The Chop House Gastro Pub restaurant

2 Shelbourne Road, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

65 reviews
4 stars - based on 65 reviews

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Submit a review
The Chop House Gastro Pub

gerbeenie
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 03rd January 2013 (visited 28 November 2012)

I would recommend this place for everything but the atmosphere. Perhaps it was just the night I went (end of Nov, before the Xmas rush) but it seemed quiet, cold and clinical, despite the Xmas decorations, twinkling lights etc. Food is good restaurant quality. Not pub grub at all.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Lemon_Soul_Sister
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th November 2012 (visited 8 November 2012)

There's nothing quite wrong with the Chop House, but I find their food to be quite... dare I say....well, slightly bland. Absolutely nothing wrong with how it's cooked, they've got that right. I would usually have the steak sandwich, which is lovely and I'd recommend it if you're going there for lunch. Had the rarebit the last time I went, it was "grand" as we Irish like to say! I'd agree with a previous reviewer in that I wouldn't call it a gastro pub. The interiors are lovely but they seriously need to do something with the picture on the front of their menu. I'm no artist but I know it doesn't fit with the place. The staff are grand. Got the food quickly which was great, because we were there for lunch. All in all...it wouldn't be my first choice for lunch in the area and I'll look for somewhere else.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Niamh84
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th October 2012 (visited 14 October 2012)

Went here last night (Sunday) as a treat of not having to cook. We live nearby but had never been before so we strolled up to see if there were any tables available. They offered us one by the door which we declined so they set another table for us. I had scallops & black pudding to start - which was absolutely delicous, best I've had in a while. For my main I chose surf and turf which I also loved. It was cooked exactly how I had asked for it and the prawns were very tasty. Overall I really enjoyed the food and the service was good (although it's a bit awkward at the end when they're putting the amount in the credit card machine and they ask you if you want to tip and if so how much - I'd rather be left to do that myself). I'm not sure why it's called a gastropub, I would call it a restaurant. It's certainly not cheap and their pricing method is very odd. They have a two course and three course option for set prices but 90% of the menu and specials have a supplement on them so the two or three course prices are very unlikely to be what you're paying. I would rather they just be straight forward about it rather than trying to lure you in for a certain price and then sticking you with supplements. Great food, good service, just a bit pricey and a little deceptive about it.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

clyncher
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th September 2012 (visited 26 August 2012)

Went here on Sunday when they were very busy (Tall Ships weekend). We were initially told there was no room (there really wasn't) and they were booked out but when the manager (lovely fellow) saw that we were just two he said he could set us up at the bar if that was alright. It was. Food was lovely. Staff a bit busy but very attentive. Slightly pricey but worth it for quality of food. Will definitely go back.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

shauwy
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd July 2012 (visited 14 July 2012)

Went there on a Sunday for Brunch, had the spiced prawns. The prawns were lovely and the hollandaise sause was amasing. Their sour dough was very very tasty - finished a full basket even before the food was served. Also ordered rhubarb crumble, it is very nicely placed in a shot glass, a lot of (maybe a bit too much) crumble in it. Definitly prefered the main course. Good for value, will go back again

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Sweets106
Wicklow
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2012 (visited 27 April 2012)

Was here with a groupof friends a couople of weeks ago. We had booked a table but had a bit of a wait which was ok really as there's a great buzz in the bar and on the night oin question it was busy busy busy! One crab starter was light and flavoursome with lovely apple chunks! Three of us had steak. When we were ordering the steaks are produced so you see size, cut etc. I really like when restaurants do this, we also had a great debate about which cut was best on that night. I had the sharing cut, can't remember which cut exactly, It was really tasty, juicy and full of flavour but I got the better side! My boyfriends side was was quite grizzly which was dissappointing. we shared a desert, rhubarb which was only ok. The manager is gret in there. As it was our first visit we got a round of drinks on the house, he checked in on us a few times to make sure all was ok. To sum up, excellent buzz, food and service.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

xiosanchez
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th March 2012 (visited 23 March 2012)

Was here for the first time last friday and the food was amazing! The Seafood board to start was just fabulous, and a big portion for a starter. The Rib Eye was also so tender - we left full and extremely satisfied! I was so impressed and the staff were so friendly! Will be back - very soon!

