The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse restaurant

5-7 Lord Edward Street, Christchurch, Dublin 8, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 8

Dublin 8

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

180 reviews
4 stars - based on 180 reviews

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

Submit a review
The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

Lolam5_2013
Dublin
52 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th June 2013 (visited 23 May 2013)

Visited here for the early bird menu. Had the chicken wings to start and the 32 Day 8oz Dry-Aged Rump steak which was cooked to perfection. I had the mashed potatoes and we had a side order of cajun onions which were to die for. We had the beer platter afterwards which was nice but a lot of the beers tasted the same! Our waiter was very polite and attentive and was great at informing us of what each beer was on the platter. We went up to the beerhall afterwards for cocktails which were amazing. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

kittyandpinchy
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th April 2013 (visited 21 March 2013)

Came here on a staff night out 2 weeks ago for the second time; yet again the staff in the restaurant were great; the food on the early bird was not only reasonably priced but the steaks were unbelievable and I would recommend the crème brulee to anyone who will listen! Less than 20 quid for 2 decent courses is difficult to beat in Dublin. They even accommodated late arrivals and let them order off the early menu which had, by rights finished. My only ‘beef’ was that the food took ages to come out after we had ordered…this has happened before too which put a few of our serious carnivores in temporary bad form! The place itself was also a little chilly. We were enjoying the place so much that the staff in the restaurant arranged a table so we could move the party upstairs where there was a great atmosphere and a second-to-none selections of beers. I was back last week with friends from London who were blown away by the quality of the steaks on the menu – two different but equally brilliant nights out in this place.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

HungryHippo
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th December 2012 (visited 18 December 2012)

Myself and some work colleagues decided to have lunch in The B&C today, menu was nice and varied and with FXB stamped all over it we were sure of top notch meat. We had the steak sandwich, Lamb stew and fish for our mains, and now we get to why I had to write this review. The steak was like a piece of shoe leather even though it was cooked medium, no matter how many times I chewed it I couldn't break it down. My colleague who had the lamb stew ended up with half a bowl of grizzle after he spent all the meal cutting the tiny pieces of lean meat from the grizzle, "mutton dressed as lamb" was mentioned frequently. Amazingly for an FXB affiliated restaurant, the fish was the pick of the mains. A half cup of coffee each did little to cheer up the group. I have spent the same amount in various surrounding restaurants with no complaints, I don't claim to be a food critic but I do know good food from bad. Very disappointed.....

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

Dine-a-sorus
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th November 2012 (visited 13 October 2012)

Firstly, the beers are great here, actually one of the cheaper places to get micro brews in Dublin. However, the food is not up to standard. Considering it is coming from the FXB kitchen, the bar food is not what you would expect. Most of the dishes we got were a bit on the greasy side, just average pub grub. The service can be slow at times, even when it is not too busy. All in all, not a bad spot but there is better to be had around that area.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

DQuinner
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2012 (visited 19 September 2012)

Been walking past this place on the way to work for ages so decided to pop in for a bite to eat and pint on my way home yesterday. The bar upstairs has a cool German beer hall theme and there was a decent crowd for a week night. They've got a crazy selection of beer too, I was going to have a Guinness but the barman suggested I try the O'Hara's and I'm glad I did, far nicer than Guinness (and only €4!). I sat at the bar and had the beef burger and it was really tasty. Comes with bacon, cheese, onion rings and chips and fills you up perfectly. Had a nice chat with the barman about the beers as they had loads I had never heard of. Will definitely be coming back to try some and get another burger.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

piripepper
Wicklow
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2012 (visited 11 August 2012)

It was my friend's birthday over the weekend so we went here for a few drinks and a meal. We were in the Beerhall area. The music was a bit too loud. I like to be able to have a conversation during my meal but we were shouting to hear one another. I would suggest having a meal downstairs first. I had the open steak sandwich. It was nice but I have had better. The waitress was very nice and service was quick. I did however have an issue with the fact that it is apparently policy to provide a credit card or pay for the meal before it has arrived. I have eaten in many a pub and never been asked for payment up front. It is not a good policy. It is the type of thing that puts me off returning somewhere. Wouldn't be my first choice of place to return to.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

sairyfairy
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th May 2012 (visited 11 May 2012)

Friday night dinner for 2 and had a great time. We arrived a bit early so went upstairs for a drink, got to try some new beers before being brought down to our nice table beside the fireplace. The food was gorgeous, I always get well done steak but decided to try medium as people always say its better but no too bloody for me and I asked could I get it done more. They where more then happy to bring me a new piece of steak altogether! I had the pate for starters which was yummy and I could actually feel my arteries clogging when I ordered the deep fried mars bar for desert, was delicious but would do between 2! Overall, great food, great drink, friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

LeftoverBoy
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2012 (visited 6 May 2012)

