Pearl Brasserie restaurant

20 Merrion Street Upper, Dublin 2, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Fine Dining

Price Range:

€€€

261 reviews
4 stars - based on 261 reviews

Pearl Brasserie

Submit a review
Pearl Brasserie

LK1975
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd September 2014 (visited 17 July 2014)

We went for an early bird there and it was the best meal I have had in Dublin in a long time. The staff are so friendly and welcoming whilst remaining very professional. The early bird is such good value for such a high quality of food, could not fault anything. The atmosphere was a little quiet, but that suited us, a group of 4, as we could catch up without straining to hear each other over background noise which can happen in other restaurants. Would heartily recommend.

Pearl Brasserie

ciara187
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:50%

Reviewed 17th August 2014 (visited 1 August 2014)

There are some really good and not so good points about Pearl. When we arrived, we were offered to go to the bar for a drink first before sitting which we were delighted to do. However, just after receiving our drinks, we were asked to go to our table. It would have been good to know in advance that we needed to take the table straight away rather than being offers something and then not allowed to enjoy it. The menu is a bit hit or miss. There were a number of main courses that really appealed and the lamb that I got was delicious. However, the starter menu was very limited and the fois gras that I ordered was just ok... Not great. Finally, the waiting staff are all very young and don't seem to have been working there very long. When I asked one of the waiters what was in my lamb dish I was told that he didn't know and only one girl on the floor knew what was in the dishes. He did go and get her and she was able to tell me but I think this is pretty bad form for a restaurant of this nature. Overall, wouldn't be encouraged to return.

Pearl Brasserie

Nickmenupages
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th July 2014 (visited 1 August 2010)

Loved it. I hope it still has the goods.

Pearl Brasserie

clodaghmw

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd July 2014 (visited 23 July 2014)

Loved this restaurant. Not many people there for lunch due probably to the hot day but we both were highly impressed with Pearl Brasserie . The food was perfectly delicious, amazing combination of flavours. Will definitely go back for dinner!

Pearl Brasserie

oodwyer8258081
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th July 2014 (visited 11 July 2014)

Had a lovely meal in the Pearl Brasserie last Friday.We sat in one of the alcoves which was really nice and cosy with lovely atmosphere.The staff were so warm and welcoming and went above and byeond to make us feel comfortable.We went for an early bird.The main course (the lamb rump) was absolutely delicious.And even though we did not order deserts,it was a birthday,and they brought out a small chocloate cake and candles,very very nice touch.The wine selection was fantastic.One piece of feedback,I ordered the goats cheese tartlet,this was a dissapointment.There was no tartlet,just two tiny teaspoons of goats cheese with a few leaves,I was still very hungry after it and looking forward to my main!All in all a lovely evening,just a bigger starter needed.Thank you.

Pearl Brasserie

striderswoe
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 27th June 2014 (visited 27 June 2014)

What more can I say. Had lunch here today and the food was delicious. I had the burnt mackerel as a starter which was superb and the skate was cooked to perfection. My partner had the gnocchi which was light and flavoursome and we washed it down with the excellent "Odfjell", Ancla, Merlot. Can anyone else make a vanilla custard brûlée taste so creamy? - they would be challenged. Will be back soon.

Pearl Brasserie

sarahdonnellan10102292
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th June 2014 (visited 14 May 2014)

Lovely atmosphere and service. Went here on a work night out and some of my party found choice on the early bird menu to be quite limited. Food was of an exceptional standard nonetheless.

Pearl Brasserie

dsedeath
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th April 2014 (visited 4 April 2014)

Fantastic place, great atmosphere and helpful, friendly staff. The food is great, French brasserie style with a great little bar at reception and a fab wine list, highly recommend

Pearl Brasserie

ciarandiver

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2013 (visited 10 August 2013)

We had a lovely meal on Saturday. The staff were lovely, friendly and attentive but not intrusive. The food was lovely and the portions were just about right. For starters we had a Thai Beef salad and a Ravioli and both were delicious, especially the broth that accompanied both - the taste was clean, fresh and absolutely gorgeous. For the mains we had Pork fillet and Sea Bass and again both were very tasty, perfectly cooked and along with a couple of side orders left us feeling very satisfied. We shared a dessert of a Raspberry Mille-Feuille which was very tasty and great fun to eat - a perfect way to end the meal. A couple of things which brought the score down a bit were firstly that the wine list is quite expensive - only one bottle or red was under €30. And secondly, on arrival we were shown into the bar which was already full and left standing and only shown to our table 30 minutes later (even though we arrived right at our booking time). However overall we really enjoyed the night and would definitely recommend it.

Pearl Brasserie

sm256
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 23rd July 2013 (visited 22 July 2013)

