The Cake Cafe restaurant

62 Pleasants Place, Dublin 2, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


94 reviews
4 stars - based on 94 reviews

The Cake Cafe

Submit a review
The Cake Cafe

Stefania23
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th August 2009 (visited 26 August 2009)

Had lunch here today for the first time after hearing so much about this place. It's a great spot for a coffee, cake and a chat. I love the decoration of the place its very cute and unusual. Will defo be back to try more of their yummy cakes!!!

The Cake Cafe

maryann1930
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2009 (visited 19 August 2009)

Love this little quirky shop. Most of the seating is outside. Will be interesting to visit in the winter. This time sat under trellises opposite to main door. The tea service is eclectic and funky. This is not the easiest place to find. It is actually easiest to enter through a paper store which fronts Camden Street. I had the tea and Chocolate Brownie on this visit. Nothing exceptional to say about either. Have had cake on other occasions which was very good.

The Cake Cafe

dishy

46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2009 (visited 15 August 2009)

What a gem! I had been looking forward to trying this place for a while as i had heard such good things about it, I wasn't disappointed. It is quirky and cute and the food is delicious. I had the goats cheese sandwich on brown bread which was fresh, tasty and filling i also tried my brothers chicken sandwich which was equally delicious. carrot cake and chocolate cake also well worth a taste. Service was a wee bit slow but the place was packed and the staff were very friendly and obilging. Can't wait to go back.

The Cake Cafe

Will-eat
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd August 2009 (visited 22 August 2009)

My friend had suggested this as a place to try. Finally got there with a group for lunch. The place is nice in it's setting and away from traffic even though it was close to several roads. However I really could not feel anything special about the cafe.......I might need to go back again. I find venues that try and be really different (and use vintage plates and cups for example) a little trying. The menu as well was not great and I was surprised at how many pages of tea they were showing while the lunch menu was too short. The service was good but seemed rushed, particularly when our food was being served. The major positive was the cakes. They were amazing and I think coffee and cake will get me back there rather than for lunch.

The Cake Cafe

mmm:)
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2009 (visited 11 August 2009)

WOW! What a delight. Had heard about this place and went on a hunt for it yesterday. Tucked away in another world I had a gorgeous brunch here with a friend. Fab menu. I had the pancakes with cream cheese and strawberries - beautifully light. My friend had the terrine of the day which was smoked salmon. Two clean plates followed by the homemade lemonade (a must!) and cute cupcakes. Thankfully we had all the time in world as the service was laid back to be polite... Good value for such a treat. Returning this weekend to try the beans on toast!! :)

The Cake Cafe

kitchenkluts
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th August 2009 (visited 11 June 2009)

A little hidden gem. My friend and I happened upon the Cake Cafe while in Daintree Paper Shop. We wandered out into the courtyard and boy were we glad we did. Beans on toast to die for. The only drawback is the seating capacity and the laid back attitude of the staff. Don't go if you're tied for time, like we were as it was lunchtime, because while the food is so worth the wait, the boss mightn't share those sentiments. Hadn't time for dessert so I bought a box of 6 mini cupcakes that came in an egg box, very cute and yummy but expensive.

The Cake Cafe

lulamcfatty
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th July 2009 (visited 23 June 2009)

Love the place! the atmosphere is great the food is yummy if not on the lighter side in terms of portions but that leaves room for a dessert temptingly displayed on the counter. the only thing is the service staff, though nice are slow as molasses. maybe a bit inexperienced

The Cake Cafe

Spoony
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th July 2009 (visited 24 July 2009)

I came upon this place just today. There was a great atmosphere, the place was packed. We sat outside in the court yard. Although it lashed rain, it didnt not ruin our food and drinks. The staff were friendly and fast. I would definatly return.

The Cake Cafe

dinerdeluxe
Dublin
63 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2009 (visited 11 July 2009)

The food and vibe in the Cake Cafe are both really wonderful, especially outside on a sunny summer's day. They're brekkies are really a great way to start the day, especially if there was a little overindulgence the night before. Bacon and eggs are fab and the homemade baked beans are great comfort food. The deluxe toast can be great too, last time it was bacon and banana with honey and rocket, though at nearly 8 euro the portion was a little small. Overall, the cafe would err a little towards pricey but it's a great spot for a nice treat.

