Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

MV Cill Airne, North Wall Quay, IFSC, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€€

84 reviews
4 stars - based on 84 reviews

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

Submit a review
Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

Happy Foodie
Dublin
100 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th January 2014 (visited 9 January 2014)

We had the early bird and I felt it was a little restricting. Very little room for change on it. The desert was very nice. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I would try the a la carte the next time. Too little variety on the set menu.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

byrno21
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th January 2014 (visited 8 January 2014)

Really nice and different experience. Two waitresses were exceptional and really nice and efficient. Very good value for money was on a deal rush voucher.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

Ellamc1

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd November 2013 (visited 1 November 2013)

We had a very enjoyable pre theatre dinner on the Cill Airne before heading to the O2 for Billy Joel. Menu is good value @ E23 and service is friendly, efficient and obviously geared towards getting diners out in time for their shows. This experience was made even more enjoyable for us as the Cill Airne was based in our hometown of Cobh for many years.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

SheilaOC
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th September 2013 (visited 3 September 2013)

We had the early bird menu and I cannot talk too highly of both the quality of the food and the value. We had the catch of the day which was seabass and it was cooked to perfection. Also their dessert of Hazelnut macroons with deep fried banoffee icecream was a perfect end to a wonderful meal. Can't wait to go back.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

fair critic
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th December 2012 (visited 15 December 2012)

Had a really nice evening @ Quay 16. The décor of the boat is absolutely amazing inside. Nicely laid out and spacious. Pity about the tacky neon sign on top of the boat, absolutely ruins the boats' class prestige. Staff were welcoming and service was efficient. We had a table for four and it was spaced evenly between the tables either side. The pre theatre menu is excellent value. Simple food done well. Great choice for people of all tastes. I will definitely be back

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

Sabrie78
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 11th December 2012 (visited 10 December 2012)

Spent a cold crisp December evening here with my mother and sister before heading to see Lionel Richie in the O2 arena, went for the 2 course menu and it did not disappoint, had the duck and rice spring rolls for starter, delicious and the steak for mains, asked for medium well and that's exactly what I got, some places fall down with this as it's either medium rare or well done, but the guys in Quay 16 were on the money.. Would recommend this for any party big or small or even a special occasion, the staff were tremendous and courteous too. two thumbs up :)

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

Babyblue1026
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th November 2012 (visited 19 November 2012)

Here with 6 friends for dinner last night , the restaurant was empty , so we had it all for ourself . The birthday girl was welcome and we all had a great time there. The food and atmosphere was top class. We had smoked salmon

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

DubDude
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th August 2012 (visited 18 August 2012)

I wasn't expecting much from a restaurant on a boat but this was exceptional. They do a pre theatre menu of 2 courses for €20 and three courses for €25. I had a starter of figs stuffed with goats cheese wrapped in parma ham, my partner had the soup of the day which was leek and potato soup (huge bowl) and a warm bread roll. For mains, my partner had the fillet steak (supplement of €7 for this) and mash. The menu describes the steak with onion and champ but at my partner's request, it was no problem for them to serve the dish without any onion which he was thrilled about. I had the chicken tagine with lemon cous cous. This was stunning. A chicken fillet smothered in a delicious sweet spicy sauce served in an individual copper pot was accompanied by a serving of cous cous in an indivudual sized copper saucepan and a side of yoghurt. We also received sides of sauted potatoes and carrot puree which were good too but the main meal was more than adequate. With a bottle of Pinot Grigio (€25) the bill came to €72. The waiting staff are lovely, the surroundings are nautical as expected and the toilets are spotless. With it's location just across Samuel Beckett bridge to the Grand Canal Theatre it's ideal for a pre theatre meal and exceptional value. My only tiniest little moan would be that they choose more appropriate dining music for the restaurant.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

JacksonB
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th January 2012 (visited 11 January 2012)

In spite of being a little late for our booking we were left in peace to have a glass of wine at the bar before going to our table. The menu offered two courses for €20 so my friend chose sea trout and I went for the fillet steak (which set me back an extra €7) The trout looked perfectly cooked and came with pureed swede (which I swiped most of - beautiful!) and potatoes. My steak was tender and cooked as required, but the bed of mash it was resting on was dried up and unattractive. We shared an good selection of cheese for dessert. The service was very friendly but dwindled halfway through the evening as a party of thirty other diners absorbed all the attention of the staff. The unusual setting of the restaurant makes it worth a visit, but it seems to be more geared towards large groups than couples.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

woodbyrr
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th December 2011 (visited 27 October 2011)

went here for a quick mid week bite with a friend, the atmosphere is very nice in this unique setting. the service was wonderful and the food very pleasing - good range of choice. I would go again and always enjoy the place

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

Keozer
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th September 2011 (visited 24 September 2011)

Dined here with 11 others. We booked the early bird €20 for 2 courses / €25 for 3 course. Service was excellent. Wasn't too gone on starter, pea soup with smoked chicken,but main of cornfed chicken was delicious as was forest fruit cheesecake. Everyone was impressed with meal and surroundings. A great sucess. We had agreed to vacate our tables by 7:30 and when we were still there at 7:50 (enjoying company too much to notice time) we were very politely reminded. We moved upstairs to bar and stayed onboard for several hours.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

skakid
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th July 2011 (visited 4 June 2011)

although the food was enjoyable, unfortunatly the service was not. we ate in the bistro, and had to order food from the barman. then we were left sitting with the dirty plates from starters sitting there for over half an hour. eventually when someone did clear them, the reason was that they forgot we were having a main course too. by the time we got our main, you could tell it had been sitting for a long time. the starters were lovely, especially the chicken wings, the chicken ceasar salad would do as a main in itself. but unfortunatly no atmosphere and i couldn't wait to leave.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

POMPONA
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th January 2011 (visited 29 January 2011)

Saturday night, lovely relaxed athmosphere, it was romantic and the experience was very special... the only let down was the food, very ordinary, not special, it did not wow us, the menu is very short... the coffee was nice and the waiters were lovely too.

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

hearsay08721
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th October 2010 (visited 16 October 2010)

Wow..a hidden gem went there on sat night very friendly staff great atmosphere and then the food the steak was prob the best ive had in dublin..the onions rings were made fresh not the usual frozen ones..my other friends all said one of the best meals they have had in dublin as fore value for money it is up there with the best of them thanks again well def be back..

Quay 16 Restaurant @ MV Cill Airne

niamhmurphy
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th October 2010 (visited 11 September 2010)

Went here with a party of 20, so we were on a set menu. While the goats cheese salad for starter was lovely, the main course of pork steak was really awful. It was completely dried out and devoid of any flavour. The desert was also a huge disappointment, i had the pavlova which was so rock hard I couldn't even break it with my fork. With a couple of glasses of wine the final bill was €50 per head which given the unsatisfactory food was really far to much. Overall the setting is lovely but the food just isn't up to scratch.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4853 ]