Pyg Restaurant

Powerscourt Townhouse Centre, South William Street, Dublin 2 , City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

48 reviews
4 stars - based on 48 reviews

Pyg Restaurant

Submit a review
Pyg Restaurant

Zildo
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th February 2014 (visited 6 February 2014)

Food was just ok.. They tried to squeeze all tapas onto one plate which was ridiculous.. The service was awful. Rally don't think I would go back there agsin.

Pyg Restaurant

Parnell
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd February 2014 (visited 1 February 2014)

I love tapas and the tapas here was really good, as well as great value. However, we were seated in a door way, which was horrible.. the music was much too loud..we couldnt hear each other or the waitress and everyone coming in and out of pygmalion had to pass by us. I would recommend pyg for the wonderful food but I would recommend asking for better seating

Pyg Restaurant

PEXIE
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th January 2014 (visited 29 January 2014)

A friend and I ate here yesterday for dinner with a meunpages voucher. The food was really good. We had the mushroom croquettes, the fajitas, nachos, goats cheese and a side of patatas bravas. The fajitas were especially good and the mushroom croquettes. Both of us were completely stuffed after eating. The only downfall was the setting, we had to eat in the main bar. We tested several seats, but they were all beside radiators which meant that we were being roasted alive and or the table was tiny. The seat we eventually sat at was a table with 2 armchairs which were far far too low for the table. I'm not short but sitting in the chair the table was about chin height which made it slightly uncomfortable to eat from but we didn't want to move again. Also the music was a bit loud, but I suppose it was the bar area. Service was friendly but we only saw our waitress once when she took our order and then when she removed our plates.

Pyg Restaurant

keeley.ryan
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th January 2014 (visited 24 January 2014)

We were seated in the main bar - the overall atmosphere was okay, if not a little noisy. It took 40 minutes for any staff member to come by to take our order - even after repeatedly trying to get someone to stop, a bit disappointed about that. The food was excellent, though.

Pyg Restaurant

odharnait22
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2014 (visited 18 January 2014)

Went to Pyg for the first time 2 weeks ago courtesy of a menupages voucher for tapas. We were sat in the main restaurant and it was quiet so there wasn't a great atmosphere and service was OK. However, the food was delicious! I went again last Saturday and the main restaurant was closed so we sat outside and this time the atmosphere and service were terrific! Can't fault the value, even without the voucher I thought food was reasonably priced for the quality & quantity served. I think I may become a regular.

Pyg Restaurant

lombardfamily
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2014 (visited 17 January 2014)

Beware - restaurant in Powerscourt was closed at night time 2 weeks ago due to being quiet so we had to eat in the very noisy bar which was very disappointing. I had booked a table and had received confimation email - but no table was reserved. Service was very slow and very few people eating - only drinking so felt a bit awkward. However, food was very nice (when we eventually got it) and background music was terrific - until 10pm then it deafened us! Would not go back to eat in the bar as unsuitable for diners - sorry :)

Pyg Restaurant

cois abhann
Kildare
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2014 (visited 16 January 2014)

We had a very positive experience with regards to food and service which were both very good. The only negative was were we were sitting, it was in an area behind the bar. Ideal for a romantic drink. It was so dark we had to use the torch on our mobile phones to read the menu !!!!!! We did ask if they could put the wall lights on they did for about 5 mins then they went off again. To be honest we just laughed we had a lovely food and the music as great. Overall we would deffo be returning

Pyg Restaurant

hondaeuropan
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th January 2014 (visited 15 January 2014)

Had we known that the restaurant is now closed in the evenings and that we would have to eat in the bar area instead, we would not have bought the Menu pages voucher in the first place. Although the food was very good (although not authentic Spanish) the bar area was dark and there was very loud music playing from a speaker right beside us (which according to the staff "could not be turned down"?!), service was initially very poor (20 mins before I had to go and find a member of staff to serve us). We would certainly not return to Pyg unless the restaurant area was re-opened.

Pyg Restaurant

Senor del Monte
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th December 2013 (visited 11 December 2013)

A really disgusting lunch featuring black pudding mixed with a kind of chicken pate and blue cheese(!!) on a bed of indigestible rocket salad. That was the only lunchtime item that had looked interesting. There was not a single dessert on their list that appealed. Service was very good and location convenient but they really need to deal with the menu itself. Not to be recommended.

Pyg Restaurant

cajohnson
Dublin
39 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2013 (visited 4 December 2013)

I treat myself and my mother to lunch here during one of our xmas shopping trips. Usually it's a lovely experience. This time, they forgot the chicken in my ciabatta, and when it was brought, it was very dry. The skinny chips were really soggy also. As a plus, the manager was fantastic and took the chips off the bill and brought us another (perfect) bowl. The wines are lovely. I will go back, but it's a pity they allowed such bad slips.

Pyg Restaurant

codyz35582949
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd November 2013 (visited 21 November 2013)

To say we were disappointed would be an understatement. Beautiful setting, friendly staff...but the food! Calamari - one portion cold the other hot, but hard, brown and over cooked. The eagerly anticipated Croquetas de Jamón were over fried brown bullets that tasted of burnt oil. Meatballs similarly were hard and with no semblance of Spanish flavor other than the Manchego thrown on top. Something as simple and usually sublime as chorizo in cider was made with the most flavorless chorizo I think we have ever tasted. The Pil Pil prawns had the taste of an unwanted herb (corriander?) quite raw garlic slivers and the oil, which is usually the greatest guilty pleasure, was not touched after the first disappointing dip. In a Spanish tapas bar to have so few Spanish wines to choose from was a big mistake. To reiterate, the wait staff were lovely but tapas, that should be a quick affair, took almost 40 minutes to make it to our table. Evening ruined.

Pyg Restaurant

Frenchette
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th October 2013 (visited 25 October 2013)

Food was really good and portions were huge. Staff is really nice even if overwhelmed by numerous customers.

Pyg Restaurant

marthacl14

8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2013 (visited 1 October 2013)

Gorgeous place, such a nice setting. Really nice atmosphere, food was nice but expensive for what it was!

Pyg Restaurant

This1Goes2eleven
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th September 2013 (visited 25 September 2013)

Nice cosy place with lots of little alcoves and seperate areas to sit, relax and dine. The waitstaff were very nice. The food was better value than I imagined it would be but still pricey for tapas I would say. The only thing that bothered me was that the DJ was sound-checking and kept blasting the music for a few seconds, then changing the speakers, etc. (It was early in the evening) I would go again. Lovely looking place.

Pyg Restaurant

Marymd

22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 05th August 2013 (visited 2 February 2013)

Food was delicious and the portions were huge.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5932 ]