The Chop House Gastro Pub restaurant

2 Shelbourne Road, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

65 reviews
4 stars - based on 65 reviews

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Submit a review
The Chop House Gastro Pub

jb37
Dublin
55 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2011 (visited 11 February 2011)

Service was friendly. Menu is limited enough but I normally dont judge a restaurant on that basis as they may be doing a set amount well. I had a ribeye steak, medium which was cooked as ordered and service on a wooden platter with some tasty homemade style chips. There was a mix up with our order in that a soup was forgotten about, other than that our host was charming and friendly even offering advice about a route to the airport. The atmosphere is lively enough with a sizeable office worker lunch crew in. A bit pricey for a lunch regular but good quality food.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

eater123
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th January 2011 (visited 4 December 2010)

A group of us came here for a pre Christmas dinner. Tha atmosphere was great, very lively. The service was very good and helpful. The wine was delicious. The food was good but the lamb was really fatty, now they did say that it would be fatty but it was about 80% fat, 20% meat, so watch this if its not your thing. Really enjoyable night!

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Stefania23
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th February 2011 (visited 6 February 2011)

Brought some friends here for dinner on Sunday. The restaurant wasn't as busy as it usually is but that only added to our experience as we were well looked after. We had a selection of starters, followed by fish and chips, roast lamb (which was so good), ribeye steak and pork belly, finished off by chocolate mousse, bread and butter pudding. Delicious, good home cooking at reasonable prices in a relaxed environment. You could easily spend the afternoon here on a rainy Sunday as it's so cosy and if you're lucky enough to get seated on one of the sofa's. A must try!

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Audy25
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th December 2010 (visited 15 December 2010)

I visited this restaurant last night with friends. I had heard good things about it and was interested in trying it out. I have to say I was a little disappointed. First of all we were given the wine list and waited over 5 minutes to get menus, they had forgotten to give us menus. The food was tasty but for what you got it was slightly over priced and not much choice, main courses around €23 and sides separate for €3.50. I won't be going there again.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

tasty food
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th November 2010 (visited 29 October 2010)

Second visit , we had great expectations; they were met. Celeriac souop was heavenly. Crab salad had magic flavour - (was there a hint of mustard in th mix?) . Venison and those beetroots was amazing. Ribeye was possibly the best steak I've ever tasted. Only negative was that our table was slightly wonky - but that just added to the charm. On top of all this the head waiter and staff perfectly judge the banter/knowledge/timing. This one of the best casual restaurants I've ever been in. Can't wait to go back. Something special going on here!

The Chop House Gastro Pub

amriordan
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th October 2010 (visited 23 September 2010)

Love this restaurant, staff are so friendly and the food is always excellent. They never rush you and are always willing to help. The porterhouse is wonderful!

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Harryp
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th September 2010 (visited 18 September 2010)

Amazing food, staff and atmosphere. Great value for money. Recommend the porter house steak for two.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

clandonnagh
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th August 2010 (visited 25 August 2010)

my first visit in here last night, had heard a lot about the place so was looking forward to trying it out. very busy for a wednesday - had to wait over half an hour for a table but that was no problem as i sat at the bar with my friend and we had a few drinks and chatted to the owner a little - lovely friendly man! food came quick enough. my friend ordered steak which he said was lovely and he got a side of chips which came in this little metal bucket which i thought was so cute! bit of a mix up over my order - i ordered rabbit but they came out with the crab instead - i didn't want to wait to i took the crab and i didn't mind as crab was my 2nd choice on the menu - it was gorgeous, would get it again. the service was a little scattered in that we got served by a few different people but they were all really nice. the bill came to €73 which included our drinks so pretty good value. all in all a good experience, a nice place to go for a casual relaxed dinner

The Chop House Gastro Pub

QT
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st August 2010 (visited 20 August 2010)

Not good. I live locally have been there a few times - from bad service to mediocre food -but enough is enough! The menu on menupages is wrong they now have a new "fancy menu".This is not a gastro pub but a an expensive, pretentious bar.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

dub3foodfan
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th July 2010 (visited 20 July 2010)

