L'Gueuleton restaurant

No 1 Fade Street, Off Georges's Street, Dublin 2, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
French

Price Range:

€€

362 reviews
4 stars - based on 362 reviews

L'Gueuleton

Submit a review
L'Gueuleton

Dubliner76
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th August 2013 (visited 9 August 2013)

You could play golf with the profiteroles they're so hard - in fact I think I broke a tooth on one. You can just imagine them arriving in big black sacks. The waiter firstly refused to believe they were anything but delicious - 'I just had a plate of them myself' - so what? He returned later, in fairness, and murmured agreement that they were slightly solid (was he also missing a front tooth?). Still charged us for the uneaten plate of them though. Steak so so... the French Onion soup is delicious mind. Overall - just average all round - lots of better places in the locality so I see no reason to go back.

L'Gueuleton

peteylad
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd June 2013 (visited 1 June 2013)

We arrived at 9 30 while the atmosphere was still buzzing from earlier sitting however by 10-10 30 it had fizzled out and we were some of the last diners there, new daft punk album and trendy decor though still allowed a certain trendy ambience to continue though.Food was good and very French yet young and trendy! We all ordered from the group menu 35 per head for 3 courses and coffee with 5er supplement for steak which was well cooked and a decent rib eye,we all had that. Starters were good, onion soup was fresh with all onion caramelised slowly and not greasy, and mussels were tasty and in just the right amount of garlic butter and were not rubbery which often annoys me.deserts were refreshing as was needed after the very generous portions. Only slight downfall was the chips served with the steak which reminded me quite a lot of McDonald's chips and could have been more creative for these slightly higher end prices.Service was quick and the girl was nice and relaxed at same time,no fault there. I'd recommend it but two courses is plenty and I would like to try the snails or something more adventurous next time maybe and get an earlier sitting. Trendy place however not pretentious and large portions regardless of it being a French restaurant or not.

L'Gueuleton

dannypot
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2013 (visited 20 April 2013)

Excellent

L'Gueuleton

althea94
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th December 2012 (visited 17 December 2012)

Had lunch here yesterday, Have heard people raving about it for ages. Obviously these people have never dined anywhere good! We had the steak sandwich and the venison. Steak was full of fat and grizzle. Was almost a 10 inchs of fat on my plate, how could a chef over look this?? and then hide it in a sandwich.. far too much rocket and onion, this was served with a bowl of mushy chips that tasted like the oil need a change, was horrible. My friend had the venison. She said it was ok, she ate it as she was hungry and after waiting 25 mins for our food we were starving. The house wine we couldn't drink, awful. Don't know how they got the cat to balance on the bottle. When i complained about meal and wine, they took the wine of the bill. Won't be back. Food is terrible, service is very slow and we couldn't even see to eat as the place is so badly lit. No atmosphere and over priced.

L'Gueuleton

caroline0509
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th November 2012 (visited 15 November 2012)

really nice food - great produce with friendly service and atmosphere

L'Gueuleton

linksma
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd October 2012 (visited 20 October 2012)

Have been thinking of trying out L'Gueuleton for quite a while - had loads of good feedback from friends. So here we went! Our table voted as top starters: Black pudding; Chicken Liver and Foie Gras Parfait Our table voted as top main: Slow Roast Belly of Pork Portions of mains are very generous, thus everyone who had and a starter and a main were quit stuffed afterwards. House wine was great - and red, and white. One thing we didn't like - service at the beginning was bad... Took us ages to place our order and when we managed to draw attention of one waitress - we felt like she was making us a huge favour for taking our orders... Thankfully when food started coming different people were doing brilliant job!! (especially the guy with a moustache!!!). Will go back as food was great and welcoming casual atmosphere.

L'Gueuleton

Bondi
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th September 2012 (visited 15 September 2012)

Went here at 6. As it just opened. Staff are great as just attentive enough but discrete as well. We didn't have any starters. Which I'm glad we didn't as both of us went for the steaks. Absolutely cooked to perfection. With a side of chips. We were completely full after and couldn't even think of a desert. This is a great restaurant and we will be returning.

