Patrick Guilbaud restaurant

21 Upper Merrion Street, Dublin, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Fine Dining

Price Range:

€€€€€

122 reviews
4 stars - based on 122 reviews

Patrick Guilbaud

Submit a review
Patrick Guilbaud

pmcgarrity
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th October 2012 (visited 13 October 2012)

Simply fabulous. I thoroughly enjoyed the Saturday lunch here and it is superb value for a 2 star Michelin restaurant. We were very warmly welcomed to the restaurant by the Manager, surprisingly you do not always get this is restaurants least by the Manager. The food was outstanding, the flavours, the presentation - you simply could not fault it. My favourite was the duck served with fig and candied popcorn, it was cooked to perfection. The petit fours were like miniature works of art and tasted amazing especially the macaroon. When the cheese cart was wheeled out I thought I had dies and gone to heaven- a generous portion was received gratefully. I could not fault the service is was like a military operation but not being so used to this I did feel there was too many servers around you at times when I was trying to have a conversation but it did not spoil the experience. This restaurant clearly thinks about the customer and the experience is excellent and consistent from when you are greeted to when you leave.

Patrick Guilbaud

aficionado
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2012 (visited 21 March 2012)

My husband treated me to Patrick Guilbaud’s following a special occasion recently. We had been there for a Saturday lunch menu a few months ago and really enjoyed the visit so knew that it was the perfect place to enjoy our recent celebration. Everything about the restaurant conveys Michelin stars, the formally dressed wait staff in classic black on white, presenting menus to patrons, attending carefully to each table, scraping crumbs off the table linen, Sommeliers advising on wines, amazing fine dining and wonderful atmosphere. In addition to the four Course Degustation Menu (€90 each) which we both ordered, we were also presented with the obligatory amuse bouche before the menu and petit fours after our tasting menu (always a welcome treat). As my husband had informed the restaurant of the special occasion, they baked a little cake for us. It is the finer personal details that endear this restaurant even more to me. We were advised on which wines were best to accompany each dish. The Corbieres and the Sancerre were the two wines that stood out for me. All round, a wonderful restaurant, fabulous food, a must have treat for all occasions!

Patrick Guilbaud

Cbtbutch
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2012 (visited 3 March 2012)

Everything you could wish for in a restaurant ... and more. Service excellent, food wonderful, amazing wine list and a sommelier on hand to advise as required for each course. Truly a wonderful dining and gastronomic experience.. Not something one can usually afford, so worth saving for a special occasion!

Patrick Guilbaud

getinmabelly
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th February 2012 (visited 2 December 2011)

My girlfriend and I went here for an anniversary lunch and quickly discovered what this place is all about, indulgence!! From the moment you see the façade you know you’re not going into your average posh restaurant. We were greeted by Patrick Guilbaud himself and he took our coats and led us to our table in a really modern beautiful room and introduced our waiter. He also came back to us when we had finished our meal and had a quick conversation with us. The staff here are incredibly attentive and there seemed to be someone to look after every aspect of our dining experience, right down to cleaning crumbs off the table. The 3 course lunch menu was ever so limited but still the food was faultless, beautifully cooked and full of flavours. The meal also included a complimentary appetiser and petit fours. The wine list is seriously impressive and has many excellent wines to choose from. The atmosphere is pleasant with just the low murmur of conversations to distract you. It is pricy for a meal but for the level of service and quality of food it was well worth it. This was a dining experience that I will be slow to forget.

Patrick Guilbaud

thomthomdrum
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st February 2012 (visited 26 November 2011)

For an expensive 2 star establishment I could not help but come away from my evening here saying "meh". I will not go back in a hurry, if ever. The food was good but not "out of this world" good, and at the price you pay you would expect as much. You would not want to go in there hungry, as you may eat again later that night. The portions are so small, tiny in fact, and unfortunately thats expected of pompus arrogant food these days. I like to feel full and satsfied when I leave a restaurant. You wont when going here. Also the decor was very much not to my taste. I really felt like I was in an echoy cateen rater than a 2 star dinning room. I did not like it. Now my dessert (an Apple Parfait) was fantastic. It was the best part of the meal hands down. Flawless and very enjoyable. I got the Lobster Ravioli to start and was very underwhelmed with it. It was fine to taste, but one small piece of pasta, a smidgen of sauce, and a few bits of shellfish was not adequate in my opinion considering the price (nearly an eye watering €50 if memory serves me). I had the lamb for main and it was grand. But I have had way better lamb in much better valued places. Overall I believe you would want to have money to burn to go here, as I really feel you can get food that is just as good if not better elsewhere in Dublin, but not nearly as expensive.

