Pyg Restaurant

Powerscourt Townhouse Centre, South William Street, Dublin 2 , City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

48 reviews
4 stars - based on 48 reviews

Pyg Restaurant

Submit a review
Pyg Restaurant

yummyoat
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st August 2013 (visited 31 May 2013)

After winning a competition for a meal after the Pyg restaurant opened, it has become my all time favourite restaurant! So may things I could recommend for starters try the baked camembert or the prawn & salmon dish. For mains I usually go for whatever fish they have on the day, tuna being one of the best ones I've tried. The fajitas and charcoal chicken are also amazing... Desserts are to die for and the cocktails are even better! The only downside is it can be quite cold as it is in the middle of the Powerscourt centre but some wine would cure that ;)

Pyg Restaurant

Christine G
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th July 2013 (visited 20 April 2013)

Went to the Pyg for a late lunch. Service was slow but the staff was friendly. Enjoyed the food and loved the location/atmosphere. Would recommend!

Pyg Restaurant

Liz07
Wicklow
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th June 2013 (visited 31 May 2013)

Great buzz and atmosphere when we went for lunch on a Friday afternoon. Service was slow though. Took a while for someone to take our order, and the wine came half way through the lunch. A decent spot though, would recommend.

Pyg Restaurant

Cluckers
Dublin
97 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st March 2013 (visited 16 March 2013)

This place was a real gem - I was hesitant going for dinner in what effectively felt like an elegant shopping centre foodcourt, but by night the place is transformed and has a lovely atmosphere. The food was delicious and was reasonable value for money.

Pyg Restaurant

julienjdubarry
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd February 2013 (visited 21 February 2013)

I honestly did not know what to expect...and oh man it's been one hell of a great surprise! Their menu is really exciting, a one of its kind here in Dublin! And the food...well it's simply to die for! (go for the salmon & prawn starter...trust me!) This restaurant is definitely a keeper!

Pyg Restaurant

pisces
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd February 2013 (visited 21 February 2013)

Myself and my daughter had a very enjoyable dinner in PYG last night. We were greeted warmly on our arrival and shown to our table. We ordered drinks, I chose the Guinness. I was asked if I'd like it with blackcurrent as they could served it that way. I agreed. When it arrived I found there was far too much blackcurrent in it and it was promptly replaced. I ordered the Antipasta dish and my daughhter chose the Lamb Koftas. Both were delicious and would have served as a main course. We waited to see the size of the main courses! Both of us had ordered fish...the Hake and the Tuna. There again both were delicious but we strugglled to finish. We felt the portion sizes were too big...a good complaint perhaps!! We really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere and would definately go back again. We found the staff to be very helpful and attentive. Either of the starters we had and a glass of wine would be a lovely way to end off a late night shopping trip in town. Be very hungry if you want a 2 course meal here! I would definately recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Pyg Restaurant

H8 small portions
Laois
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th February 2013 (visited 16 February 2013)

What a gem, really impressed with Pyg. Can't wait to revisit it. Food was soooo good it made my smile as I ate it. Staff were really nice and helpful. What more can I say...

Pyg Restaurant

brie.banks

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th February 2013 (visited 9 February 2013)

An amazing place to eat! Absolutely loved it and the atmoshere was great. The chorizo and tomatoe stew was fab, a must to try! Would highly recommend this place and will def be back again. Menupages deal was well worth the money also, great gift.

Pyg Restaurant

fussyfoodie09
Kildare
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th February 2013 (visited 1 February 2013)

Ate here recently using a menupages voucher. The place was very busy for a Friday night and we were seated in a corner which was detached from the main restauran. We felt there shouldn't have been a table placed there at all. Also, it was quite cold, presumably because it is situated in the open area in the middle of the Powerscourt Centre with high ceilings. Despite that the staff were very friendly and attentive. Antipasti for starters was delicious and would definitely order again for the variety of cheeses, hams, breads and dips. The gambas pil pil had a nice flavour but were overdone. Mains were mixed, my partner loved his chicken and mozzarella dish but unfortunately I was not asked how I like my tuna cooked and it came very rare, which along with the burnt sweet potato and the whole dish swimming in a strong sauce (which wasn't mentioned on the menu) resulted in me eating very little of it. The waitress promptly apologised and told me it would be taken off the bill and offered me a cocktail or dessert instead. Dessert of chocolate oblivion was divine. Would return as I would know which dishes to order, it was good value and the staff were lovely.

Pyg Restaurant

Rosaleen McGrane
Roscommon
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th February 2013 (visited 2 February 2013)

Excellent food and service. Had a voucher and value is fantastic. Only 3euro extrs for T Bone steak which was cooked to perfection. We definitely will return as all prices on menu were very reasonable, especially for the quality given.

Pyg Restaurant

suzyq

89 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th January 2013 (visited 26 January 2013)

Wow!!! We were massively impressed with Pyg. It was our first visit here due to having a menupages voucher. The choices on the menu for fantastic, the antipasti plate was overflowing with flavoursome food including cheeses, meats, sundried tomatoes and olives served with tasty pestos and crispy breads. We both choose hake for our main but served differently and the side orders of sweet potato wedges were amazing. The portiion sizes were generous and we had to struggle, but managed, to have a pear and almond crumble for dessert. The service was friendly and and the bill for extras small - a fantastic place. Our return visit has already been booked :)

Pyg Restaurant

ubique18
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 22nd January 2013 (visited 5 January 2013)

Loved it... the food was great and the atmosphere is excellent in this well known Dublin spot. It's hard to gauge the Value element as we had a Menupages voucher, but I will certainly be going back another evening. Ideal for dates I would say!!

Pyg Restaurant

jengaj3n
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th September 2012 (visited 1 September 2012)

I managed to pick up one of the fantastic GrabOne vouchers for Pygmalion back in August and was really excited to try it. I was dubious of the setting in the Powerscourt Centre but it actually works so well. The food was fantastic. We shared the bread and dips, meatballs, baked camembert and the chorizo stew (the winner in my opinion). And with two glasses of a great quality house red, we were both pleasantly full afterwards. Rather than 'pyg' out (sorry!) on a dessert or two, although very tempted, we chose to go for a couple of the cocktails from their extensive list. They were absolutely delicious with a reassuring amount of time and attention put into making them. My only, very slight, criticism is that although it's tapas-style food, all of the food came at once so that we were left sitting there for quite a while with just the wine. Even if the bread and dips could have been brought out it would've kept us going. That said, I would definitely recommend Pygmalion for food and atmosphere. It's a great place to stop whether you're looking for casual food during or after a day's shopping or if you're looking for somewhere to start your night out.

Pyg Restaurant

katie007
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd September 2012 (visited 25 August 2012)

Was massively impressed with this place. Had gotten a voucher on one of the deal websites and wasn't sure what to expect having never been here before but was delighted. The portion sizes were huge compared to other tapas restaurants and the food was absolutely fabulous. Lovely wine and desert was great too. Had the meatballs (Gigantic portion), bread and dips, chorizo stew and cammanbert (sp) cheese - all was fantastic. Can't recommend enough and will definitely return.

Pyg Restaurant

sorchaspud
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 20 April 2012)

This place is just such excellent value. You have a quite a few eating options for a tenner and loads under 15. Their delicious sirloin steak is 14. The food is overall great, cooked to order & presented very well. Aswell as the steak we enjoyed the chilli chicken, seafood pasta, excellent value desserts and tasty wine (they have a rueda as the house white, yum). The service was also good, if not overly swift. Our waiter/the manager was very helpful, our annoying food requests were no trouble (gluten free) and we had a great experience. Please keep it up!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4883 ]