Shanahan’s on the Green restaurant

119 St. Stephens Green, Dublin , City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Fine Dining

Price Range:

€€€€€

241 reviews
4 stars - based on 241 reviews

Shanahan’s on the Green

Submit a review
Shanahan’s on the Green

adonnelly
Meath
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th June 2011 (visited 27 April 2011)

Excellent service in beautiful restaurant but food is absolutely not worth the price. Scallops for starter were overdone and did not taste particularly fresh. I had a fillet steak for main course which for the price was not worth it. Main courses come without anything accompanying it so you also have to order very pricey side dishes which aren't particularly good quality vegetables. Worth it to visit once for the setting and good for a business dinner/lunch but will not be returning.

Restaurant response:
Shanahan’s on the Green has emailed the diner via Menupages in response to these comments; looking to address the issues raised in the review and to see if they can be rectified for future visits.

Shanahan’s on the Green

pricekr
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th June 2011 (visited 30 May 2011)

We were able to visit Shanahan's again this year and ate in the downstairs bar. The atmosphere is very comfortable. The three of ate filet mignons and a rib eye steak that we all agreed were superb. The service was exceptional and we couldn't ask for a better meal in Dublin. Well worth the price!!

Shanahan’s on the Green

Argot
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2011 (visited 25 February 2011)

What a splendid experience this was. My favourite clients took my husband and I here to celebrate a successfully concluded deal and we were treated like royalty. Very JFK / Chesapeak Bay. Certainly American Colonial style and with a nautical flair. The Staff were pristine, like attentive toy soldiers - but friendly and affable - Oh and the food!! By far the very best steak I've ever had - bar none anywhere else in the world too! My husband had scallops to start (they were a little on the small side but cooked perfectly so they melted in the mouth) and I had crab salad. With our steaks we had chips (as you do and they were super) and the onion rings which were very delicate and moreish! Excellent selection of wine (obviously!), brandies and Irish coffees saw us tripping out the door close to midnight with a cheery good night and eager to go again! 10/10 Folks.

Shanahan’s on the Green

sallygrif
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th April 2011 (visited 25 March 2011)

If you want a treat this is the place for you. It has everything. The restaurant is gorgeous, the food is sublime, the service is second to none. Best steak you will ever have. From the moment you enter you are made to feel special. Its one of the best restaurants I have ever visited.

Shanahan’s on the Green

castiron
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 7 January 2011)

Yet again this place does not disappoint. Had the pleasure of being in here last week with the missus for a special occasion and left raving about the place yet again. Everything about Shanahan’s is top notch, from the greeting at the door on a rainy night to the final farewell afterwards. A trip downstairs for a glass of bubbly is a must. We were shown to lovely table upstairs in the back room. It was quiet enough on the night, though we were early. I had the T-bone and the missus went for the sirloin, both were fantastic, cooked perfectly as ordered and came with the, always great, onion rings and hand cut fries. Served with a lovely Rioja. Despite best efforts couldn't quite polish off the baked orio cheesecake. Staff were really nice though one or two were a bit grumpy looking, maybe it was the weather!! Overall a fantastic evening and as always a restaurant to keep on top of the 'must come again' list

Shanahan’s on the Green

rocky87
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2011 (visited 24 November 2010)

had a great meal here it is the first restaurant that actually know how a medium rare steak should be cooked. we went there early and a a drink in the oval bar they dont have a great section of beers but what they have are nice and different. the meal was fantastic and was worth every penny in my mind not that i would go there every week or anything, for a special occasion only. the only problem that i had with the place is the amount of people barking on about the recession which didn't help the atmosphere in my mind.

Shanahan’s on the Green

DubDude
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th December 2010 (visited 15 December 2010)

Shanihan's food reputation precedes it so I expected to be disappointed but I wasn't. The restaurant decor reminded me of an elegant front room. Dress code is definitely smart casual. It wasn't packed for an early Wednesday evening but it was ticking over. We arrived early so I would've liked to have been offered the option of having a drink in The Oval Bar downstairs but we were ushered straight to our table. The waiting staff here are exceptional. Warm, friendly and knowledgable - happy to give advice about what's in the food or what the wine's like. With the drinks came delicious warm cheese and onion bread and chilli muffins. Scrumptious. I had the early bird menu, my partner decided just to have the main. There's an excellent choice between steak & fish on the early bird menu and at €55 it's excellent value for money. Also the main dish on the early bird comes with three side dishes so there's absolutely no need to order sides for the other person. I had mussels on a sizzling platter for starters. This was good but I felt the mussels in their shells on a hot plate made them a little dry. For mains I had the scallops and my partner had the 8oz fillet. My scallops were perfect - not the slightest hint of rubber. My partner's steak was excellent - well done as requested with a tasty gravy. I've had steak elsewhere that's just as good though and I'm not sure that any steak is worth €36 but that's a personal choice. The sides are scrummy - creamed mash, creamed spinach and a huge tower of onion rings. Easily enough for four people. I had the cheese selection for dessert with homemade crackers - wonderful. The meal with a half bottle of Pouilly Fume, drinks & mineral water came to €162. For a special occasion, you can't go wrong with Shanahans. Of course the excellent steak is expected but it's all the little extras that make this a superb dining experience. My only little critique would be that front of house staff could be warmer.