Took Aussie family there as they enjoy a pint or two and good food. That's pretty much what we got. We hadn't booked as we thought there would be plenty of room on a Sunday evening, wrong. We were accommodated upstairs in the beerhall where we'd been for a while earlier. The service and the food were very good although the steak that two had was a bit chewy. My own version of surf & turf (open steak sandwich & Cajun crispy onions with a portion of garlic prawns was excellent, highly recommended). Everyone else had great food even the veggie who we enjoyed taking to a steak house. Overall great experience would definitely go back and recommend.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

Chickie
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 14 April 2012)

As this is our nicest "local" we come here a lot, both to have food and just for drinks. I love the atmosphere in this place such a lovely vibe. The crowd is a nice mish-mash of people which lends a lot to the atmosphere. The dining hall is downstairs and very cosy, last time we were sat next to the fire which after a large meal and a couple of drinks had us both a bit sleepy! I generally have the fish and chips which are gorgeous. The batter is lovely and light. The crowning glory of the Bull and Castle are the steaks- maybe a bit expensive but completely worth it. I highly recommend this place, and am already looking forward to my next visit

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

Crazieclaire
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th March 2012 (visited 25 March 2012)

I have dined here a number of times; the fish and chips get me everytime! I was a bit disappointed though last night. Service at the start was very good, nice beer recommendation; I asked for the mussels but was told they were out as the delivery doesn’t come in on a Sunday… fair enough! Went for the fish and chips. Food arrived in good time, great big portions but I noticed that there are not any peas served with the fish & chips anymore…. Can’t complain, the food was great, beer was great. We decided to order dessert ( 5 of us, split 2 desserts) well, the toblerone cheesecake was AWFUL. I would recommend taking this off your menu immediately. It was like putting your spoon into a block of cheese, so hard, tasteless, very strange texture. Such a letdown. Service midway: When our dinner plates were cleared, there was no mention of seeing the dessert menu….. didn’t see the waitress again! Never came to check on us or ask would we like more drinks. In the end, we had to search her out and ask could we order. As she never asked how the dessert was, surely if 5 people do not finish off 1 dessert, there has to be something wrong with it? Standard practice to ask was everything alright with the course. Then I noticed, the table beside me …. Two big bowls of mussels! Very strange. I will go again, perhaps they were just having an off night. Pity.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

Catix
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th January 2012 (visited 16 December 2011)

Visited here before a concert in the Olympia. It was my husbands choice as he likes different beers and ales. He thought the choice of drinks was fantastic, I had 2 glasses of red wine which were ok. For dinner I had beef and guinness pie and my husband had the lamb stew. Both were only ok, there was nothing wrong with them but we wouldn't be rushing back for seconds. They have a battered marsbar on the dessert menu which I may have to go back and try some time. All in all a nice place.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

thewizthewoz
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 21st December 2011 (visited 20 December 2011)

Dined here last night.Great menu reasonably priced.I had the beef and Guinness pie while my other half ate from the 20euro value menu.He had leek and potato soup and a steak.The chips were fab.We returned later to the bar area with another couple and tried some different beers.I would no doubt return.Great night all round!

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

natalie
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th November 2011 (visited 30 October 2011)

Visited on a Sunday early evening - a really cosy pub to walk into, especially after a busy day in town. One of us was a micro-beer fan and loved the beer selections and variety. Beer menu is great - even just to read beer-history while you're waiting. The food menu looked good - loads of choice. Three of us each ordered steak, the kidneys and the fish pie. Sirloin was delicious - but seriously overpriced. It came with wedges and a globby pepper sauce and that was it. I know it's a city centre location but I would go elsewhere for the same or better quality steak and with the trimmings included. Kidneys, my friend reported were tasty - but overpriced and they were slighty too salty. The fish pie was way too salty. Spent a lot of the time trying to catch waitors' attention for more drinks, the bill etc. The location suggests that tourists are their main market. Go for the beer - go elsewhere for food.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

MrsBubbles
Kildare
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2011 (visited 15 October 2011)

Wanted to watch the football while having lunch last Saturday so brought the family to the Bull and Castle. The staff were incredibly accommodating even though it was an early match and opened up the beer hall upstairs so we could have the full surround sound and big screens. They even apologised that the menu was a bit smaller upstairs but there was more than enough to choose from. Most of us went for the burger and chips which was large and lean and beautifully cooked with lovely cheese melted in and accompanied by floury chunky chips. The ribs should carry a warning - slab of cow on plate - my sister needed help to finish them and the smoky sauce was to die for. Service was quick, food was hot and plentiful and the bill amazingly small. The beer lovers were in their element with choice and opted for a microbrewery special. Will definitely be back.

The Bull & Castle and F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

Grungry
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th October 2011 (visited 13 September 2011)

Had a good wholesome dinner here on a rainy,cold evening.Staff very friendly-very helpful in describing & recommending suitable home brews to match your food!Beef Guiness pie and fish pie both very tasty-huge portions!Lovely restaurant area but can be a little drafty in the old pub at times!Good offers on a varied menu and overall reasonably priced.Otherwise a great spot for some hearty, delicious pub grub.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6614 ]