The Cake Cafe restaurant

62 Pleasants Place, Dublin 2, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


94 reviews
4 stars - based on 94 reviews

The Cake Cafe

Submit a review
The Cake Cafe

Snugglemuffin
Meath
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th March 2011 (visited 17 March 2011)

Visited the cake cafe after hearing numerous reviews. Its tucked away behind Camden street. We opted for the Afternoon tea cakes with prosecco - this does not come with tea thats extra! Overall it was very disappointing. We got a selection of cakes. Nothing special the cupcakes were nice. The chocolate brownie was so hard when I went to cut it it broke and flew onto the ground. After waiting a while we realised it didnt come with tea so we ordered this and when it came in a large pot it was just about enough for two cups and these were small china cups not great when we were already paying €25 for afternoon tea. In the end they didnt charge for the tea. The atmosphere was relaxed, the cafe has nice miss matched crockery. Otherwise over priced for the quality of food we got. Will not be visiting again.

The Cake Cafe

ladybanana
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th February 2011 (visited 22 January 2011)

Love this place! Hidden away behind camden street, the cake cafe is one of the most amazing places in dublin! Been here lots of times for breakfast on the weekends and lunch during the day! BEST EGG AND SOLIDERS IN TOWN! Massive selection of delicious cakes and buns. Assorted crockery and an air of the mismatched add to the quirky atmosphere.

The Cake Cafe

i'deatmyhand
Dublin
55 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2011 (visited 15 January 2011)

had lunch here last week with friends, i'd never been but the others raved about it. When we arrived we had to wait a few minutes for a table as the cafe is quite small, we were seated at a small table which was a little cramped and we were kind of in the way of the staff but we made do. The food was tasty I got the beans on toast and a cake to follow, both were good and satisfying. The service is great but the space is small which adds to its quaintness but takes away from the enjoyability. I'll be back but maybe not on a saturday but i've a feeling this place is always full.

The Cake Cafe

Frenchducky
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th August 2010 (visited 3 August 2010)

I cannot recommend this place enough. It's a little slice of baked heaven in a lovely little urban garden the middle of Dublin. We first went after reading a review in the paper and now it's our go to spot for lunch, brunch and general nibbles. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the surroundings twee and kitsch. The menu excellently contrived, quirky, morish with a host of daily specials, (fried banana, bacon and honey on toast Mmm...) the selection of fresh juice, biscuits and cakes to die for. I love there buttery fresh Portugese sardines on toast, homemade lemonade and a slice of homemade orange polenta cake. Just like granny used to make if granny was a non egotistical Nigella Lawson.

The Cake Cafe

Brenyes

8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th June 2010 (visited 30 June 2010)

Have been here a few times before and found it a bit of fun but average enough... but seeing as we're having such a lovely Summer, decided to come and enjoy the weather. It's really nice to sit outside, would be even nicer if they had blankets to keep you warm. It's got great opening hours for a café, staying open til 8pm and there's a good range of savoury and sweets from the tiny to the normal-sized and fun crockery when you get tea. Kind of a cool place for a relaxed first date, lol, it's in the Daintree building which is where girls go shopping for wedding invitations, subliminal, eh... There's loads of little things on the menu so you can stay for ages and try the different hot and cold drinks. They have a great menu of specialty teas.

The Cake Cafe

La Gourmande
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th May 2010 (visited 27 February 2010)

I had been meaning to try this place for brunch for a long time and when I finally made it I wasn't disappointed. While you may have to queue for a while to get a table inside you can sit outside in the lovely garden and enjoy a pot of tea (free refills). The menu offers a wide range, the homemade beans with sausages on toast is my favourite, and there is also a soup/toast/hotpot of the day on offer. Finish it off with a slice of yummy cake or a muffin and yet another cup of tea and you'll be satisfied well into the afternoon. There is always a mixed crowd which allows for some interesting people watching. Great value too!!

The Cake Cafe

allipa
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th May 2010 (visited 22 April 2010)

I have been to The Cake Cafe on a Thursday evening after work with a friend as it was a very long time we wanted to try it. We ordered 2 white chocolates, one muffin and one lemon sponge with mixed berries as the others cakes on the menu were no available anymore (which is weird when it's called The Cake Cafe). The muffin was dry and had nothing special. My lemon sponge was nice but came alone. When I asked for my mixed berries the waiter looked surprise and pretended it was not on the menu! I finally got them, but I was very surprise that the waiter did not know the menu.All in all we were very disappointed by the service and the food and we won't go back.