The Chop House Gastro Pub

funkypasta
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th October 2011 (visited 10 October 2011)

As previously mentioned be aware that this is not a gastro pub but more likely a restaurant at least from a price speaking point of view. The menu is quite simple but the steak I got was great: tender, juicy and flavorsome. It comes on a fancy chop board which doesn't justify in my opinion the high price anyway. Although it was on a rainy Monday night, the restaurant was busy and service was friendly. It's worth a try, however prices are maybe too steep for what served.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Lumiukko
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th September 2011 (visited 22 June 2011)

Ate here in June, followed my friend's recommendation, and tried 28 Day Dry-Aged Hereford Beef 10oz Rib-Eye, which was absolutely delicious. Chop house is a very nice place to eat, but I would not call it Gastro Pub. It is a quite highly priced restaurant. Rib-Eye was very good, but it also was one of the most expensive dishes, I have had in Ireland. We were party of 8, and they were really struggling to get our orders right. Overall an ok experience, but there are other very good options to choose from, matching easily these prices.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

surething
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th August 2011 (visited 23 July 2011)

First of all, this isn't a gastro pub. It's an overpriced restaurant. A party of 16 went there before heading upstairs for a 30th party recently (more about that later). It was a Saturday afternoon and we were told immediately there was no chicken on the already severely limited menu. The 'specials' board had a steak that cost 28 euro and a fish at the same price. 28 euro for a bit of fish I kid you not. So really the primary options that existed were lots of fish (it was if they got it in from the supplier on a deal that day) or the steak. I got fish and chips served on one of those superfluous board things. The batter was stodgy and almost wet. Worst fish dish I have had in a restaurant in recent memory...mind you the 28quid steak looked great. I was tempted to go across the road to the chipper and get the smoked cod for a fiver afterwards! Service was satisfactory but it came to about 55 each which seemed rather expensive for what we got especially with everyone still hungry. After a less than satisfactory dinner we went upstairs to the 30th. The bar was being handled by a young lad who appeared to be experiencing his first day behind a bar and was left by management to fend for himself. Flat bottles of red lemonade that had been there all week were used as mixers, Gigantic Guinness heads etc. Embarrassing for everyone. Regardless of the food review above I can't stress this enough - AVOID IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING THIS AS A VENUE (Sorry for the caps). We had considered my fathers 60th to be held there prior to that night but that's gone out the window after the poor bar service and food. Celtic tiger nonsense we will not be returning to.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

NAG
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th April 2011 (visited 27 April 2011)

If your expectation of what good service is has been eroded from years of the Celtic Tiger, then this is the place for you. The menu is small and way overpriced for the type of establishment it is but on the other hand what they serve is very good. The service however is poor to average. Also, it's most definitely not a gastro pub, it's a restaurant. Overall, a disappointing experience and I won't be going back.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

caitlin13
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th April 2011 (visited 28 April 2011)

This was my second visit to this restaurant, I had been disappointed the first time round, mainly due to the poor service however that had improved with this visit. The menu is quite limited and is expensive. I was very interested in the special of a hake risotto but it was priced at €25 euro. Too expensive in this current climate and too expensive for a gastro pub. This place is more like a restaurant than a gastro pub.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

Shortac
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2011 (visited 31 March 2011)

The atmosphere was nice and relaxed in this restaurant. Really enjoyed the food, but thought the menu itself was limited, especially if you're not a big fish eater. What we had though was really tasty!! The restaurant seemed to be really busy tonight and each of our courses was pretty slow arriving, but having said that they did apologise for the delay on our main course. I didn't find the service especially friendly, but I suppose they were busy... In terms of value, it's not a cheap eat, but I think what they do is well done and in that sense it is value for your money.

The Chop House Gastro Pub

cassidys
Meath
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st March 2011 (visited 18 January 2011)

Always like this place, menu is small but what they do they do well. Last week a group of us went in after work, I had lovely scallops and the pork belly which is definitely my favourite in this place. Always a good buzz and the staff are great

The Chop House Gastro Pub

missmoon99
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th February 2011 (visited 26 February 2011)

I came here with my partner for a birthday dinner. I had never been here before but drove past every day. The food was lovely, the menu is a bit quirky, i think they had changed it in the past few weeks. It is not the menu on menupages and the prices are also different. I got the steak which was fantastic. The bread is fab as well. The service is brilliant, couldnt complain about anything really. The atmosphere was realxed and chilled out, what you would expect from a gastropub.The only starter under €10 was the soup for €7.50..... The steak was €27 which is what you would have paid in the high times. Our bill for two people was €120 for dinner (incl wine for €30) plus a tip on top of that. All in all, I loved it but wont be back until prices have dropped.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4774 ]