Fallon and Byrne restaurant

11-17 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

483 reviews
4 stars - based on 483 reviews

Fallon and Byrne

Submit a review
Fallon and Byrne

JEmerson
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th April 2015 (visited 16 April 2015)

Booked a table for 6.30pm for four on a Thursday evening. Food was very good but haven't experienced such awful service in a long time. We felt hurried from the beginning, the constant filling of wine glasses was extremely annoying but what was worse was that immediately after finishing desserts the bill was produced. A manager then appeared and told us they needed the table for a group of people who had already arrived and that we "should have known" we only had the table for 2 hours. Noone had told us this when they were happy to accept the booking. One of our party went to the bathroom and we started to get the bill together. In this time they appeared at the table 4 times and piled up plates and glasses on a shelf behind my friend to reset the table. It was just plain rude. Won't be back.

Fallon and Byrne

pauld6789
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2015 (visited 7 March 2015)

The food here is very good and inventive. The portions are on the small side so you wont leave stuffed.It's definitely worth a visit though.

Fallon and Byrne

fgoulding
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th February 2015 (visited 7 February 2015)

Fallon and Byrne is great. An excellent wine bar in the basement and a great food shop on the ground floor. Last night we tried the upstairs restaurant and it looks in reality a much nicer place than the photos. The food is excellent but the portions are tiny. So you'll need to factor in a dessert which can push the price up a bit. All in all, a good place for a special occasion but you'll find us downstairs from now on (we know our place!).

Fallon and Byrne

ri_ra
Dublin
53 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 18th January 2015 (visited 16 January 2015)

It was a nice night out there, but the food and wine are on the expensive side to be considered good value. I had the rib eye steak and it was on the small side and just tasted fine. Nothing to rave about. I also had the smoked salmon as a starter and it was very cold - to the point that it was hard to get much flavor from the smoked salmon. I did have a lovely glass of rjoja wine, but at 10 per glass it would want to be lovely. It's a nice room, but it can be very loud and some of the tables are a bit close to each other, so it's a bit too easy to hear the conversation at the table beside you which can be annoying.

Fallon and Byrne

Slurryhead
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd December 2014 (visited 29 November 2014)

Wife and I popped in here for something fast on a Saturday night. The place was buzzing and the upstairs restaurant was fully booked for the following 2 hours. We bought a starter of beetroot and pear salad, which we shared, and 2 lovely main courses (beef stew plus lamb curry) which we were able to take with us to the wine cellar to eat. There we had some nice craft beers to go with our meal. We could have purchased a bottle of wine from the cellar and consumed it for a €10 corkage fee. There was a great atmosphere but, if anything, it was a bit too noisy. Great value and excellent simple food right in the centre of town.

Fallon and Byrne

finconnA
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd November 2014 (visited 11 October 2014)

feeling peckish and with time to kill before meeting a friend last month. so i chose the restaurant option in fallon and byrne's three story emporium. grilled goats cheese starter to start; followed by perfectly pan fried sea bream with delicious sides and fries. minimum of fuss and left entirely happy. will be back very soon - because their burgers look absolutely fantastic. salivation -

Fallon and Byrne

ferdiam
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th September 2014 (visited 12 September 2014)

Great service and food

Fallon and Byrne

EmmaKate
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2014 (visited 13 September 2014)

Great food in a great setting, in the heart of Dublin city. Beautiful wines.

Fallon and Byrne

janielcat
Meath
104 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2014 (visited 12 September 2014)

The staff were all very professional. I had the Caerar Salad and my Husband had the Smoked Cod for starters both were really good. For mains we had the Hake and the Rib-Eye Steak both were really good.My husband had the Panna Cotta he said it was very good. The room is really beautiful. The water, Coffee and Espresso was really good. We also had a bottle of Les Foncanelles Sauvignon Blanc it was very good and just the right temperature.

Fallon and Byrne

burren
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th August 2014 (visited 29 August 2014)

very enjoyable night here lovely food and service- must comment though very loud so not a place for meeting for big chat !

Fallon and Byrne

Dukes
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th August 2014 (visited 5 August 2014)

Really disappointing, just had a Ruben... rock hard and freezing cold in the middle.

Fallon and Byrne

jme
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd July 2014 (visited 21 June 2014)

Great for a lunch catchup with the girls. Cheese and meat board very tasty, pate wasn't great. Overall a nice place for lunch if your looking for something light.

Fallon and Byrne

susanaft1

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th June 2014 (visited 13 June 2014)

Enjoyable but very very loud restaurant.

Fallon and Byrne

GrubGrapeGrain
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st May 2014 (visited 16 May 2014)

A light supper in the basement consisting of the boar terrine, cheeseboard and dips. The boar terrine and the open prawn sandwich are my two favourite dishes on the basement menu - just perfect! They had a delicious Spanish Rioja, Artuke, open that night that was just sublime. Usually, I am not blown away by many of the wines by the glass but I know that one and its a solid, tasty rioja. Service, although they are nice folks, is abysmally slow but somehow it doesn't seem to matter as much when surrounded by good food and nice wine.

Fallon and Byrne

tablepourdeux
Dublin
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th April 2014 (visited 19 April 2014)

This was our first visit to the upstairs restaurant for lunch on a Saturday. We hadn't booked but got there just after 12 pm and were seated under the large mirrors that adorn the back wall. The atmosphere is very "bistro" as was the menu. We settled for the set lunch menu with two courses for just over €20 per person and we both started with the Fivemiletown goat’s cheese tart, white onion marmalade, port & star anise reduction and rocket salad. This wasn't my idea of a classic goat's cheese tart - rather it was designed to be kitchen friendly and quick to prepare. In fairness, the flavours were excellent - a beautiful sweet onion marmalade and the goat's cheese was delicately flavoured (not overly "goaty") and generous in quantity. However, the pastry base disappointed. To call it a tart is perhaps somewhat inaccurate.My partner's grilled fillet of plaice, crushed new potato, mango, shallot & coriander salsa was deemed to be very tasty by my partner but sized perhaps for ladies who lunch and not for their gentlemen companions. For myself I went with the rib-eye steak (€5.00 supplement) which was requested medium-rare. The steak arrived cooked to my instructions but I struggled to cut it due to both its toughness and the fact that there was quite a bit of gristle in the cut. It came with decent fries and a wonderful sweetish black pepper sauce that may have had a hint of brandy or port in it. However, at least a third of the steak remained uneaten on the plate which was removed by the waiter without query as to whether the dish was enjoyed or not. The maître d' did ask if everything had been OK as he accepted our credit card and did offer a dessert or glass of wine when I explained about my steak, which was declined. I can see why this is a popular restaurant in terms of atmosphere, but a steak should be an easy plate to get right. Maybe we will return to see if I was just unlucky, but with so many very good restaurants in Dublin today it might be quite a while before that happens.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6241 ]