WILDE restaurant

The Westbury, Grafton Street, Dublin 2, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€€

91 reviews
4 stars - based on 91 reviews
WILDE

Missy1986
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th October 2011 (visited 13 October 2011)

Visited for a friends birthday. We were presented with some duck mousse as an appetiser, only after ordering our starter. Unfortunately my dining partner had already ordered the duck for starter so it was a pity that they couldn't have provided something. Anyway, that was a small thing. Had scallops which I felt were a bit rubbery. The duck went down a treat with us as an appetiser and starter. We both had steak for mains and ordered sides- baby potatoes and creamed spinach. The steak was lovely, cooked so well. The creamed spinach was divine. However the baby potatoes were uncooked though (I will say UNcooked because they were rock hard). I dont understand how a restaurant can get so much right and this seemingly minor thing to be overlooked! When I mentioned this to the waiter he was very apologetic and offered us new ones but we had almost finished our main courses so it wasnt worth it. I had an amazing chocolate cointreu mousse for dessert and my partner had a raspberry and cream sable dessert which was presented really well. We were also presented with petit fours with our coffee which i presume was because we complained about the potatoes. They knocked the price of the pots off the bill in the end, and the price was ok. But the atmosphere was terrible! There were about 3-4 occupied tables in the whole restaurant which is huge! Felt like i was in a fishbowl (which isnt really the fault of the waiters, they were great). I wouldn't be in a huge rush back :(

WILDE

Kaz938
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th September 2011 (visited 9 September 2011)

This place is a fantastic hidden gem! I've walked past it what must be hundreds of times and never realised what a gorgeous restaurant it is inside. Lovely atmosphere - great buzz to the place, but not too busy, and a lovely rustic feel to the decor.

WILDE

julsh
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2011 (visited 20 August 2011)

I was taken to this restaurant as a treat for my birthday and based on the great service we received it is the type of place that really feels like a treat! I liked everything about this place but the only downside was that not all dishes lived up to the high expectations I had. I had the lobster bisque to start, which was amazing, but for my main my john dorey seemed a little bit overdone and tough. While my desert was tasty, it wasn't really what I expected as the cheesecake aspect wasn't cheesecake but more of a flavoured cheese. Overall a good experience.

WILDE

Twillix
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd August 2011 (visited 28 July 2011)

I went here for my Mothers 60th birthday. The staff were excellent, I have never had service like it. The room is stunning and the presentation of the food was amazing. I am sorry to say the only thing that was less than perfect was the food. I was expecting amazing and it was only ok (presentaion aside) my steak was over cooked and some of the others choices were a little bland. Over all a very pleasant experience but I dont think I will be back

WILDE

Dippy
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th March 2011 (visited 24 March 2011)

Came here last week during dine in Dublin. Great location and got seated in a lovely area beside window. got the duck terrine to star. Didn't really enjoy it. However my mains of pork belly was lovely the truffle mash tasted delicious. I loved the tiramasu as well. However most of the pary ordered steaks and nobody's was cooked they way they had been ordered. Also service was very poor. had to leave seat twice to find a waiter to see where my drink was. Very annoying. Waited ages at end to get bill as well. Set menu value was okay but couldn't find a bottle of wine on menu for less less than 30euro.

WILDE

balloonhead
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th March 2011 (visited 25 March 2011)

Dined here last week with a group of eight. We were initially impressed with the service and attention to detail but throughout the dinner the service seriously disimproved. We had to wait a half an hour to ask for the bill, numerous drinks were forgotten about and the tea/coffee included in our menu was never brought. Starters and desserts were very tasty and presented but my main course of rib-eye steak was over cooked and very fatty. A number of us at the table ordered the steak and we were each given the wrong steak with the waiter unsure of which steak was well done/medium etc. Overall it was an enjoyable evening due to the location and atmosphere but service and main courses let the restaurant down.

WILDE

Eating all
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2011 (visited 5 March 2011)

Dined here last saturday evening with a party of 6 @ 7.30pm. Very few in restaurant but some more patrons arrived later in the evening, Overall the food was of a high standard but the prices quite high nontheless ! There were too many waiters tending our table which eventually had a nuisance effect.