Visited The Chop House for lunch with a friend. It had come pretty highly recommended, in particular the fish and chips which both of us tried, definitely very tasty. Desert was the Creme Brulee, again well done and quite enjoyable. The only downside would be the service, we had two different members of staff serving us, one was quite pleasant while one just came across as very condescending which never makes for a good experience. Our coffee & tea order got lost as well, which always strikes me as careless by the staff. Overall quite a pretty okay experience, I'll probably be back, and the food is very good value for what your paying.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

skenny

8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th July 2010 (visited 24 July 2010)

Ate here on Saturday night, had never been before and was looking forward to trying somewhere new . Loved it , small enough eating area but this adds to the overall atmosphere and cosiness of the place. I really liked the decor and it kind of felt like I was on holidays. Staff here are excellent with the owner and management full engaged with their customers and ensuring everything is tipping over. This you dont often get in todays restaurants. Food was really good. I had fish and chips and it was presented lovely and was delicous. The charcuterie plate I would recommend to start with as it has a nice and tasty selections of items. There is a nice bar in the restaurant too and is really nice for a pre-dinner drink. Am looking forward to going back.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

jacobean
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th July 2010 (visited 18 July 2010)

Had brunch in The Chop House on Sunday. Fairly limited menu, probably 8 items, and served from 2-5. I went for the crab salad (which is a starter on the main menu) - very tasty but not the biggest portion and himself went for the steak, eggs and chips with bernaise sauce (bring your appetite for this one!). Good coffees to finish. Nice location with a good atmosphere, We will definitely be visiting again but will probably go when the full menu is available.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

nanapeggy
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th July 2010 (visited 8 July 2010)

I was in chophouse last week service was good atmosphere was great food was great we had the most wonderful grillled lobster and rack of irish lamb cant wait to go back why are there no more places like this smart great food without the expensive price tag

The Chop House Gastro Pub

louisec381
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th July 2010 (visited 9 July 2010)

arrived in from the heavy rain without a reservation,and we were accomodated promplty although they were very busy. staff were excepitionally friendly and the man who greeted was even more so.The food was divine and arrived in the fastest time i have ever recieved. would recommend the pea soup and the beef pie, my partner would recommend the chicken. would come here again and will be telling friends

The Chop House Gastro Pub

tattie
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd May 2010 (visited 22 May 2010)

This was my second time to eat in the Chop House and the experience was much the same both times. Good food that possibly just needs a few tweaks to be excellent food. The porter house steak is super. The first time in we were sat in the bar area at a low table whie a 40th birthday party gathered and drank standing around us. It's not the fault of the customers they were crowding us in to the point of claustraphobia, the staff should have managed them upstairs where they were meant to be. Unfortunatley, as we were surrounded, the staff couldn't see us and therefore we were mainly ignored. Our booking for last night was made for 10 people. It was changed during the week to 7 at which point we were told it was only booked for 3. As the phone was put down to discuss with another staff member you could hear the guy cursing our booking and saying we were in the wrong. When we arrived in the restaurant (cos really it is nothing like a pub) our group of 7 were left standing in a thru way for 10 minutes. The bar guy then came over to the girl who booked the table and quite rudely produced the reservations diary to prove she was wrong!! How about saying sorry for the mistake and moving on?? We were then requested to sit at a four top table, which we politely refused and asked for a party of 7 to have a suitable sized table. Eventually we were sat on another (slightly larger) four top. The service from that point on was abysmal, clearly we were not the most popular customers. Water was brought but there were no glasses on the table. Wine was poured for only 6 out of 7. Main courses arrived but no cutlery. Luckily there was a legde behind us we could clear plates and glasses onto as there was no room on the table for extras and no staff willing to help. There is one guy in there who clearly enjoys his job, was friendly, helpful and soothed some ruffled feathers. As for the rest....service with a scowl, thrown in with some bad manners and a few curses. It really is a shame.

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5046 ]