The Cake Cafe

poptart
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th June 2009 (visited 13 June 2009)

I cant compliment this place enough! I've been heaps of times and absolutely love it, its so homely and quirky all at once! The atmosphere is always really upbeat, and the staff are always super friendly and ready to help. I've brought some of my most awkward guests, a friend in a wheelchair, moaning kids, a dog and a vegan on different occasions and each time we've been accomodated and made comfortable. The waiting can be a pain, but in the long run its worth it. I recently ordered a birthday cake and the manageress was really kind and even let us choose the type of sugar flowers we wanted...im a committed fan of the bacon and eggs and havent strayed much beyond that, but the menu is pretty extensive and the fact that they use organic ingredients and always make everything in-house is very important to me, there are too few places in dublin that can say that for themselves.I guess if i had to fault the place it would just be that its so tiny, but small can be beautiful too:)

The Cake Cafe

Cora1
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2009 (visited 16 May 2009)

Unsure about this place... I went on a recommendation of a friend and was looking forward to the homemade food; which was great, however... the place was jammed, we put our name on a wait list and instead of asking for phone number to call us when there was a free table we waited in the rain...no biggie but by simply taking our number we would not have been wet as we could have gone into the Daintree paper shop for a look around... Anyways got the table and have to say the staff are a very mixed bag from the very sweet, yet efficent to the fascinatingly rude! As it was busy it was also dirty and not very well maintained. However, it is a very small space and I admire the staff's ability to negotiate tables and orders. My friend had the toast of the day with bacon banana and honey, an odd combination which she really liked. I had the homemade lemonade and carrot cake and both were extremely nice. It was a busy Saturday, so we understood the wait but the procedure for the wait list should be reviewed to include the customer number to call when the table is ready.

The Cake Cafe

jojo290
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2009 (visited 18 April 2009)

I love this place. It has to have the most varied clientele in Dublin. At the table on one side of me was an elderly lady tucking into a bowl of soup and on the other was a bunch of what looked like art students deliberating over the tea menu. The food is very good quality here, especially for the prices. I love that you can mix and match the menu if you have a few of you eating. A glass of wine in the sunny terrace is a real treat. I am looking forward to hanging out here a lot over the summer. It is always a pleasure.

The Cake Cafe

plake

14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th March 2009 (visited 10 January 2009)

Have been here several times, usually for brunch but also for evening meals and lunch during the week. The biggest complaint I can give about this place is that it's not open on Sunday! The lemon tart is truly mouth wateringly droolingly gorgeous. Think Homer Simpson thinking about doughnuts and you'll know my reaction to the wonder that is the cake cafe lemon tart. Unfortunately, I haven't seen it in a while but I await it's return impatiently. The brunch can't be beaten. The ambiance is perfect, the selection (while, truthfully, limited) is creative and original, the value is pleasantly surprising and the food is very tasty indeed. Favourites include the egg soldiers, beans on toast and BLT. They also are one of the few restaurants in this city that do a chai latte (and do it properly too!) I LOVE their secret garden location and you can be lucky enough to get a table straight away or may have to wait a bit but likely no longer than 10 mins. I ADORE the fact that they have hot water bottles if you're waiting outside. It's just another example of how creative and special they are. Service is often a bit ditzy but very well-meaning which warms your heart to it that much more.

The Cake Cafe

KateCecelia
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:77%

Reviewed 09th March 2009 (visited 9 March 2009)

Not having a sweet tooth, I put off going to The Cake Cafe for a long time! That was until I read about its environmentally friendly ethos and abundance of beautiful savoury delights. The cafe is housed in the Daintree building which is eco-friendly. The cafe itself uses rainwater to flush the toilets, composts waste, recycles materials and provides hot-water bottles to those who sit outside (rather than using very eco-UNfriendly gas-heaters). Although hard to find, the cafe needs no advertisement as it's always full of regulars who have heard about it through word-of-mouth. The food is organic and local where possible. My personal favourites are the home-made vegetarian beans on toast, the tomato terrine, the curried parsnip soup and the brown bread. My sister swears by their BLT! The specials change daily but there's a menu of permanent dishes too. Of course, I believe the cakes are great too!!

The Cake Cafe

Yummylicious

26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2009 (visited 3 March 2009)

I really like this place, and go there for lunch regularly. The beans on toast is gorgeous, and the salad with (I think) strawberries and goats cheese is delicious. It is a really cute place, and the ingredients for the food seem to be of very high quality. And the cakes are divine! - ee things that i wouldn't normally go for like the old fashioned sponge one. Yum. My only gripe is that staff seem to forget you are there sometimes! - meals come at different times, and drinks arrive long after the food - even though there always appears to be a fair few staff on. But this won't ever stop me going there!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5402 ]