Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar restaurant

11 Upper Baggot Street, Dublin 4, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Cuisine:
Brasserie

Price Range:

€€€€

104 reviews
4 stars - based on 104 reviews

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Submit a review
Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Criax
Dublin
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2012 (visited 3 December 2011)

I have been there twice with my girlfriend and we really loved it both times. There is a really nice atmosphere, cosy and romantic. Above all, the food is delicious, the menu is really good. I ordered the foie gras and then venison which was cooked perfectly and really tender, and my girlfriend had prawns as a starter and the guineafowl as main course which she really enjoyed too. I ordered the chocolate soup for dessert, which was delightful! The service was good and we didn't have to wait for the food. We highly recommend this restaurant to anyone even though it is a bit outside the city centre, you will not be disappointed.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Astryciann
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th February 2012 (visited 4 February 2012)

Nice restaurant with great service and good food. I personally loved the 3 courses I had (foie gras, venison and chocolate soup) and my boyfriend liked his alright. I just wish it was less expensive...

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Sputnik
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd February 2012 (visited 12 September 2011)

Went on deal food ok when it finally arrived. waiter brought wrong dish to my wife the correct dish took another 40 minutes to arrive out by that time I had finished my meal did not put my wife order to the top of the list people who came in after got served first anyboady can make a mistake but should have serviced her first

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

cdunne1
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th January 2012 (visited 14 January 2012)

Ate here last night with my aunt and Gran with a GrabOne voucher which helped eased the cost (worth 70 and paid 35), big time. We avoided starters not any particular reason but I think my guests were probably conscious of how I would be picking up the tab (I'm a student) as dinner was their birthday and Christmas presents. Anyway Gran's venison was divine. Only word for it! My aunt couldn't stop complementing the lamb, though admittedly I didn't try it myself. My sea bream was beautifully cooked and tasted so fresh and yummy! The side salad that accompanied it was disappointingly drenched in a dressing, which is probably my own fault - I should have specified no dressing but nonetheless it was tasty. The food was beautiful but I do have a problem with the wine list. The cheapest was 25, which was sold out - for obvious reasons I imagine. There were only two or three left in the 20 bracket which I think is a joke in this day and age. I would have happily ordered another bottle to round off our evening but it was cost prohibitive. My aunt and gran had liqeur coffees instead and they tasted great. Service was charming and the restaurant ambience strikes a delicate balance between sophistication and comfort. I thought it was particularly amusing to see the chefs put the finishing touches to our mains on the pass which peeks onto the floor. I would be inclined to go again but the wine needs to be more keenly priced. I would probably avail of their early evening special next time too.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

JoLo
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd December 2011 (visited 21 December 2011)

Had lunch here yesterday. I was glad I booked, but then it is Christmas week. We both had the steak sandwich, which was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection but I think a more appropriate description of it would be 'steak bruschetta'. It was tiny. It was one brushetta sized, diagonal slice of french bread. Granted it was topped with caramleised onions and sautéed mushrooms that were the best teamed accompaniment and expertly prepared. But what would have been a better accompaniment? Another slice of bread and some more steak! Ok, it did also come with a tiny portion of fries, again beautifully presented and prepared. But our requests for condiments were never fulfilled - again though, it is Christmas week and they were quite busy. The place is lovely, the staff are very nice but at €14 for a tiny steak bruschetta I'm not sure it's great value for money. But I think I'll give it another go and try the dinner menu before I completely write it off

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Aido_b23
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th December 2011 (visited 12 December 2011)

I recently ate there with a friend on a quite Monday evening. I really enjoyed my visit and I would recommend the place to anyone. I had a voucher for 70 euro from a deal. The meal came to about 80 which was fine. We both had starters, mains and shared a desert, two glasses of wine and coffee. I really liked the place and I wasn't too bothered that it was quite, as it was early on a Monday. I had the fig salad which was fantastic, only partially out done by the guinea fowl for main. Excellent dish, very well cooked with nice side dishes. My friend had the hazelnut leek soup(i think) which was lovely. The sea bream was a little on the big side but very nice. We had the creme brulee to finish and the coffee and wine were also very nice indeed. The waiting staff were really excellent and very attentive without being intrusive. Overall it was excellent. A little pricey maybe without a voucher but I enjoyed the place and the food. Thank you!

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Zigomar
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:70%

Reviewed 04th December 2011 (visited 1 December 2011)

Lovely restaurant, Top quality food. Portion sizes are just right and the flavours superb. We ate there early weekday evening so it's difficult to judge atmosphere as the restaurant was virtually empty. Staff were friendly and service was excellent and I will happily return. I had the steak and it was one of the best i've had in Dublin for some time.. though the fries were a little tired.. The other main course was the sea bream which was also served to perfection with superb home fried potatoes.. The soup and paté starters were fantastic. The meal was very good value and less than this food would normally warrant. Good one..

