The Counter Suffolk Street restaurant

20 Suffolk Street, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
American

Price Range:

€€

53 reviews
4 stars - based on 53 reviews

The Counter Suffolk Street

Submit a review
The Counter Suffolk Street

albie
Dublin
52 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:70%

Reviewed 16th October 2011 (visited 14 October 2011)

I went to the counter burger for lunch with friends. We all went for the lunch special which was really good value. The burger and chips were very good, the staff were very pleasant too. I would recommend for lunch.

The Counter Suffolk Street

coco
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th September 2011 (visited 19 August 2011)

First time eating in the Suffolk street restaurant as usually go to Dundrum but wasn't disappointed.. had the wings as usual and they are definitely the nicest I've ever had. Love the half fries half onion rings with the ranch and bbq dip.. the stuff that hangover dreams are made of.

The Counter Suffolk Street

neiller30

34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th August 2011 (visited 20 August 2011)

Heard great things about this place so I went last Saturday with my girlfriend. You can't help but be spoiled for choice. The amount of burgers you can make is unreal. If you go with someone, a side portion of chips will be enough for 2. We both got the Garlic, parmesan and rosemary fries, but we only got through half each. The burgers are amazing. I had the chicken, with coleslaw, bacon, spring onion, cucumber and garlic mayo. They do a proper pint as well.

The Counter Suffolk Street

Puscan
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th August 2011 (visited 1 August 2011)

Have to admit, I love this place. It is a bit pricey but I've returned again and again since it opened on Suffolk Street. The restaurant itself isn't the most relaxed of places and I find the fact that they take your plate the second you're finished eating, regardless if your company are still eating very off-putting. But not off putting enough to not go back.

The Counter Suffolk Street

Smithfield
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th July 2011 (visited 23 July 2011)

This is a little expensive for what your getting, burger and chips... but gourmet burger and chips still shouldn't set you back this much! Very tasty and got a fun trendy vibe. Enjoyable!

The Counter Suffolk Street

GlassofWater
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2011 (visited 21 July 2011)

I've eaten here several times with friends from work. The concept of building your own salad or burger is great, and I can't believe that no-one else is doing it. You can choose what size burger you would like, whether in a bun or on a salad, your dressing, and what toppings you want. The staff are all very friendly, and the food is tasty. BUT, (and it's a big BUT) sadly, all three times I've eaten here, the order has been wrong, and we've been left waiting ages for our food. The first time was 40 minutes, the place was packed, but we had to enquire twice about our food. We got an apology, but not even an offer of a free coke. The second time, they got the cheeses mixed up on two people's burgers, we had already been waiting 35 minutes. During the same sitting, one person had ordered the bean sprouts but didn't get them as it was in the middle of the bean spout e-coli blip, but no-one said we couldn't have them, or asked what else they would like instead - they just didn't arrive. The 3rd time (today), one person ordered chicken, and got beef. Normally you'd send it back, but we'd alredy been waiting 30 minutes since ordering and on an hour's lunchbreak from work, we didn't have time to wait. I feel I can't blame the waiter or waitresses for taking the orders down wrong, as the customer fills in the order themselves, so it can only be a mistake in the kitchen. But twice?? Realistically, you're just making a salad! Also, 6.25 for a 50/50 portion of chips and onion rings is outrageous. I love the food, but please - GET IT RIGHT!

The Counter Suffolk Street

lynchylass
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th July 2011 (visited 2 June 1987)

Me and my friend were very eager to try this place considering many people were talking about it. The whole novelty of filling out the menus to design your own burger was a great idea. I got standard beef burger with usual fillings, lettuce,cheese, tomatoes and pickled onions. The burger itself was ok. however the meat was dry, not enough juice in it, and the bun burgers were also incredibly dry. I also ordered a portion of chips, but felt they were very scabby with the amount they gave me. Ordered garlic and hot suace dips, portions were tiny and the garlic sauce was average. In all, i found the restaurant incredibly over rated and over priced.

The Counter Suffolk Street

Bopper
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th May 2011 (visited 25 May 2011)

I ate there last night with 3 of my girlfriends.I love the fact you can choose your own toppings and cheese and sauce. We actually had a lot of fun doing that! The price includes - the meat, one cheese, 4 regular toppings, a sauce and of course the bun. There are extra toppings available for 50cent extra. This is great value and everything comes in generous portions. Everyone was happy with their burgers, as was evident from the very clean plates at the end of the meal. We got 3 portions of fries between the 4 of us which was plenty. The only thing is that we found the music very loud.We asked for it to be turned down which they did but then it was turned up again later. We were actually shouting at one stage. But this won't stop me going back as the food is great value, service is good and I'm sure that they'll get the volume right soon!

The Counter Suffolk Street

Charlieboo
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd May 2011 (visited 11 May 2011)

This is a burger restaurant, but could also be called a salad restaurant. If you go for the 'burger in a bowl' you're essentially getting a salad, but you can choose from lots of different things to go into it, different sauces etc. And the regular burgers are great too. The sweet potato chips are delicious and I'm told the chicken wings are gorgeous. And you can get cocktails too.

