Cafe en Seine restaurant

39 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Dawson Street, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:


114 reviews
4 stars - based on 114 reviews

Cafe en Seine

Submit a review
Cafe en Seine

TGIRL
Dublin
39 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th August 2013 (visited 18 August 2013)

Had lunch here one Sunday , food was good but nothing special,good jazz band playing ,gave a nice atmosphere. Went for drinks here @ night great buzz [very busy] but no problem getting served, have been back for drinks a couple of times. Beautiful decor and a fabulous setting in the heart of the city centre.

Cafe en Seine

clco
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th March 2013 (visited 5 March 2013)

We ate here on Tuesday evening. It was my first time to visit the place. The menu had 2 courses for 19.95 which I thought was quite reasonable. I had the crabmeat and avocado for starter. The portion size was generous and it tasted fabulous. For main course, I had the Stuffed roast chicken with feta cheese, basil & tomato, couscous,& slow-roasted vegetable salad The only fault I had was that there could have been more couscous on the plate. It was delicious. I would definitely recommend eating here. The service was very friendly too which is nice to find in the city centre.

Cafe en Seine

ellebi
Tipperary
59 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd December 2012 (visited 1 December 2012)

This place is lovely, so christmassy, snug, warm and decor is beautiful. Will definly come back here again and the food is so well priced and the Arrabiata pasta I got was the nicest I ever tasted.

Cafe en Seine

Ciaradrew
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd May 2012 (visited 29 March 2012)

I ate from the cafe en seine "dine in dublin" menu. It was great value. Perfectly located while visiting Dublin city centre. Although cafe en seine is a bar, the dining area is nicely tucked away managing to create an nice intimate atmosphere and there is also the option to stay on for a drink after your meal. The service was good and the manager came by to check everything was ok. The food was lovely, the only complaint would be that the main course I ordered, chicken breast on a bed of roasted, wasn't served with a side dish.

Cafe en Seine

grublover86
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2012 (visited 3 April 2012)

Food , service and cocktails are excellent, will certainly be back:)

Cafe en Seine

Mark Monaghan
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2012 (visited 15 April 2012)

visited cafe en sienne by accident recently, we had hoped to go to a different restaurant on Dawson Street but my other half insisted I try out Cafe en Sienne as she eats there regularly. I have to say i thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Food and service were excellent- will definitely be back.

Cafe en Seine

hothouse
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd March 2012 (visited 16 March 2012)

Have been to Cafe en Seine several times for drinks, but last time was my first time eating there. There was a big group - about 25 so we had a whole section which was lovely. The music was really good, but not too loud so everyone could talk to each other. We had a set menu - the starters of goats cheese was delish, and the chicken dish (i never order chicken) was surprisingly tasty. The only disappointment really was the desert - I had the chocolate roulade but it looked, and tasted, more like a cheap vienna roll. All in all a good night.

Cafe en Seine

Popsicle
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th February 2012 (visited 22 February 2012)

Love this place, especially on a week night when it's not too crowded. The decor is spectacular and it has a lovely atmosphere. In the past it's two weaknesses were always the food (which wasn't good) and the service (the staff appeared to have been specially trained to avoid catching your eye). Both these seem to have been remedied if my recent visit was anything to by. The food was very nice, and a decent selection starters, side orders and mains. But it was the service that was the real change. Admittedly we may have just got the best waiter in the place, but he was terrific - friendly, helpful and quick to both bring our orders and notice if we looked like we needed anything else. We were also very impressed with the manager on the night, who was equally on the ball. When we had a small complaint (about portion size) he sorted it immediately without any quibbling and also gave us two free side orders to make up for it (which we couldn't eat as it was too much food in the end). And did I mention the cocktails are €5 Sunday to Thursday? All in all very impressive, will definitely be going back again soon.

Cafe en Seine

healthyfoodie28
Dublin
83 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th January 2012 (visited 14 January 2012)

Visited on a Saturday at lunch time. The atmosphere in Cafe en Seine is fantastic - decor is so unusual and there's a great feeling of space, and it's a very relaxed place during the daytime. I had soup and my friend had chowder. My soup was pretty nice and my friend was happy with her chowder. The staff were friendly but we had to wait for ages to catch someone's attention to get the bill which was a bit frustrating. Overall this place is a great, relaxing place to while away some time and I'm very likely to be back.