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

littlepace
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2011 (visited 21 September 2011)

I had purchased a deal through menu pages for €39 for two starters, two mains and a glass of wine. I booked the table though the website which all worked fine. Arriving to the restaurant has the only negativity that the entrance outside is tacky compared to the beautiful design inside the restaurant. The atmosphere is really good and the style of the place is very nice. We ordered a bottle of prosecco as it was a celebration night and it was very nice. We both had foie gras for starters which arrived hot and was absolutely beautiful. For the main course I had scallops and my friend had steak and they very absolutely gorgeous. The two glasses of wine included in the deal were really good wines. We really enjoyed the night and would go back again for other celebration times.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

sretaw
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd November 2011 (visited 14 November 2011)

Visited here using a voucher and was most impressed. It was a Monday evening but still reasonably busy and as a previous reviewer said low on front of house staff. However, most definitely not low on quality of staff - very efficient and friendly and we never felt either rushed or neglected. The food was excellent and we were pleased that we were not charged any supplements for higher priced dishes. I started with the fig and goat's cheese salad and it was really tasty and my husband had a soup which he really enjoyed. We both went for the rib-eye steak and thoroughly enjoyed it. We finished off with a fruit crumble for him and a peppermint tea for me. A really enjoyable meal but I would have felt a bit on the expensive side if we had been paying the full price for the meal we actually had. Would definitely recommend Bloom Brasserie - especially with discount voucher.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

faultycar
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th November 2011 (visited 4 November 2011)

Have down-graded the service in this review because the only fault we found with Blooms was the lack of staff. We had booked a table to celebrate an occasion and the restaurant was full due to the match being on last night, the roster did not appear to reflect this fact and we had to wait ages for both service and our food, all the tables in our section had to double-request their drinks or sides. That being said when the food did arrive it was faultless and the restaurant does have a fantastic wine list. I recommend the lamb main course..it was just perfect! We are going to try this restaurant again but most definitely shall be going on a quiet mid week night next time!

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Gobsheen
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th October 2011 (visited 24 October 2011)

Went with a voucher which covered two courses and glass of wine for two. Great value as supplements for early bird didn't apply to voucher. Had the pate for starter which was delicious - with very tasty bread - my dining partner had the prawns which came in a delicious lemon and garlic sauce. Main course was the 10oz Rib Eye. Without exaggeration, one of the best steaks I've ever had. Had it medium, cooked perfectly, well seasoned, juicy with gorgeous flavour. Excellent home made chips accompanied it. My partner had the lamb, which she really liked but was slightly disappointed they were chops rather than roast - just because you get mostly fat with chops. Dessert was stunning - if you go make sure to try the hazelnut chocolate soup. It's warm hazlenut/chocolate sauce on a bed of moist chocolate fondant. Superb. Friendly and obliging service, decor and ambience modern but warm. We'll be going back. Highly recommended.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Stefania23
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th October 2011 (visited 30 August 2011)

went here for a romantic meal on a citydeal voucher. we were both very impressed with the selection of the menu that was included. We decided to treat ourselves and upgrade from the house wine that was included. Great service and a lovely atmosphere in this discreet basement restaurant. Will happily return to try more of the menu.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

thereyago
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd October 2011 (visited 22 October 2011)

We had a living-social voucher for 2 course meal, plus 2 glasses of wine. We had a very long wait to get our food. We didn't get our glass of wine for 45mins and didn't get our starter for over 1 hour. We where a bit disappointed as we are new parents and this was our first meal out together in 5 months. We had drunk our included glass of wine before the starter even arrived! On the plus side when the food did arrive it was exquisite. We both had prawns for starter which was very good. Then both mains where very nice indeed. We had vension and ribeye steak. The vension was to die for and the ribeye was perfect too. Food here is as good as you will get anywhere. We were just very disappointed with the delay in getting a drink (45mins) and a starter 1hr15mins. And no apology for it either. But I guess with a voucher we were not top priority. But if you want to taste a top notch menu this is the place.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Megane
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2011 (visited 15 October 2011)

We visited on Saturday night last were using a Living & Social deal voucher. Having read the reviews we didnt have expectations too high. We were blown away by this place! The food was absolutely fantastic, prawns to start and Connemara lamb and a mushroom risotto for mains. The creme brulee was to die for also. The only negative was that the wines were a bit on the pricy side. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We will definitely be back and took several business cards and have already distributed them to our friends who live locally.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

fletch
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th October 2011 (visited 15 October 2011)

We went here using a grabone voucher, 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 glasses of wine for €40. The food, atmosphere and service were all top notch. The food was stunning, beautifully presented, tasty, perfectly portioned and full of flavours. It's something that's hard to describe but the tables are positioned in such a way that they feel very private, like nobody can overhear your conversation. The voucher included two free glasses of wine however neither my guest nor I drink wine so we just ordered minerals instead. We expected to be charged for the minerals, however much to our surprise, when the bill arrived we weren't charged. Would I return? Yes, without a doubt but only on a special occasion as it would be a little out of my budget.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5006 ]