The Cake Cafe

Blossom
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th April 2010 (visited 22 April 2010)

I had heard so many positive reviews about the cake shop and finally I had the perfect opportunity to try some of their delicacys. I ordered 3boxes of the mini muffins, cleverly served in egg boxes, for a birthday lunch. I was delighted when I picked them up and the restaurant was highly ammused when I asked if they could be brought out at the end of our lunch as the Birthday cake. We were a party of 10 and everyone appreciated the novelty of the egg boxes. Unfortunately that was the best part of these mini muffins. Each and every one of them, with the exception of ONE were overcooked, burnt, dry and tastless. By some twist of fate I managed to get the only decent one in the collection which was lovely and i didn't realise how bad all the others had been untill I tried a 2nd one. It was then that I realised that the entire batch were burnt. At the same time I also purchased 4 regular muffins for my family and they were very unimpressed with these also. It would appear that all these muffins went in to too hot an oven for far too long and the results were disasterous. I definately will not be trying these muffins again and to be honest it has put me off trying anything else on the menu. I mean if they can't get their signature dish right, what's the rest like. I'm beyond dissappointed!!

The Cake Cafe

hellokitty291
Meath
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th April 2010 (visited 14 April 2010)

I agree with previous comments about the service, but the food really does make up for it! I just had tea and toast and they managed to make it really tasty! Homemade bread, little pot of raspberry jam. Have been here for tea before, looking forward to a time where I get something proper to eat, and not just something little.

The Cake Cafe

Sulbag1977
Kildare
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2010 (visited 19 March 2010)

Finally found this little gem last Fri. (Why no sign out the front of Daintree??)I think the reviews here are fair. Lovely setting, amazing food & coffee but poor service. The staff are a little too into their own coolness, but hats off for what they are delivering here. Expected yummy cakes from reputation but savoury food was impressive too. The lemon slice is pure ecstacy with every mothful.My wife bakes to a very high standard and she was very impressed. This type of dessert you would expect to get in a Michelin-starred restaurant.Also the Bicerin coffee was luxurious (think: the best Mocha you never had). Can't wait to go back.

The Cake Cafe

eirehead
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2010 (visited 7 November 2009)

Cake Café is the perfect Saturday afternoon hangout - hangover or otherwise! The baked eggs with bacon and soldiers are one of my favourite things to eat in the whole city. The place comes into its own on sunny days when the inevitable wait for an outside table comes becomes not just worth it, but a must. Luxury toast of the day is also great - the bacon and bacon one is excellent - and nothing has ever really disappointed here even if the staff can be a bit distracted and the coffee sometimes not quite hot enough. A couple of hours here with the papers amongst the trees makes everything ok.

The Cake Cafe

spicenut

9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th November 2009 (visited 18 November 2009)

Similar to other reviewers here, I had been really looking forward to coming here and I was blown away by the setting; just like something you'd see in a neighbourhood in Berlin or New York. The inside is quite small but quaint and it befits the menu offerings of tea & cake (coffee and some hot dishes too). We ordered slices of carrot cake with a flavoured tea and a cappucino, but the service was just so slow. We waited over a full 5 minutes for our drinks and still no cake, even though it was displayed within arms reach of our table. There were five people working in the cafe and I still had to get up and approach someone to ask for our cake. When it did come, we weren't given any forks or napkins and had to ask again for these. Having said that, the carrot cake was delicious and the tea was served in a charming old teapot. I love the concept of this place and think that Dublin could do with more of them. I would hate this place to not survive because of bad service and will definitely go again to give it another chance.

The Cake Cafe

sukiyaki
Dublin
86 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2009 (visited 21 November 2009)

The rave reviews on this cafe is simply phenomenal.I had set out to visit this cafe on several occasions but simply failed because this gem is hidden from public eyes.Its nearly impossible to find.Accessible either through the daintree (bookshop) building or the back alley.I finally stumbled upon this cafe when I was chanced myself at the daintree card shop.This place transports you away from city living into a quaint lil spot with bamboo shoots lining the wall.Brilliant spot for coffee and drinks-outdoors,weather permitting.Downpoints would be that it doesnt open on sundays and there isnt a good display of the cakes.More of ordering from the menu.

The Cake Cafe

Rockster88
Dublin
88 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2009 (visited 2 November 2009)

Gradually working my way through all the cakes in this place. My friend suggested it to me once and it was about a YEAR before we actually went! So glad it's right around the corner from me now, it's such a great place to have cake and coffee. The cupcakes are divine and the carrot cake is BEAUTIFUL.

The Cake Cafe

HungryBum
Dublin
66 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th September 2009 (visited 12 September 2009)

This place is "ok" across the board; nothing spectacular. The food is ok. The cakes are ok (but a bit slapdash and they also didn't have 2 of those advertised at mid-day on a Saturday). The homemade lemonade is good. The Moroccan mint tea is not (it's not rocket science to make it properly). The home-made beans on toast that everyone raves about? Sorry, there's a veggie restaurant in Dublin whose effort is leagues better. The service is friendly but apart from that, truly appalingly slow. The tables are set up outside in a lovely, charming area. Although I applaud their eco-efforts, and their selection of food (esp for veggies), there's something a bit twee about it, and something a bit sanctimonious about the prices they charge for supposedly "ordinary" food. Definitely on the expensive side for a café. Despite deliberately setting out to visit on this occasion, I think it's not good enough to merit a 2nd trip up there; it's a bit off the beaten track and not that hugely amazing... I wouldn't discourage a vist, but I won't be going back myself. Disappointingly average.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4925 ]