Cafe en Seine

00shaz00
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th October 2011 (visited 25 October 2011)

Came here, with a friend of mine last night, it was a really bad night out cold and wet the traffic was crazy So we decide to stay in town for some thing to eat, and picked café en sein. I was sorry I just did not get in my car and sit in the traffic I had a really bad experience. From the time we went in the door I just felt out of place, we walked in and I seen a women who I taught was A mangement standing by were they sell there cakes, and said “could I please have a table for 2 for dinner” She looked at me with a grin and said “it’s not a restaurant you can sit any where, the place is big enough” And just turned and walked away and giggled to her self. Eventually we got a table, we ordered an antai pasti between because my friend said she had it here before and it was wonderful Well it was not this time the hummus was tasteless the bread was not even warm the olives were cheap I would get nicer in any supermarket. Then I had the lamb shank, it looked like some thing that I would get on a carvery, but didn’t even taste as good To be honest I don’t think it was cooked enough very tough. I didn’t have a dessert as I could not wait to get out of the place I was still annoyed from the way we were treated when we arrived so we Skipped dessert, the table close to us got 2 and they looked pretty nice.

Cafe en Seine

basilchick01
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2011 (visited 11 October 2011)

Went in for a quick lunch with some work colleagues. Really love the décor here. They had a nice selection of sandwiches and a small lunch menu. Very tasty if somewhat a bit slow. A nice place to linger in the city if you have time.

Cafe en Seine

laurav1982
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2011 (visited 23 August 2011)

I went here for the first time today and everyone knows by now the decor is lovely. our service, as not. she was very pleasant but it must have been her first day because she seemed very shy ; speaking so quietly we had to lean in to hear her or ask her to repeate herself, she didn't know the soup or the ice cream of the day, she forgot our chips and we had to ask for our bill twice. she wasnt the only one though ; another waitress took our glasses before we were done our drinks TWICE,a male waiter was as timid as the first girl and the guy who brought our desserts, cupped the entire rim of my glass with his hand to move it....i have to drink from there, thanks. my date had a steak which he said was too fatty (and for 15 euro should really have come with aside aside from 6 green beans) and i had the seafood chowder with chips ; nothing else on the menu jumped out at me. the food was fine. for dessert he had ice cream (they only had vanilla - or so the waitress said - then again she said 'i think we have just vanilla cos that's the most popular one') and i had the brownie. it was a bit dry but without ice cream on the side, most brownies are. our bill was around 50 euro as i also had a sparkling water and soda and my date had a jucie and coffee. btw cocktails are 5.50 sun-thurs and 8.50 otherwise. the atmosphere was ok but i was expecting more and the food wasnt as good as it should have been (chowder shouldnt be watery). i might return for an after dinner coffee but that's it. the service really threw me off.

Restaurant response:
Hi Elle, First of all thank you for taking the time to post - all feedback is appreciated here. I apologise for the poor showing on the night, especially disappointing as we had only been receiving good reviews lately. No excuses however and we must always work to improve. I would hate for you to think that this is the norm however, so if I could persuade you and your date to return to give us another shot please call me on 01 677 4567 or mail info@cafeenseine.ie. I promise we will do better and put on a good show for you. Kind regards, Johnny Melia Operations Manager

Cafe en Seine

12knocksinna
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th September 2011 (visited 2 September 2011)

We ate in Cafe en Seine for lunch. The service was attentive and brought chilled water without being prompted. The sandwich and siup combination was tasty (potato and leek soup) and served reasonably quickly. We spent the short time waiting watching the flow of people in and out of the pub - always an interesting sport. Apart from the good food and service, Cafe en Seine is a nice place to visit because of its large floor area and many interesting nooks, all of which makes it easy to find a comfortable place to sit.

Restaurant response:
Hi, Thanks a lot for taking the time to review us - we greatly appreciate all feedback. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and hope that we can welcome you back again soon. We are making renewed efforts to improve our soups especially at the moment and are coming up with new and exciting varieties, as well as the classics. Thanks again for the kind words. Johnny Melia, Operations Manager

Cafe en Seine

tall paul
Meath
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2011 (visited 1 September 2011)

came here for some drinks wit friends. the decor is fab. you feel like your in paris! great spot!

Restaurant response:
Hi Paul, Thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself and hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Johnny Melia, Operations Manager

Cafe en Seine

Quincy Quinn
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2011 (visited 27 August 2011)

I had bought a deal on Living and Social a long time ago when they were promoting the opening of their Kitchen. 2 starters and mains for €53. Have to say from start to finish it was excellent. I had the Foie Gras to start. Very generous portion, good quality but I have eaten better. Had the stake for the main course and it was excellent. Afew more onion rings could have been done. Had afew cocktails when we got there and they were of a good standard and only €5-great value. The service was tip-top and the home made breads we bought from the bar menue while waiting for the kitchen to open were very nice-good job. The fish bought by my brother and sister was middle of the road. My moms chicken was lovely. Atmosphere in here is always great and they try to reflect this in the food presentation which is wonderfull.

Restaurant response:
Hi Quincy, Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We take all feedback very seriously here and I will bring up your suggestions with our Chef and kitchen team. I hope we can welcome you back again soon, either for dinner, cocktails or ideally both! Kind regards, Johnny Melia, Operations Manager

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5037 ]