to get us out. disappointed.

Bear

chelseagalway
Galway
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th October 2013 (visited 21 September 2013)

We walked in on a Saturday evening around 7 and had no trouble getting a table. I agree with previous comments about the noise level-I with with my OH and it's a big table to talk across. We had a sharing rib eye which was beautifully cooked, as we asked. We also shared fries

Bear

Mr Fig
Wicklow
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 14th September 2013 (visited 21 August 2013)

Have been here before and adored the place, Million Dollar fries and steaks had kicked ass! .......But, it's gone downhill, MDF raw, steaks nice, atmosphere dead....Me thinks they need to revamp or close as GB and Damson have passed them out..

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4815 ]