The Counter Suffolk Street

jelly
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2011 (visited 12 May 2011)

Quiet on a Thursday evening. Went in with a couple of friends and were greeted with a clip board for our menu. Novel idea I thought and I put together my chicken burger with extras I like and with no fuss. Usually I get a burger and have to ask for no onions or no cheese etc and hope it will arrive like I asked but here its the norm. The only downside I could see was the choice of starters. On the menu chips, side salad were under the heading but to me they would be an accompanment to my burger!

The Counter Suffolk Street

Nia826
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th May 2011 (visited 12 May 2011)

Nice restaurant to visit midweek. Not too busy but enough customers to know it was a popular place. Music is a little loud for a girly catch up and tables are a little close together but still quite nice. I had a beef burger and couldn't have been happier with the choice of toppings. We shared the 50/50 fries and onion strips which were very tasty and plenty to share between three. Toilets could have been a little cleaner but all in all a good experience.

The Counter Suffolk Street

Stillorganboy

29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd May 2011 (visited 2 May 2011)

This restaurant must have the friendliest staff in Dublin. We had the window seat which is fab for a large group but was great for a toddler. The kids menu is great and quality food.. I had the Backyard Barbecue which was wonderful. Making your own burger is an art in itself and good fun, no need to dig out the pieces you don't like. This is a great place to meet friends. The music is not deafening. They have a full bar, a beer with a burger always goes down great. Here you get what you pay for ! Which is not to steep.

The Counter Suffolk Street

MadameX
Louth
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd May 2011 (visited 26 April 2011)

Was in Dublin for some shopping over the holidays and decided to try this restaurant on a recommendation from my daughter, who attends college in Dublin and also because of the great reviews on menupages. I am not a fast food fan, but decided to give it a try anyway. I was not disappointed. I had the chicken burger and my partner had the beef burger, and we had one protion of fries between us. I could not believe the amount of choices of toppings and cheeses. Service was excellent. When we went in, a friendly waitress explained the menu and how it worked to us. As mentioned in other reviews, the decor and cleanliness of the place is first class. There is also an excellent wine list so I had a nice glass of cab sauv with my meal. I will definitely return and my partner wants to work his way through the entire menu before he tries anywhere else in Dublin!

The Counter Suffolk Street

LegalEagle2410
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th April 2011 (visited 17 March 2011)

When I hear that my friends want to go for burgers I tend to set my expectations low...However, I was pleasantly surprised by Counter on Suffolk Street. I have passed this place so many times and never once realised that it was there! I couldn't believe the variety of sauces/cheeses/salads that one could get on their burgers. There are even different sizes of burger and different buns to choose from. In terms of price, although it may seem a little pricey for a burger place, it is really not so bad when you consider the amount of bang you are getting for your buck. You have to buy your sides separately, but the burgers are so big (and that's coming from someone who opted for the smaller burger size) that one portion of fries would nearly be enough between two. I left my email address with them and they have sent me special offers since, and quite decent ones too! The service was quick and friendly, even though it was Paddys Day and they had been run off their feet all day! The bathrooms were very clean, which I always think is another good indicator personally.. The decor is modern and although I was there during the day (so I will assume that it was less atmospheric because of that) I would say that this place would make a really nice prequel to a night on the town! I will definitely be heading back there...actually thinking about it, probably sooner rather than later :)!

The Counter Suffolk Street

dogstar

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th April 2011 (visited 1 April 2011)

Visited here with my partner last Saturday. Atmosphere and music was great, decor looked the part and I thought, the food should be excellent! We ordered the "stacked" BLT each and 2 portions of fries, one regular and one sweet potato. We waited 25 mins (I know this as I had been on my phone just as the waitress arrived to take our order and I was able to go back to check the time to when it arrived!) for our food and I thought well at least we know the food will be all freshly prepared! Well how mistaken was I. The BLT consisted of 2 slices of white sliced pan, the regular stuff you buy in a supermarket, not properly toasted, withered lettuce (as in the edges were brown and very limp) the bacon was so hard it actually hurt the inside of my mouth and the tomato had no fleshy bits just the skin. I did request the alioli on the side but thing was so so dry, no juice from tomato or bacon! At €6.95 and waiting 25 minutes for this I was just appauled. I wouldn't expect that level of cuisine in a road side diner not to mind an upmarket burger bar!! I was so hungry I ate some of it but left most of the filling on a plate. Oh and BTW no apology for the late arrival of our food, aside from that our waitress was lovely. I was going to have a cocktail aswell when I saw on the plasma screen behind the bar, "Now serving full bar, €5 cocktails" I enquired about this to another waitress who looked at me blankly and eventually said you must have the voucher and went to get 2 vouchers and gave them to me and said you can only use them next time! So as far as I'm concerned false advertising! I really was just so fed up at this point we got the bill and left. I'm not normally one to complain but I just felt the level and quality of the food was appauling. I couldn't believe they would serve the food in such an amateur way. I really was expecting great things. Very very disappointed. Definitley won't be going back!!! Awful food!!!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4761 ]