Chez Max (Palace Street) restaurant

1 Palace Street, Dublin 2, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
French

Price Range:

€€

279 reviews
4 stars - based on 279 reviews

Chez Max (Palace Street)

Submit a review
Chez Max (Palace Street)

TheDrivelMachine
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th August 2014 (visited 3 August 2014)

I absolutely love Chez Max! It is my favourite spot in Dublin. I always feel so refreshed after a few hours here, like I've taken a mini break to Paris. The atmosphere is great. The food is amazing, although I do limit myself mostly to the charcuterie board, because it is so delicious, sociable and such great value for money. The staff are so charismatic and friendly. They are perfectly happy to let you relax all night long over coffees, desserts and booze! Cannot recommend this fabulous restaurant enough!

Chez Max (Palace Street)

deshouli

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st August 2014 (visited 31 July 2014)

overall a positive experience. Staff a bit too quick to try clear off your table even though you may of wanted to go back for the final spoon of desert

Chez Max (Palace Street)

Mermaid Girl
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th June 2014 (visited 14 June 2014)

This is a good restaurant and well worth a visit. I was impressed and I would go back; however, I was with a friend who is a coeliac and the waiting staff were very unsure which made my friend nervous about ordering. It is worth mentioning that the friend had rang beforehand and reassured that there would be no problem! However, the waiting staff did not appear to know what a coeliac was! But overall, a good meal and good value for money

Chez Max (Palace Street)

Grainne777

29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th June 2014 (visited 3 June 2014)

Been meaning to eat in here for ages as I have previously eaten at the Baggot St establishment. The heavy downpour of rain this week gave me an excuse to step in. I sat outside and the staff kindly put on the heating for me which was great and very warm despite the downpour. I had a glass of wine and the chicken supreme with pilau rice which was really tasty. Staff were very attentive and there was a really nice buzzy atmosphere in the restaurant. I will definitely return,

Chez Max (Palace Street)

Sixx
Dublin
75 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th April 2014 (visited 26 April 2014)

This was my first time here, it's a nice place and there are a lot of French customers so that is always a good sign for me! The waiter told me the French Onion Soup was Vegetarian but I was a bit dubious about that! They are excellent at refilling your water and asking if you need more drinks etc without a long wait.

Chez Max (Palace Street)

helen.fahey
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th April 2014 (visited 14 March 2014)

I love Chez Max, it's such a treat. A little taste of Paris in Dublin. A lovely place to escape to and the food is delicious. The staff are always so friendly. Two thumbs up!

Chez Max (Palace Street)

ginnelly

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 8 March 2014)

Had dinner here a few weeks ago and must say have not hing bad to say. It was such a brilliant experience. The food was superb it was breath taking absolutely top class food. It was also a very romantic atmosphere place to dine in.

Chez Max (Palace Street)

ginnelly

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 8 March 2014)

It was such a lovely experience - food and atmosphere was absolutely breath taking. Very Romantic place.

Chez Max (Palace Street)

RestaurantFan99
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th February 2014 (visited 23 February 2014)

Had lunch here yesterday and what a find! It's a little piece of Paris in the heart of Dublin. I have eaten in the Baggot St location before (on the terrace in the sun) and whilst this is quite a different experience, we'll definitely be back. Lovely, relaxing french music playing in the background, excellent staff and the atmosphere was relaxing. Food was great - I had the Tartine Savoyarde and my husband had the omelette special - both were good. Excellent value too from the set "formule" menus. Had to try the apple meringue tartlet for dessert and it was lovely. As I said, we'll be back!

Chez Max (Palace Street)

Sameoin
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th November 2013 (visited 19 November 2013)

Went yesterday and had the early bird with the better half. The food was very average. I had the pork belly starte - which was very tender and well cooked, but very small. the missus had the goats cheese tart which was quite nice. Both were dressed with the same house salad which was very 'meh' and reminded me of a country pub. Our mains were poor. My beef berouginon was insiped. Bland, under seasoned, tough meat in a sauce which tasted of almost nothing. The potatoes were well cooke though. Her chicken was very dry and, i thought, quite small. The rice wa well cooked. Im not sure whether the food is alwasy this bad (iys been 5 years since my last visit) or whether the kitchen just had a bad day but i wont be rushing back to find out. In fairness though, the waittress and the resteraunt manager were both very nice so at least the service was good.

Chez Max (Palace Street)

Kidomu
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th October 2013 (visited 8 October 2013)

Have been here before and the food is still as lovely as ever. There was 5 of us so the only place to sit was in the middle. As Chez Max is very compact we were worried that our seats would mean that we would constantly have people running past us but since the restaurant was not full that was not the case. It was the birthday of one of the guest's who promptly got Happy Birthday sung to her in French.

Chez Max (Palace Street)

paulcboyle
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th September 2013 (visited 11 September 2013)

Excellent. Ordered dinner and a bottle of house red. All was great, and the atmosphere was really relaxed. Definately will be returning.

Chez Max (Palace Street)

fanofgoodservice
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 04th September 2013 (visited 28 August 2013)

Chez Max on Palace St never disappoints. Its menu has remained consistent and the wine list very affordable, which explains its popularity and why it’s a good idea to book in advance some days. I met a mate for dinner here recently for a catch-up; the atmosphere is conducive to long, unrushed evenings. We started with the blue cheese & chicken salad and rabbit rillettes respectively, followed by duck and steak mains and coffee. Faultless. And a handy location for drinks in town afterwards!

Chez Max (Palace Street)

manorborn
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th August 2013 (visited 1 August 2013)

lovely little restaurant, great atmosphere. really felt very French. I had the steak which came with loads of chips but really could have done with a little more vegetables, it only came with small amount of beans. staff were very friendly and helpful

Chez Max (Palace Street)

Charmonster
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th February 2013 (visited 20 February 2013)

I love the food here, but sometimes the staff leave a lot to be desired for. They can be too 'quick' and i have felt a little rushed sometimes, but then i think the fact i go back here so often says a lot for the delicious food. Just please Max, calm your staff down and let us all just have a nice time!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6277 ]