Shanahan’s on the Green

meganmay
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th December 2010 (visited 10 December 2010)

went to celebrate a special occasion, first time and hope it won't be my last! Had a couple of drinks first in the very busy Oval Office and then up to the main floor. Started with a wonderful starter of scallops - huge portion, succulent and full of favour, followed by the petit filet with a topping of fois gras - perfect! My husband had the smoked salmon plate to start and the larger filet mignon, again done to perfection. We had a wonderful but pricey red, and paid the extra for the veg. - really, could do with just including in the price of the meal! The bread at the start was fantastic also. I was so full I could only manage half of the petit filet and a cup of tea! Wonderful, but very expensive.

Shanahan’s on the Green

dinewithme
Kildare
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th October 2010 (visited 8 October 2010)

Had dinner here last night and it was amazing as always. We went for the early bird menu starter, main course, dessert, coffee €45. Exceptional value as there is a fillet option for main course and cheese board on the dessert menu and included in the price was 3 side orders for the table. The fillets were cooked to perfection and everything from start to finsh was delicious.

Shanahan’s on the Green

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th September 2010 (visited 7 July 2010)

My fifth visit here and I look forward to my next visit already. On tonights visit I was welcomed back by the waiter who had served me the last time which | thought was a nice touch. We were also served by two other waiters tonight the first of which was as pleasant and efficient as the one mentioned above. The second however was surly and could do with learning how to smile and be a little bit more interactive with patrons. The food as always was excellent. We were firstly offered beautiful homemade bread with some muffins. For starters I chose a soup whilst my companion had a salad. We both had steaks for mains which were perfectly cooked to order. To accompany the steaks we had whipped potato and a small portion of onion strings. The whipped potato is one of the nicest I have ever tasted. As always and as mentioned before the onion strings were vast in portion size. Being so full we skipped desert. Shanahan's is a lovely restaurant great for a any occasion and every visit there is special. Their special menu offers great value if you dine early in the evening. Its location is very central and it is proximal to the Grafton street shopping area. Most Dublin theatres are within walking distance. Try Shanahan's you wont be disappointed.

Shanahan’s on the Green

chilli&garlic10
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th August 2010 (visited 19 August 2010)

Myself & a friend went to Shanahans for the €45 menu and the food was exceptional. I had the ceasar salad to start which was a good portion size, really tasty with lots of parmasean cheese & my friend had the trio of salmon which I was assured was gorgeous. For mains I had a 6oz petit filet & my friend had the 8oz strip sirlion. both were cooked to perfection, & the sides were delicious, creamy mash, spinach & onion strings. I have to say that I actually couldnt finish my steak! For dessert I had the cheese board, the cheese was lovely but the crackers/biscuits were of the blue cheese varierty, my friend had the chocolate sponge dessert which was delicious. We had a bottle of red wine which was €29 and went very nicely with our dinner. Overall I will definately be returning to Shanahans & the €45 menu is well worth it.

Shanahan’s on the Green

Spud87
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th July 2010 (visited 1 July 2010)

Visited Shanahans for the first time with my girlfriend on our anniversary. I had been advised that it was pricey and went in with the knowledge that I would be paying top doller and was so hoping that the food would live up to the price tag. Well I was not dissapointed it was fantastic. From the bread hand cut at the table (Don't Fill up on bread its very easy to do but you will regret it later), to the fantastic selection of sorbets & ice creams for dessert it was perfection. I had the Crab starter & my girlfriend had the soup, both were perfect. The top prise however must go to my fillet steak which you could have eaten with a spoon. Do not be tempted to get the large portion of onion strings or fries as you will have more then enough in the regular size portion. The large which I saw being delevered to another table oppsite could have been enough for 4 people or more. The only gripe I might have was that the atmosphere was ruined by a loud and obnoxious crowd at the table oppsite but there was nothing the restaurant could do about that really. All in all total perfection and I will return no doubt.

Shanahan’s on the Green

Blalygamal
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th July 2010 (visited 1 July 2010)

Amazing food, completely worth paying a little extra. Considering places considerably worse than here will charge in the region of €30 for a steak, this place actually becomes something akin to value. Main course was so large and filling that it was the only thing needed (apart from a bottle of wine and an amazing martini). Ordered the filet mignon with foie gras, which was without doubt the best steak I have ever eaten. With this (and four people to a table) only two side orders were needed. Mash and their onion strings. Two sides did four people, but in truth those onions could have provided for many more, I think there is a smaller portion available, think we should have ordered this. The service was fantastic, our waiter was so attentive, and knowledgeable and helpful, all as expected from reputation, but still such a joy! There was nothing I did not like about this place, apart from the fact that I cannot eat here more often because of budgetary reasons.

Shanahan’s on the Green

Dejeuner
Dublin
41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 06th July 2010 (visited 2 July 2010)

Having looked forward to this visit I was disappointed when I went for a special occasion. Overpriced and underwhelming is my lasting impression. While the steaks themsleves were very good, they aren't worth nearly 50 euro each. We ordered a few sides and unknowingly were presented with large portions of each, for which we were charged double. The bread, which I've read many great reviews of, was very good but not good enough for me to return to pay such exorbitant prices. At 100 euro a head for a main course, some sides and wine its up there with tasting menus but the menu doesn't deliver. I certainly won't be returning.

Shanahan’s on the Green

kellyc38
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th June 2010 (visited 23 June 2010)

Went last Wednesday for the early bird for my partners birthday. 45 euro for 3 courses, including tea and coffee and 3 sides, great value. We had the shrimp and salmon for starters, both had steaks with sides we couldn't even finish and we had the fondant and cheesecake to finish...so much food! and all delicious, service was exceptional, and we even got complimetary prosecco as we were there for a birthday, will definatley return for a treat soon!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5767 ]