WILDE

mollyl
Dublin
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th January 2011 (visited 26 November 2010)

I treated my boyfriend to a birthday dinner here. Enjoyed everything about this place. Service was fantastic, very professional and staff were very friendly and helpfull. Starters were lovely, we had the prawn cocktail and the chicken terraine. We oredered the 30oz steak for two and while we waited the waiter brought us complimentry sorbets. Steak was very tender and cooked to perfection. Unfortunately we were way too full for dessert but will be an excuse for us to go back. Our bill which also included a bottle of wine was €125 and for the quality of our experience it was well worth it. Would definitely reccommend this place for a special occasion.

WILDE

allhailhomer
Dublin
92 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2011 (visited 11 December 2010)

Held a girlie pre-Christmas night out here. It was very quiet to begin with but thankfully the atmosphere improved as the night went on. Thanks to menu pages we had a voucher for a complimentary bottle of wine. It would have been quite pricey had we not had this. The set menu was slightly limited for my liking but everyone thoroughly enjoyed each of their courses, topped off with mince pies. The set menu was a little on the expensive side since I choose soup and pasta but I could have chosen fois gras and steak so that was my choice. It was worth it for the quality of food and the lovely surroundings.

WILDE

kymks
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 8 January 2011)

had a girls lunch upstairs in the main lobby fabulous champagne lunch for 30euro so much cakes and food we had to bring some home! service was excellent. nice for a treat.

WILDE

fitzpap
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th December 2010 (visited 17 December 2010)

Ate here with my husband the Friday night before Christmas, was very disapointed. The table was booked for 6:30pm but we were late and didn't arrive until 7pm, we were told by the rudest restaurant manager that we would have to be off the table by 8:30pm so we needed to order quickly, even tough the restaurant was empty! The food was only average it was a set Christmas menu. I got the peasant which was so tough I needed a steak knife to cut through it! There was a 12.5% service charge so there was alot of waiters standing around chating and doing nothing and were not very interested in serving food. The bill was thrown at us at 8:20pm even though the delays with the food were due to poor service. Wouldn't recommend it, a very bad atmosphere in the restaurant, won't be back.

WILDE

sinead.otoole08
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th December 2010 (visited 27 November 2010)

I took my partner here as a treat and used up my menu points earned. I got a 3 course meal for 3000 menu points. We started with fresh baked bread with dressed olive oils for dipping. We ordered a bottle of Chilean Chardonnay which was slow to start but when it did, it was fab! The selection was very good and saying that, we both chose the same starter. Crab and prawn cocktail. It was absolutely stunning. So light, fresh and crispy! For mains I chose the 6oz steak and my partner went for the slow belly roast pork. Both were beautifully cooked and incredibly scrumptious. Good portions too. We both were too full to have a desert each, so we shared a creme brulee. It was surprisingly light and was a perfect ending to a rather splendid dining experience. We will definitely be back. The service was very professional and added such class. The total bill, inc the discount voucher and drinks, came to EUR79.00.

Restaurant response:
Re the wine. I meant to say it was slow to arrive, but when it did, it was worth the wait.

WILDE

sallygrif
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th November 2010 (visited 6 November 2010)

The Restaurant is well laid out and beautifully decorated. There is plenty of room between tables unlike most of the city centre bistro type restaurants. he staff are friendly and hepful. The food is really good and I couldn't recommend this highly enough. One of my favourites.

WILDE

Ohjustpeachy
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th November 2010 (visited 29 October 2010)

Chose this restaurant as a treat and thanks to the menupages voucher only paid for one of the two three-course meals (€40 choice menu). Wilde's would be outside my pricing comfort zone normally (without the voucher would have cost €140 for two - bottle of wine, two 3-course menus, two liqueurs & tip) but I must admit the great service and great food didn't let us down atall so what set out to be a treat was exactly that! The goats cheese tart was light and tasty; the pea soup was warming and creamy. The pork belly was crispy and tender, the seabreem was delicate & creamy (thanks to the creamed leeks) and the small pieces of chorizo added greatly to the taste. The wilde tiramisu was very airy but a little too cream-laden, the lime tart was tart without being bitter. The service was attentive but not ott and we felt comfortable eventhough there was only one other diner! As a treat this restaurant delivers but in comparison to other city centre eateries in my opinion it's somewhat overpriced.

WILDE

gypsy79
Dublin
64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2010 (visited 2 November 2010)

Ate here for a birthday celebrations last night and also a availed of the superb offer of one free choice menu Food was OK. I had the soup which was very good and very creamy. Followed up with steak which was so so.and lime tart to finish. the vegetarian courses looke dvery appetising Had a bottle of French merlot which was superb Think it would be very expensive if it were not for the offer. Better food around at cheaper prices but still very enjoyable

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4991 ]