The Counter Suffolk Street restaurant

20 Suffolk Street, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
American

Price Range:

€€

53 reviews
4 stars - based on 53 reviews

The Counter Suffolk Street

Submit a review
The Counter Suffolk Street

Lolam5_2013
Dublin
52 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st August 2013 (visited 13 August 2013)

A much nicer restaurant than their branch in Dundrum. Staff are very friendly and service was very quick. The food was delicious, a bit expensive for what it is but we knew this before coming in so it was a bit of a treat. Id definitely return to this branch in the future. PS: The chicken wings are to die for!!

The Counter Suffolk Street

viktorfreisse
Dublin
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th July 2013 (visited 24 July 2013)

We had visited the counter in dundrum some time ago and had fond memories so we were looking forward to going back. The place was very quiet but we put this down to the time of day. We were brought to our seats and orders taken but after this the service started to falter. The waitress seemed abit distracted, forgetting to bring our drinks and not bringing our bill so we just paid at the bar and left. We really liked the build your own burger idea but my o/h wanted to get a burger in a bowl, which comes with a surcharge so decided against. Our burgers were delicious and huge, I got brie with cranberries and coleslaw and grilled onions, she got a spicy burger with the bean and corn salsa, jalapenos and avocados. We got some sweet potato fries which were delicious and we also got the dill pickle chips. When we got these before they were sliced, much the same way they would be on a burger but now they seem to cut the entire pickle lengthways into quarters, which I think is a bit much. It wasn't the worst or the best experience but the food was tasty so we will be back,

The Counter Suffolk Street

littlenacho
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th July 2013 (visited 1 June 2013)

I have been there a few times, the food is great, very innovative dinning place. Service is not that great, there are a few times, when the female staff is not very friendly. The meal deal is very attracting, and I love the milk shake there. Will return.

The Counter Suffolk Street

bb79
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th March 2013 (visited 16 March 2013)

It wasnt that busy but the guy who served us seemed overwhelmed.He lost one of orders from our table, and was defensive about it. Another table had to ask twice for menus. Couldnt fault the food though.

The Counter Suffolk Street

Isobel2388
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2013 (visited 19 January 2013)

We visited here on Saturday and left very satisfied. We had no reservation as they do not take bookings for tables of two however we were only waiting ten minutes for a table. Staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. The food is really good- we were so full leaving! The wings are delicious, a must try. The make your own burger menu is really good fun and there's a huge selection. As burgers go it was pricey (nearly €50 for wings, two burgers, sides and soft drinks) however great atmosphere and food so it was worth it! Only downside was the terrible draft coming from the front door as we were seated very close to it and it was freezing out. Would still definitely recommend though!

The Counter Suffolk Street

Justin1981
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th January 2013 (visited 11 November 2012)

Its a burger joint!! If you like Burgers try it, if you dont, dont!! They never have the Fried Dill Pickle Chips but the Parmesan Fries more than make up for it. As for the Burgers, you build your own so you cant be disappointed

The Counter Suffolk Street

escargot
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st December 2012 (visited 29 November 2012)

It is not what it used to be some years ago. I went with 2 colleagues from work. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. It was around 5 pm and there were only 3 tables occupied, we were probably 9 people in the restaurant. You can say it was almost empty. The chef got 2 of our orders wrong and we had to send our meals back to the kitchen. It was NOT the waiter's fault, I double checked the notes filled by us & the waiter, after we got the wrong meals. They still use good products to prepare their meals.

The Counter Suffolk Street

shanguiman
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th September 2012 (visited 18 August 2012)

We went here a couple of weeks ago and to honest it was pretty awful. The atmosphere was brutal with MTV blaring in the background. The service was wasn't great either. Although the guy who served us seemed friendly, when he was bringing our food to the table he dropped the egg out of my burger. He was really apologetic and said he'd get me a new one right away. 20 minutes later we called him over to complain we hadn't go it yet and that the rest of our food was cold. He seemed shocked we hadn't got it, and it still took another 5 minutes. He took the sweet potato fries off the bill, but it was simply too little too late. For a place that prides itself in it's burgers it was a joke. The meat was dry, unseasoned and flavourless. I had asked for the market selection bread and I got a regular burger bap. My girlfriend ordered the garlic Parmesan fries, they were so soaked in garlic and oily that half of them were inedible. She actually felt ill after she ate some of them. She also had a cocktail which cost 8 euro, it was a disgusting, way too much lemon juice and not enough alcohol! Over all we had a terrible experience, and definitely wont be going back!!

