The GreenHouse restaurant

Dawson Street, Dublin City Centre, Dawson Street, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Fine Dining

Price Range:

€€€€€

29 reviews
4 stars - based on 29 reviews

The GreenHouse

Submit a review
The GreenHouse

hughie
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd February 2014 (visited 28 January 2014)

I went here for a birthday celebration. I was really looking forward to it but it failed to inspire me to go back. The food was good but service really let them down. Dishes were rushed out so much so that we had not finished our appetizers and our starters were sitting in front of us. We had to tell them to slow down. The staff lacked attention to detail. They didn't clear the table of breadcrumbs or bread. I had to wait for my empty glass of wine to be filled up, it felt like the staff were rushing to go home and tired. Very disappointing. The fact that it was a Tuesday night and very quiet in the restaurant they should have been all over us. I don't think I would go back. :(

The GreenHouse

skeff
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:50%

Reviewed 11th July 2013 (visited 31 May 2013)

This is a fantastic fine dining restaurant where the food is exceptional and the price for lunch is an absolute bargain at €30 for 3 courses or €25 for two. You won’t get this quality at this price anywhere else in Dublin, go soon before it gets a Michelin star and the price goes up.

The GreenHouse

einstein

74 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th June 2013 (visited 7 June 2013)

Four of us went and all were delighted with the meal and the restaurant. Excellent staff and a warm greeting on the way in. Wine selection is very good and costs from 30 Euro upwards. Great selection of nibbles to start , very tasty, we all had the three course meal which costs around 62 Euro. I thought it would be an expensive night and it was but worth it, probably one of the best meals any of us have eaten. We were there for just under four hours and it seemed like two, that's a sign of a good night. Would recommend it for the great food and the staff .

The GreenHouse

Southsidefoodie

13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th May 2013 (visited 4 May 2013)

Great food and great service. Food was visually stunning and extremely tasty. Atmosphere lacks somewhat, slightly soulless!! However..I will go back!!

The GreenHouse

tazzer

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd April 2013 (visited 17 March 2013)

Having received a voucher for a Christmas present, myself and hubbie decided to go here for an early dinner. WE had the surprise tasting menu with matching wines. (after being persuaded by our waiter, as we originally wanted the 7 course) . WOW is all I can say - it was a great suggestion! The presentation of the food is simply superb. The flavours, the pairing of wines, the unusual pairing of foods...just made our night. On the downside, It is quite expensive as it does not have a Michelin Star (YET!) but it is a place for a special occasion, and we will definitely go back again, maybe for the set menu rather than the tasting to see how different they are.

The GreenHouse

fryan
Louth
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th November 2012 (visited 16 November 2012)

Over the past number of years, my wife and I have had the pleasure of dining in all of the Michelin starred restaurants in Ireland and, bar a few poor performances, most have been extremely pleasurable experiences and some, extremely memorable ones. None matched the level of flavour and of skill presented in The Greenhouse when we visited for lunch this week. We chose the 3 course set lunch menu which offers 2 choices for each course. The meal started with an amouse bouche of a mushroom sabayon in a choux pastry ball. As the only minor criticism of the meal, perhaps the intensity of the mushroom flavour in the sabayon could be improved. The starters consisted of a raviolo of smoked potato and egg yolk with parmesan and a terrine of chicken and foie gras. Both were exceptional dishes and left us anticipating the mains. We both chose the roast haunch of sika deer for our main. This was served medium and came with an intensely flavoured bolognese, parsnip, fig and onion with a delicious black truffle puree. This was possibly one of the nicest dishes I have tasted in any restaurant both here and abroad. The passion fruit soufflé with passion fruit sorbet was again one of the finest deserts I have ever tasted with an intense passion fruit flavour in a lighter than light soufflé. On finishing our meal we were in no doubt that this was the best meal we have had in Ireland and close to the best meal we have ever had. Shame on the Michelin assessor that deemed this restaurant undeserving of a Michelin star. In my opinion, with a more extensive and interesting wine list, this restaurant would jump straight to 2 stars. The Greenhouse has raised the bar for fine dining in Dublin and I look forward to my next visit when I will have the time to order the 5 or 7 course tasting menu. Lunch for 2 with 3 glasses of wine and 1 coffee came to €94 without service.

The GreenHouse

Daisy2010
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th November 2012 (visited 10 November 2012)

I brought my husband here on Saturday for a birthday lunch and we had the 5 course surprise menu. Every dish that came out was magnificent, full of flavour and imagination. All you had to do was look around at other tables and everyone was speechless after tasting their dish. The soufflé was the best dessert I've ever tasted. The service was fantastic too. Cannot recommend this enough. We'll definitely be back.