Patrick Guilbaud

miahamm
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2011 (visited 9 September 2011)

Have always wanted to visit after fantastic experience at 1 Michelin star restaurant on Parnell Sq and finally booked a table for my 29th birthday last Friday. I had Salad of Smoked Eel, Lamb fillet, Chocolate Tart, and americano. My friend had Foie Gras, Turbot, Granny Smith Parfait, and americano as well. Everything was very good, expecially Foig Gras melted in my mouth and Granny Smith Parfait was so good I almost order another one for myself. With bottle of 2007 Burgundy, the bill was 390 euro before tipping. Brilliant food, not annoyingly attentive service, very relaxing atmosphere, and back garden is a must visit even though you are not a smoker. I would recommend this place to anyone for a special occasion, or even just for a romantic evening.

Patrick Guilbaud

summitone
Kildare
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 02nd August 2011 (visited 27 July 2011)

Had an evening with a group in Patrick Guilbaud's last week and overall it did not live up to the levels I had hoped. Dont get me wrong the food was very good and the service was excellent, however based in the prices and the position the restuarant holds I did not have the wow experience that you wiould expect and it did not benchmark against its peers. That X factor was missing Overall would not recommend and would not be going back in a hurry

Patrick Guilbaud

Alicat
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th March 2011 (visited 12 March 2011)

6 of us ate in Guilbauds a couple of weeks ago - with starters at €40 and one lobster main for €80, it is just too expensive for these times. Reports on the food were mixed - I have to say mine was lovely - crab followed by venison - but the chocolate dessert was a bit disappointing and others reported being disappointed with their meals. And I am never disappointed by chocolate. The service was not good enough for the price- we couldn't understand the waiter who was describing the courses and it was 1 hr 15 mins between ordering and the starter arriving. Also, one member of our table wasnt served wine with the rest of us, he had to reach for it himself. Also, the restaurant was too full which didnt make me feel very special for paying so much. Not good enough for 2 stars - wont be returning. At least until someone else pays!

Patrick Guilbaud

sengmana
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th March 2011 (visited 9 March 2011)

My partner and I had the 4 course tasting menu for €85 each. One word to describe the atmosphere, food, service and value: OUTSTANDING! The food was sooo fantastic wtih so much attention to detail with presentation, flavours and textures. After the appetiser we had a starter of pineapple canneloni with crab. Pineapple was used instead of pastry in traditional canneloni. It was rolled out really flat like pasta and filled with crab. Amazing. For our 2nd course we had cod with almonds. The cod was beautifully cooked and flaky. For our 3rd course we had venison. I am not a big fan of game but this venison was nothing like I have tasted before. It just melted in my mouth and was soooo soft and tender. A side of green beans and potato fondant was served too. Then we had petit four with a pre dessert. Followed by the star of the night, chocolate fondant with ice cream for dessert. Words cannot describe the chocolate fondant. The best dessert I have ever had in my life! Just when we though we were finished, a tray of handmade chocolates was served. We ate them too but were sooooo full we had to decline the tea and coffee at the end. We were also served bread throughout the meal. 8 different breads altogether I think. We tried them all. All delicious. All in all, we had a wonderful evening. Patrick's is a perfect place for a special occasion because everything in there is perfect! Will be back again.

Patrick Guilbaud

trays_m

44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th December 2010 (visited 11 December 2010)

Here Sat night. Food amazing. Love the fact there is such a good selection for vegetarians also. I had scallops to start......buttery and so tasty and I went for a vegetarian main (leek tart) which was amazing. Service was good but a little slow at the begining. Very expensive. All in all I thought the food was amazing and I would recommend it to anyone that like fine dining.....and has a big wallet

Patrick Guilbaud

Dejeuner
Dublin
41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 11th November 2010 (visited 6 November 2010)

I had lunch here on a Saturday. The 2 course for €38 and 3 course for €50 is great value given the full price of the same dishes on the dinner menu. Service was excellent, as you'd expect. The food was top-notch, if on the very sparse side. If you're a fan of fine dining, lunch here is great value.

