Queen of Tarts restaurant

4 Cork Hill Dame Street, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


56 reviews
4 stars - based on 56 reviews

Queen of Tarts

Submit a review
Queen of Tarts

Clarebear28
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th January 2010 (visited 16 January 2010)

Myself and a friend had lunch and for my first time, I was not disappointed, the food was lovely with the Focaccia Bread the highlight. The service was also fast and friendly. My only disappointment was the hot chocolate. With a reputation for great sweet treats I was expecting the real deal, but instead I got the powdered version which was ok at best. If it hadn't cost €3.50 I would not have been expecting something I didn't get. Also the tables are very crampted and we were sitting at one, which resulted in someone knocking over the sugar and finding people waiting to get served at the counter were practically standing over our lunch. Because of this we left without desert, which I had been eyeing up, but we got an apple crumble muffin to go, which was delicious. I would go back but not when it is so busy!

Queen of Tarts

citygrrl
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th January 2010 (visited 12 January 2010)

i love this place SO much! from the mismatched china to the warm plum tart, this is such a charming little spot. the ingredients are fresh, the attention to detail is spot on and the staff are really lovely. both the one on dame steet and cow's lane are brilliant. dame street is cozy and snug, while cow's lane is bright and airy and cheerful with a lovely outdoor seating are for when the weather is nice. I just can't say enough nice things about it. great job!

Queen of Tarts

Mademoiselle
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2009 (visited 7 November 2009)

The Queen of Tarts is the perfect place for a saturday brunch (great selection of lovely savoury tarts) or a cup of tea (+cakes) on a rainy sunday afternoon.

Queen of Tarts

loulovesfood
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th January 2010 (visited 20 November 2009)

Came here with my mam for lunch. I'd the root vegetable soup and she went for pepper and sweet potato soup. both served with Queen of Tarts amazing homemade bread - delicious as always! My mam's soup was a bit nicer, mine tasted quite heavy on the parsnips but it was a perfect winter warmer.

Queen of Tarts

RSGE
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th September 2009 (visited 11 August 2009)

This small cafe is a very friendly place and ideally located for a quick stop when you're in town. The cakes taste gorgeous and look amazing too and the service is warm with a smile. There's something for everyone whether you like savoury or sweet. The portions aren't huge, but are just enough to satisfy - no complaints!

Queen of Tarts

Mange-tout
Meath
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th September 2009 (visited 24 August 2009)

I love the location of this cafe and the atmospheric cosiness it gives off. I have visited on occasion for tea and cakes and always been happy, even though it is pricey. On this day I met a friend for lunch and I must say it was quite disappointing - the chicken foccaccio sandwich was lacking in flavour and could have been better. My friend's tart was not too tasty. In short - I will stick to cakes here since they seem to do those best!

Queen of Tarts

chompchomp
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2009 (visited 25 July 2009)

This is a very cosy cafe and great for meeting people for a pot of tea and slice of cake. It's a great location just opposite Dublin castle. Staff attentive, cakes delicious. I wouldn't bother with eating real food here though, and on wet days it gets very steamy as people crowd in and clothes dry off.

Queen of Tarts

kakie_celala
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th June 2009 (visited 16 June 2009)

Queen of Tarts is such a cute little cafe...really cosy too. The tarts are also lovely- both savory and sweet. I especially enjoy the rhubarb! Can be a little on the expensive side thought.

Queen of Tarts

gigi1
Dublin
107 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th March 2009 (visited 13 March 2009)

This is such a cute little place and the cakes are gorgeous.

Queen of Tarts

Catface
Dublin
67 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2008 (visited 9 December 2008)

I went here for lunch today and found it so-so. After hearing good things about it, I suppose I had high expectations. I had one of the tarts, and wasnt too excited about it. Carrot cake was very good but the lunch was ridiculously expensive, and for the cramped little place that it is its not overly nice to squeeze into!

Queen of Tarts

FinerDiners
Dublin
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th December 2008 (visited 12 October 2008)

This place is far too crowded and they have crammed too many tables in a tight space. The food is just okay, but it doesn't seem like much effort went into any of the food. It wasn't very creative and tasted like it had been frozen and then heated just after I ordered it. It could be so much better.

Queen of Tarts

allhailhomer
Dublin
92 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th December 2008 (visited 3 December 2008)

Cosy place to meet for a chat and a cuppa. The selection of cakes is fantastic and all look amazing. Lovely service and good value.

Queen of Tarts

elainexx_lavery
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd December 2008 (visited 27 November 2008)

After hearing so many great things about this place I was really disappointed on my visit last week. I had a chicken tart which was tasty but nothing better than I could have thrown together at home for a fraction of the price. The pastry was puff pastry and not shortcrust which is what would usually be expected in a tart which was a letdown. Also for 9euro, the portion size was very small. A side salad and piece of bread accompanied to fill out the plate but I wasn't fooled. Still hungry and tempted by the desserts I went for the carrot cake, which I have to admit was delicious. However at 5euro 50 the piece was nothing short of stingy and while I am a skinny girl and advocate of portion control, at the price paid it was not good value. My guess is that they are making a fortune-about 50euro per cake at this rate! With so much choice and better quality and value to be found in Dublin, I am afraid I will not be back. In these recessionary times I have seen 2 course lunches on offer in some of our top restaurants for the same price.

Queen of Tarts

Ulalah
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th November 2008 (visited 13 November 2008)

The Tarts are really amazing, homemade!!! The Staff are friendly, I really want to go back... nice atmosphere, unique place like that in Dublin.

Queen of Tarts

Ariff R
Dublin
66 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th September 2008 (visited 29 August 2008)

I have a weak spot for Queen of Tarts, and I don't even have a sweet tooth. Everytime I walk into this place, seating is always scarce (not a bother though) as I always walk out with a very very big takeaway bag. The choices of tarts and pastry are endless. Needless to say I sampled every single one of them. One of the few places that I know I'll always come back for more.

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4973 ]