The GreenHouse

Fergster
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th November 2012 (visited 10 November 2012)

Could not speak highly enough of this place. From entrance at 6.30pm to leaving at 10.30pm I had one of the best meals I've had in Ireland, and an experience to boot. Our table of five went for the 7 courses with matching wines. It felt like 10 courses with all the extras (bread was superb, as were petit fours). It's difficult to pick out a favourite course, but the deer, as well as the chocolate desert, probably shade it. Don’t worry about stuffing yourself either; the whole party left feeling perfectly satiated. Special word for the sommelier also, who was informative, and in no way as pretentious as some can be, answering all questions with grace. Each wine was immaculate – one cider(ish), 2 whites, 2 reds, and 2 desert wines. If I had one fault, I guess the service could be at once more friendly and also more clean cut. I felt they intruded our conversation to tell us about the food, rather than wait for a natural break in conversation. However, overall the service was as you would expect from a 5 star restaurant, so certainly nothing to keep you away. Perhaps it’s me attempting to find some fault. €140 each, and an immensely pleasurable experience. Perfect for a special night out.

The GreenHouse

pipibaobao
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th November 2012 (visited 22 September 2012)

Went there for a company event, with 4 other guests. I would describe it as good, a bit away from excellent though. Well, the food was really nice(though the choices are really limited, just 2 mains and 2 starts, I would imagine at least 3 as a qualified menu), the service was swift(though not passionate, they seemed quite business manner), lastly, the price. I think the food itself deserve a decent price, however, back to the choices, it is somewhat strange if you just have 2 choices.

The GreenHouse

bimlico
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd October 2012 (visited 18 October 2012)

Went to The Greenhouse for lunch on account of the fact that they had won the 2013 Georgina Campbell restaurant of the year award. This seemed strange seeing as it is still only October 2012. Maybe that's somethings restaurant critics do but what happens if they go out of business in December?? Anyway, we opted for the 3 course lunch which is not cheap at €30 especially as there is only a choice of 2 starters and 2 main courses. A bit mean in my opinion. Of the two starters, one was consomme which in my opinion is not a universal favourite and certainly not one of mine. So we both opted for the alternative started which was a risotto. We both opted for the risotto which was very tasty but the portion was tiny. Mains were a choice of a chicken dish or haddock. However the haddock was served in a broth and I hate that. I just don't get the idea of serving fish in a broth. I think it kills the flavour of the fish. Again, we both opted for the chicken dish which which was served on a slate. Very fashionable these days. The chicken tasted really nice and the presentation was excellent but the portions were once again tiny. I thought we had killed off nouvelle cuisine but clearly I am wrong. This was nouvelle at it's best. It was like eating little works of art but I wouldn't want to bring a hungry rugby team here. The desserts (again a choice of only two) were chocolate tart or a souffle which took an extra 15 minutes to make. Once again we both took the same option and went for the tart. The cheapest wine here is €30 and with a bottle of sparkling water and coffees afterwards it brought our lunch bill to €107. Add on 10% for service and that makes for a very heavy lunch bill and believe me we weren't exactly sated. Whoever runs this restaurant has not realised there is a recession on here and they need to take a look at the value for money (lack of) that's on offer. A choice of just two dishes for starters, mains and desserts is just too mean. Very expensive.

The GreenHouse

ckfoodfan
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th July 2012 (visited 19 June 2012)

Went here for the 5 course lunch. It was pretty amazing. What really made it for us was the excellent service. The rustic dishes were packed with flavour and looked fantastic. I've eaten in many fine dining restaurants, including Michelin starred ones, and The Greenhouse was definitely competition for my number one spot.

The GreenHouse

gourmandise
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th June 2012 (visited 18 May 2012)

Went for the 7 course tasting menu with matching wines. Every course was perfectly balanced and the wine matches were superb. The food here is absolutely the best I have ever had in Ireland. Service could do with sharpening up but that's a minor quibble..I'm already planning a return visit.

The GreenHouse

hotfoodie
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th May 2012 (visited 29 May 2012)

Went for the 5 course option with matching wines. Very enjoyable meal and the bread was very nice, particularly enjoyed how it was kept warm in a bag filled with heated cherry stones. This ranks as one of the finest meals I have ever had. An unrushed experience was also great (I entered the restaurant at 7pm and didn't leave until after 10pm!) as many places seem to rush single diners. I got chatting to a couple beside me which enhanced the dining experience. There are very few restaurants offering this type of cuisine and I will certainly be coming back for more. One slight quibble, I couldn't have the 7 course menu which I wanted as there was foie gras (which I dislike) and salmon included in two of the courses on this menu. I think the chef should consider a choice of options (not everyone likes foie gras and salmon) so that more people can enjoy the 7 course menu.

The GreenHouse

rpow
Dublin
56 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 13 April 2012)

This was by far one of the best meals I have had in Dublin in a long time, and extremely good value for what you get. The three course in fact feels like seven! Wonderfully fresh, unimposing food despite some flashy sounding ingredients. Not to mention great service, a fresh, airy dining room and some of the finest bread I have had! Well worth the visit.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4691 ]