L'Gueuleton

blueslady

11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th August 2012 (visited 4 August 2012)

Went to try this restaurant, having had heard rave reviews from friends. We weren't sorry! We arrived early(ish) for us, normally we like to eat quite late but we'd been told you can't book so arrived at 8.30 or so, and got a table no bother, although it really wasn't the best table in the house, being on a direct path from the kitchen to various other tables. In retrospect, I should have asked to be moved, which I don't think would have been a problem - the serving staff are really efficient and nice. My starter of foie gras was suitably decadent and divinely tasty, and hubby's charcuterie board was plentiful, fresh and varied. I opted for chicken for the mains, which was divinely moist cornfed chicken (the real deal) with a delightful dressing and the accompanying dressed leaves and spuds were delicious....himself went for the steak option, and was delighted for once to have his steak cooked as ordered.....we had no room for dessert, always a good sign of value in a restaurant, and with one double espresso and a good bottle of Chilean red, our bill was approximately €70 before tip. We'll definitely be back - the room is buzzy and chatty and might be a bit loud for some, but we loved the atmosphere!

L'Gueuleton

hamstervision
Wicklow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th May 2012 (visited 26 May 2012)

I had a parfait to start, which was utterly delicious. For mains I ordered the t-bone steak; I asked for it blue, it came rare at best but it was still delicious, as were the chips that came with. I really enjoyable experience and would definitely recommend. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

L'Gueuleton

yuminmytum
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 20 April 2012)

Two of us went for dinner, really love the atmosphere at this restaurant. Food was very good and decent prices too. Wine is a bit on the expensive side though, could be slightly cheaper. Service was good. Looking forward to going back

L'Gueuleton

LFN
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th March 2012 (visited 9 March 2012)

Visited with a friend on a busy Friday evening at 6pm. Had the beetroot, puy lentil & goats cheese salad as a starter, which was lovely but would have been too much for a main - that said I would have loved more goats cheese on it. I had the Morrocan spiced lamb and sweet potato chips for main - while it was lovely, I felt it was very overpriced at almost €20. We had a nice bottle of wine and finished with 2 Calypso coffees which were heaven. Service was very attentive and there was no pressure to buy bottled water. Would definitely return but choose different main course. Finally, it would make it a lot easier to find if it had its business name displayed outside.

L'Gueuleton

Blanch
Dublin
61 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 08th May 2012 (visited 7 May 2012)

Went for dinner here with a friend. Was pretty quiet as it was a bank holiday Monday. She had the snails and the steak which were good. I had the pork belly which was very good. Definitely one to go back to, maybe when it's a little busier.

L'Gueuleton

Kildare2002
Kildare
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd January 2012 (visited 21 January 2012)

Restaurant was extremely busy , it was a Saturday night! Great service from staff that really worked extremely hard! There was a great buzz in the restaurant. Food was top notch. All of the dishes were superb. ....and great vakue into the bargain. A little tricky to get a booking though!

L'Gueuleton

homechefd
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th January 2012 (visited 5 January 2012)

I really love this place , great atmosphere and rib eye to die for , service relaxed and great fun to watch the kitchen in full swing. Will defo be back!

L'Gueuleton

Frenchlady
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th November 2011 (visited 7 November 2011)

I am French and I had dinner there with with 4 friends.This restaurant should not be labelled as French,some starters are vaguely French ,surely not oysters with cheese on top !?None of the main dishes are French.It was not busy but the service was slow,sitting arrangement was awkward and we were back to back with people of next table.I had to put my coat on a hook at the end of the room myself.Food was not impressive duck magret salad was a pool of oil with undercooked cold magrets swimming in it.Dessert was a pale and tasteless copy of a creme caramel.Waitress almost pulled menus out of our hands and landed water jugs on the table like grenades on a battlefield.We won't be back

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6274 ]