Having been to Locks (Pearl Brasserie’s sister restaurant) I had an idea what the restaurant might be like, but I have to say it exceeded my expectations. We had a diningroom.ie voucher (€80 to spend on food and drink for €40) which helped to ease the pain of a Monday night meal in a very fancy restaurant! The restaurant is in a basement location on the corner of Merrion Street and Baggot Street. Despite the current heatwave the room was cool and nicely lit – bright enough to see the food but not so bright as to be off-putting. There were plenty of staff – all French, all impeccably trained and friendly; in fact as we had arrived so early there were more staff than guests at one point, but that soon changed. We were offered water (“still, sparkling or tap?” with no judgment when we ordered tap) while we read the menu and our glasses were kept topped up without having to ask at any point. We ordered the Pinot Grigio, Tramin for €30, which was really nice – very buttery, smooth and not at all acidic. As it was so hot we decided to skip starters and went for the Beef and Lamb for mains. While we sipped the wine a waiter brought us 2 portions of gazpacho as an amuse-bouche – served in tall glass test tubes. These were cool, refreshing, delightfully summery tastes of tomatoes, watermelon and basil, with a bit of a kick. For mains my friend ordered the Aged Irish Beef Fillet served with Celeriac, Asparagus and Girolle Mushroom (€29.00) – the beef was medium as requested – crispy on the outside and really tender inside. The accompaniments were also really well cooked and presented beautifully. The only let down was the lack of carbs with the beef – luckily we’d ordered a side of home fries to compensate. My Spring Lamb (Fillet, and Spiced Shoulder with Cauliflower, Merguez Sausage and Couscous €26.00) was served “pink” which is restaurant speak for hardly cooked at all. If that puts you off don’t go for it – but I really enjoyed it – it was a beautiful piece of meat, presented dramatically on a large plate with artful smears of sauce and carefully positioned baby tempura cauliflower and toasted almonds; all served with a side dish of couscous full of plump sultanas, flaked almonds and sausage pieces. In an ideal world the lamb would have been a tad less pink (in my opinion), but overall a really nice dish. The pièce de résistance had to be the dessert – we both went for the Peanut Brownie with White Chocolate, Popcorn and Banana Ice Cream (€9.50) – oh my god, it was amazing...... The brownie looked like a macaroon – same shape and covered in white chocolate – but was moist and chocolatey and moreish once you tasted it. Salted peanuts, pieces of popcorn and caramelised banana slices surrounded the brownie and the banana ice-cream and it was so good we’re thinking of going back just for the wine and the dessert. All in all, really nice restaurant, lovely food and great staff – we’ll be back!

Pearl Brasserie

gypsygrubber
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th July 2013 (visited 10 July 2013)

Very enjoyable meal at Pearl. Restaurant was quite busy for a Wednesday night. We had bought a discount voucher which was presented at the start of the meal. Unfortunately it was not taken into account when the bill was presented which was a bit annoying. However other than that oversight the service was excellent. Starters we had were salmon and a chicken and truffle raviolo in a chicken consomme. Nothing special but the only average part of the meal. Fillet of beef was excellent and the turbot was first class. A little expensive if you are otdering a la carte, wine list could have some lower priced options but the set menu looked very good value and the atmosphere and ambience in the restaurant was really conducive to a pleasant evening.

Pearl Brasserie

althea94
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th July 2013 (visited 3 July 2013)

We were gifted a voucher for this restaurant and having not been here before it was a pleasant surprise. We were welcomed by friendly staff and our waiter was very informative and checked on us all evening. Our starters were tempura prawns, rally delicious and chicken truffle ravioli, which my partner liked. Mains were pork and the bass. My pork was delicious and having had a terrible pork dish recently in reputable restaurant, I was apprehensive but I had no need it was delicious. My partner agreed the the bass was also very good. Dessert I could hardly wait for. Unfortunately we did, 25 minutes to be exact, which is ridiculous. Our lovely told us there was a back log in the kitchen and it would be out as soon as. I had the chocolate sphere, it was amazing and my partner had the chocolate tart. They were fantastic but the wait was crazy long, leaving us in the restaurant for over 2 hours for 3 courses. The floor staff are great, the food is grat when it arrives. Just don't dine here if you're in a hurry

Pearl Brasserie

Pi31415
Dublin
78 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 05th February 2013 (visited 4 February 2013)

The outside is deceptive and can be off-putting. The prospect of going into a basement eatery is not to everyones liking. Very busy for a Monday evennig - and no surprising given the quality of the food. The whole experience was very pleasant. From initial reception to the final farewell this is a place to bring business contacts (or family, if a special treat) if you want to have a high quality experience. I went for the vegetable tempura followed by spinach fondue and ended with the cheesecake. Excellent. Colleagues went variously for the sea bass (special) or venision and they were enjoyed with equal relish. Four starters, four mains, two desserts, a bottle of wine and two bottles of still water came in at just over €60 a head (inc tip). Definitely worth keeping as a 'failsafe'

Pearl Brasserie

lizzie21
Dublin
48 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2012 (visited 10 November 2012)

I dined at this restaurant with my family recently. I'd been quite hopeful as management has changed since the last time I visited but unfortunately left disappointed. The waiting staff were really pleasant but unfortunately we were left wanting for top ups of wine regularly and the service was particularly slow. We ordered at 8:20 pm and didn't get to coffee until 11:50. Initially when the order was taken, the waiter returned to tell us that they were out of monkfish and that left two of our group to re-order mains - why can't they check on these things before taking orders? By way of apology we were offered a little taster of filo prawns. Shame then that five of us had opted for a prawn starter and therefore didn't think this was such a good option, though the gesture might have been appreciated. Tempura prawn starters were tasty though nothing to write home about but the terrine was really delicious. Foie gras which I don't eat for ethical reasons features far too frequently on the menu here and ruled out a lot of choice for me. The turbot which I had for main as well as the other mains of cod, chicken, rib eye steak and plaice all went down well. Desserts were delicious but the gelatine in which the frozen parfait was wrapped was inedible. For some reason when chocolates made it to the table, we were three short for the number of people at the table. It really wouldn't take much to improve the experience here - some attention to detail would do wonders. I'd also prefer not to sit by the bar. Not sure I'm prepared to give it a go again. There is far better to be had in the local area.

Pearl Brasserie

sdiesel77
Kildare
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2012 (visited 15 September 2012)

As we already knew and were very satisfied with the Lock restaurant, we decided to give a try to its brother restaurant THE PEARL. The staff was extremely friendly and professional, we were given a very nice table beside a nice fish tank. The food was REALLY good, my main course was Perfect (turbot filet with foie gras). As a dessert, I took the mango/passion fruit ice cream which was also really good. I would definitely recommend this place for a special night !

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5841 ]