The Counter Suffolk Street

roxie123
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd July 2012 (visited 1 July 2012)

Would definitely recommend a visit to the counter. Great menu for burger lovers, make your own or order from their signature menu. I made my own and was a bit apprehensive that I wouldn't like the sauce but was delighted when they put the sauce separate! The kids couldn't finish their meal as they had the two mini burgers but they were quite large! The garlic and Parmesan chips are lovely and the onion strings are a must have! It was a family meal so myself and my partner shared the chips and the onion strings were for all of us. Very large portions and none of us could finish the meal! Will definitely return, great menu, great service and good value too!

The Counter Suffolk Street

mongoose
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 29 March 2012)

They do a great value €10 deal here. I got the Southwestern burger in a bowl which was delicious. The burger was so big there really was no need to get a bun. Not much atmosphere here, however. We were sat at a table towards the very back so were quite isolated from the rest of the diners. Service was alright but not amazing. Our waitress forgot two of the drinks we ordered and after being reminded by us, still didn't get them to us before we started to eat. Overall though, good value. I will definitely be returning to try out more of their interesting burgers.

The Counter Suffolk Street

oh!fortheloveoffood
Dublin
75 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th March 2012 (visited 9 March 2012)

Great location and decent food- I have always been a fan of the Counter in Dundrum but realised that part of the love is the way it is designed from entrance to seating etc which this one slightly lacks- I had to move a few different tables to avoid the draft. Saying that, the food is excellent- some of their sauces are unusual and not for me but its a good thing they have a massive selection- all in all, great spot for good food, good gourmet burgers, all for decent vlaue!

The Counter Suffolk Street

caforn
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th February 2012 (visited 10 February 2012)

The Counter is a great place. Centrally located, a huge selection and combinations of burgers, chicken breast burgers or salads for all appetites and even can satisfy those on a diet. Quantities are generous, service is fast and efficient and there always seems to be a buzz in the place! There are options like the chili con carne (which is under the starter section but is a meal in itself, and a favourite of mine.)

The Counter Suffolk Street

The Hungry Chef
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th January 2012 (visited 4 January 2012)

We went to the Counter restaurant before in Dundrum and the experience was good so we expected the same at the Suffolk Street location. There was a meal deal on, any signature burger with fries and drink for 10E, not bad at all except we didnt great after the food and it was tasteless for a burger and the sweet potato fries were cooked dried to the bone.

The Counter Suffolk Street

poppy93
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th October 2011 (visited 10 October 2011)

I came here for lunch during college one day with my friends, we got the lunch deal, which was pretty good value, the burger was delicious, the chips weren't too hectic though! the onion rings are unbelievable!

The Counter Suffolk Street

Mr. Creosote
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th October 2011 (visited 18 October 2011)

We were looking for a bite to eat in Town, and spotted the Counter. It looked bright and clean, so we went in. Our server explained the menu to us, which is straightforward but full of choices, and we ordered our burgers and fries. These took a while, but were great, although our fries were a bit cooler than they should have been. The highlight of our meal however were the deserts. My wife had the oversized chocolate chip cookie with ice-cream and I had the strawberry milkshake. These were outstanding. The cookie was crusty on the outside, but soft and warm on the inside, and delicious. My milkshake, at over €5 was slightly expensive, but proved good value. It was enormous, the right balance of ice-cream & milk, and almost put me in a coma! Service was friendly, although we had to order glasses of water a couple of times before they came, and after we had drunk these, had to order more, which never came, despite us having also ordered bottled water / Coke with our meal.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4697 ]