Patrick Guilbaud

Ledbowie
Dublin
59 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd September 2010 (visited 18 September 2010)

This was our first time to the restaurant and we had received a voucher as a wedding present. The booking we made was for 8 o’clock and at no time during the meal did we feel rushed, there really is a relaxing atmosphere about the place, from the décor to the service, which is attentive and polite without seeming intrusive. When we arrived we were offered drinks in the lounge and had time to peruse the menus, which included the very extensive wine list. (A word of note, the tasting menu is not available on Saturday evenings.) Having made our choices for food and wine, and finished our pre dinner drink we were escorted into the main dining room. A lot of thought has gone into the design of the restaurant; the tables are well spread out and private. You sit inverted to your partner which is great for chatting etc. The wine and water we ordered were at our table when we were seated (nice touch). Now on to the food, there was a pre starter of Carpaccio of tuna with wasabi paste, this was a first for my wife and she enjoyed it. It was excellent and whetted the appetite for what was to come. The bread was fresh, tasty and beautifully made. The starters of truffle tortellini and crab cannelloni were excellent, some of the best pasta I’ve ever tasted. For the mains we had the roasted turbot with tarragon sauce and the wild mushroom risotto. Now, the only problem with the whole meal – the rice was slightly over cooked, this was disappointing as the flavours were exceptional. The fish was delicious and the sides were well suited. My wife ordered a strawberry desert which was good and I had a cheese board – has to be seen to be believed - 18 cheeses to choose from! There were numerous petite fors after dinner. All in all this is an expensive night out, but if you have a very special occasion I can’t recommend it enough. The patron Patrick Guilbaud came around to say hello and make sure everything was to our liking. Just go and don’t worry about the price!

Patrick Guilbaud

drfrank
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2010 (visited 28 August 2010)

As a treat for our 3rd wedding anniversary my wife and I went to Guilbaud's. I have to say that it was delightful but failed to hit the spot. The service..... faultless. The food...as one would expect from a michelin starred restaurant Value for money....poor I am certainly not averse to spending money on the finest food, however I thought Guilbaud's was 'chancing it's arm' somewhat. The food was good but it failed to reflect the prices being charged. There is far better valu for money to be found in the capital, and having eaten in Guilbaud's I am not suprised that it failed to be Dublin's No1 restaurant for the nth year running. The food was good but not worth the money.

Patrick Guilbaud

Grebe
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th April 2012 (visited 3 April 2012)

Guilbaud's is one of those restaurants that you have high expectations of: the food, the service, the attention to detail, the understated glamour. You keep it in mind for special occasions. Two years ago I was there twice, once to celebrate my own milestone birthday and again to celebrate a friend's. On both occasions I was delighted and as impressed as I'd expected to be. So Guilbaud's was the obvious choice for my husband and me when choosing somewhere to celebrate our twenty-fifth wedding anniversary last week. I booked on line about two and a half weeks before the event, and noted that the booking form has a field for entering special occasions. The two of us were very excited about our night out, despite the unexpected cold and rain. The experience at Guilbaud's that night was like the parson's egg: good in parts, not so good in others. First the good points: We appreciated the time taken to explain the degustation menu and to check our likes, dislikes and allergies. The food was delicious, as one would expect. The degustation menu was a good choice and gave us the opportunity to try out a whole range of things - the lobster ravioli stands out in my memory. The service was generally good despite some lapses. We had asked the sommelier to choose and serve glasses of wine to complement the courses of the degustation menu and we were delighted with everything put before us. There were some less pleasing points, mainly to do with the service but my written complaint has since been dealt with satisfactorily.

Patrick Guilbaud

gastronomo
Antrim
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 31st May 2010 (visited 28 May 2010)

This is obviously a restaurant you go to for very special occassions, and it certainly will not disappoint you. We have the most magnificent lunch which at €50 per head was really good value. The restaurant itself is a lovely airy room and each table has plenty of privacy. The service as you would expect was second to none, and Monsieur Guilbaud introduced himself to every table and enquired how everthing was. This is only a small gesture but pretty important I would imagine for a lot of chefs/proprietors. I had lobster vichyssoise, rack of lamb and cheese for desert all absolutely delicious. The only downside to the whole experience is that it will be very hard to top this. I would happily go again and recommend to anyone.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5078 ]