Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

MV Cill Airne, North Wall Quay, IFSC, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€€

84 reviews
4 stars - based on 84 reviews

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

Submit a review
Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th September 2010 (visited 11 September 2010)

My second visit here and I love it. On todays visit a friend took me for a birthday treat and we both really enjoyed it. The service was excellent and was smiling at all times. For starters we both chose the curried parsnip soup which was perfect. For mains I had an extremely tasty and tender fillet steak my companion opting for a fish dish which she enjoyed. Deserts were lovely in particular my berry tiramisu which came served in a cocktail glass. The atmosphere was buzzing here as there was a large party who were really getting into the mood of things. Being onboard a ship really gives this eatery a great uniqueness which further enhances ones dining experience. It is within a walking distance of Dublins city centre and is proximal to all the hotels on the quays in addition to the O2 venue. This eatery gives an overall excellent dining experience. My only gripe would be the fact that the deck door was left open a few times which caused a breeze. Visit here you will enjoy great food in a unique venue.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

sebawei
Dublin
84 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2010 (visited 10 September 2010)

For my 100th review, the chosen restaurant came in by surprise. We trekked across the city in the pouring rain hoping to get an early snack at the bar in the upper floor but the place was packed. The room downstairs seemed like a nice option too and we went for a-l-carte. The ham hock terrine was a pretty large portion,a bit too cold for my taste but good overall. The rump of lamb was excellent and it came accompanied by some lovely cheesy & garlic potatoes. Quay 16 certainly has one of the most atmospheric rooms in town and having enjoyed my meal, I would certainly recommend this place to friends and colleagues alike.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

lobster-lover
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th July 2010 (visited 2 July 2010)

I love boats, I had to go, yet I was not expecting much. I thought they'd have a fry 'em up pub-grub mentality. But no, this is good cooking. Dining from a set menu, the risotto was fantastic, I was more than happy. The steak (rib-eye) was good too & the coffee superb! (The sugar sticks served with it make you take sugar in your coffee even if you don't!) We had a lovely waiter, it's a great talking point, drinks on deck gives an interesting view of Dublin city & the new bridge makes it more accessible from the South-side, I recommend.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

oh!fortheloveoffood
Dublin
75 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th June 2010 (visited 17 June 2010)

With the sun shining out, the boat just lightly floating, this was one of the nicest meals I've eaten in Dublin. We decided to skip starters and went for the lamb rump and monkfish- both were delicious. The flavours were exquisite and neither of the things were overcooked or overpowered or anything. Along with that we had a beautiful French wine- Altidue 350 or something like that- the 2nd on their wine list and it was delicious- a very soft red, very intense flavours and extremely tasty. The service was impeccable and the dessert we shared- sticky ginger pudding was just the right amount of sugar, sweetness, stickiness we could have asked for. All in all, an excellent meal and I would certainly go back in a heartbeat.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

coquine
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd April 2010 (visited 6 February 2010)

went there with the bf have to say it a unique litttle experience eatin on a boat -felt a bit dizzy at some stage -but overhall food was lovely a bit pricey -

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

leinstefan
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th April 2010 (visited 12 March 2010)

met friends for drinks in bar first and then went and had dinner. usual friday night busy atmosphere, but dead in the restaurant. only one other table there eating. food good but overall bill very pricey. didnt like the fact you had to leave the restaurant to go to the toilets,. just as well there was no wind or rain as you have to go around the side of the boat. not sure if this is for me, could think of better restaurants for the same money,

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

mrmrssmyth
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd April 2010 (visited 10 February 2010)

5 of us went for dinner here in Feb. We had 2 x platters, 1/2 doz oysters to start for 49.50. The tiger prawns on the platters were in my opinion definitely off. Since we were entertaining we didnt make a fuss and left them to one side. The smoked salmon on the platter was good, the scallops were perfectly cooked. The oysters were great very fresh! The mains were lamb shank - Maurice cleared his plate, 2 x steaks very dried out with no flavour, seabass superb and surf (dried out - no flavour) and turf with one tiger prawn constituting 'surf' (nearly a relief it was only one after the platter!) the mains were 116.00 - so for starters and mains without a drink for 5 people the cost was 190.5 or 38.00 per head. For what we got it was way too expensive...the restaurant was empty although it was a wednesday night. Atmosphere was still good despite the lack of people and service was good from the waitress. Nick Cave overplayed on the sound system could have had us slitting our wrists after 3 plays of the same cd!

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

tryanythingonce
Antrim
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st February 2010 (visited 22 December 2009)

We had our staff party on the boat and there was app 80 of us. The night was very enjoyable, food excellent even more so due to the numbers and service was very good indeed. Unfortunately I had to leave early but the party was beginning to rock. I dont know what this would be like for a cozy meal for 2 as the dining room was very open, possibly adjusted due to our numbers, but I will try it again to find out

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

ccannon
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 19th February 2010 (visited 15 January 2010)

Its a nice venue but a little stuffy! Not really a place to relax and just 'enjoy' and evening.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

badabing
Dublin
112 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th September 2009 (visited 15 September 2009)

No complaints about the food, it was tasty, fairly priced and well presented. The boat is decorated to a very high standard and is very comfortable. it really is a pity about the atmosphere, because the night we visited there was none. what a pity because it could be a real romantic spot to go for a meal to.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

EVON47
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th August 2009 (visited 15 August 2009)

Went there with my husband to check out the restaurant as it is featured in the top 100 restaurant in Dublin and it is near where we live. The restaurant itself is very nice and different as it is in a boat. As we arrived at 1930 on a Saturday, there was not atmosphere as there were only 2 other couples there. The menu looks interesting but the actual food itself were very average. I has Dublin bay prawn cocktail and my husband had scallops and pork belly as starter. The scallops were cold! The main course (Turbot and Steak) were quite average too. The service though was good but because of the food, we will not going back again which is a shame as it was in a nice setting.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

kc.harper
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th June 2009 (visited 11 June 2009)

a novelty factor not to be repeated, fine for a drink as its a lovely setting but the food is so poor just basic pub grub and staff need urgent training if they want it to be a proper restaurant.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

jackdaniels

5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2009 (visited 12 June 2009)

There were about 30 of us, another large party of about 20 and some couples on board for dinner last Friday. I have to say that the staff weren't able to cope. The physical surroundings were quite nice but the attitude of the staff was poor. They were not there to please and seemed to be merely putting in the shift. The starter of soup was good and the desert of apple crumble was nice too. The main course of beef was not. There was a long delay on the vegetables side plates, so long in fact that those on the fish dish were almost finished their filets by this time. No apology either, only a grumpy 'it's coming'. Not impressed and won't be back.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

laurac
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th May 2009 (visited 27 May 2009)

went here for a birthday celebration with 5 friends. The food was delicious, much much nicer that i expected and the service was great too. the only issue really was the atmosphere. were were the only people in the restaurant. It was a wednesday night so maybe that was the reason. It was a little pricey too, but over all would definitely recommend ths place, we had a great night!

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

dinningontour
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th May 2009 (visited 23 May 2009)

What a great setting, sitting on the liffey for pre dinner drinks. Then we moved downstairs into the restaurant WOW. I had the scallops to start they were out of this world cooked to prefection and the Monkfish as a main which was great. The better half had millefeuille as a starter which i thought was different but she said was lovely. She had the duck as main which was beautiful. All in all a great night will be back. The boat looks like a great place for a sunny day which will be my next trip hopefully this weekend.

Restaurant response:
fake

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4937 ]