Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar restaurant

11 Upper Baggot Street, Dublin 4, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Cuisine:
Brasserie

Price Range:

€€€€

104 reviews
4 stars - based on 104 reviews

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Submit a review
Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

suzo800
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 10th January 2014 (visited 4 January 2014)

Don't let the narrow entrance put you off this restaurant, once you enter you are in restaurant Heaven. The restaurant itself is beautifully fitted out, but the highlights, the food and service, are second to none in Dublin. Starters of slow cooked pig, and house salad - with the most delicious creamy goats cheese - were declared Heavenly. Mains of steak and venison also declared amazing dishes and fab tasting meat. I had the Salmon - the usual fresh fish was unavailable due to the weather - however I wasn't keen on the accompanying broth, but loved the sound of the parsnip puree - this was overheard by our waiter Padraig and chef duly served me a delicious plate which I cleared completely. On to desserts, the only disappointing dish of the night, the Chocolate mousse, was a little grainy, but the poached pear made up for it. I don't like poached pears but this dish just wowed the taste buds. The Amaretto cream worked so very well, a lovely plate of food. I love the idea of ordering the cheese board by individual cheeses and paying for each. It means you get to choose the exact cheeses you want. The service was friendly, professional and excellent, without in anyway being intrusive on our night. A thoroughly enjoyable evening, certainly looking forward to visiting again. If I had to nit-pick....well I just don't like slate plates, in any restaurant, next time we'll know to ask for 'real' plates!!

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

amyyinzhang
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th October 2013 (visited 25 October 2013)

Had a lunch meeting, music was a bit loud during the lunch. But food was as good as always, so was the service. Will go back again for sure.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Marymd

22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 22nd August 2013 (visited 24 July 2013)

Very good food in a bistro style restaurant in a basement

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Marymd

22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 22nd August 2013 (visited 24 July 2013)

Very good food in a bistro style restaurant in a basement

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Feed-Me!
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th January 2013 (visited 25 January 2013)

We've been to Bloom on a few occasions as it's just around the corner. We popped in yesterday fairly early in the evening and decided to go for the early evening menu - 2 courses and a glass of house wine for €25. The food was absolutely perfect, in particular my starter of celeriac and hazelnut soup. I'm thinking about going back in to beg for the recipe. The menu in Bloom is really good. Good vegetarian options and great choice for meat eaters too. Lots of game and fish. The service was excellent and the house wine was really great for the price. We had several glasses! There's a lovely relaxed atmosphere too.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

southenstar
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2013 (visited 20 December 2012)

Fantastic experience as per usual. I have visited a few times now and am never disappointed! We were so well looked after, food was fantastic and staff were superb. It is always a pleasurable dining experience - and at a very affordable price. Love the place and am thinking about having my 30 birthday party there. Wish it all the luck for 2013!

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Verifyor
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th December 2012 (visited 15 December 2012)

Dined here on the last sitting of a Saturday evening. Granted that it was coming up to Christmas and the resteraunt was full the service was still very slow. The seating was cramped. I had the pheasant which was over cooked and lacked imagination. The rib eye steak was nicely cooked but was covered in pepper sause which was not what I asked for. The apple crumble desert was nice and the highlight of the evening. We had two bottles of wine which was over priced especially in an area surrounded by BYOB. Lacked value, lacked service and food not amazing. Would not dine off the Dinner Menu here unfortunately.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

FoodMonkey
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th October 2012 (visited 28 September 2012)

I bought one of those living social deals a while back for this place and only just got to use it. it was pay €30 for €60 worth of food, it seemed generous enough, but as the mains are a good 25 each, the additional bill for wine, coffee etc was about €60. Better than a poke in the eye, but not as good value for money as you would hope. The food was excellent - I had the gambas to start and the lamb main, the wine was delicious and the service attentive but not all over you. We were there early in the evening, but the atmosphere was absolutely dead. There were maybe two other couples in the back and I almost felt like I had to whisper. Maybe that's just because it was 7pm on a Friday and it picks up as the evening goes on. It really is a nice place though if it can generate a bit more buzz.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Ellie83
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd October 2012 (visited 24 July 2012)

I visited Bloom for the first time with a friend who had bought a Living Social or City Deal voucher for two starters, two mains etc. The restaurant seems to be existing on these vouchers mid week it would seem. Bar a roudy work crowd down the back and a couple of other tables, it was very dead! But then it was a horrible night. Despite that we had a lovely meal. My salad starter was delicious, right size and right seasoning. The chicken I had for main was nice but quite bland unfortunately as many chicken dishes can be. Lovely wine though and after what seemed like forever a delicious creme brulee. I wouldn't rush back but at the same time I'm sure a weekend visit would do it more justice. You have to commend them for trying in these tough times where restaurants mid week are slow.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

AstroGirl
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th June 2012 (visited 27 April 2012)

I've been to this restaurant twice now and have enjoyed my dining experience on both occasions. The restaurant itself does not look like anything special from the outside, so it is a pleasant surprise when you walk down the stairs and come across the modern decor. I've eaten the risotto and the lamb as mains. The risotto is quite average but not too bad. The lamb was overcooked and not succulent enough for my liking. I've tried the fig salad as a started which was very tasty and I liked the combination of the of roasted walnuts and pear mixed in with rocket and figs. For dessert, the chocolate soup is unbelievable and highly recommended! The waiters are high class and they do their job well. The European guy is particularly attentive and helpful without being overbearing. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant for an evening out, but would say to try it out the Early Bird or special vouchers to get good value for your money.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

rhona.oconnor
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd June 2012 (visited 20 April 2012)

Went here for the 2nd time, the 1st was a really good experiance. However the 2nd was a bad one. Food was ok, just. Starter was over cooked, Every main course had the same Jus poured on it, we could see it happening! There is a glass pannel and it is very hard to see, my pal moved to avoid a water coming along and banged her head badly on it, then knocked a candle all over her self, distroying her dress. the staff did not care, did not offer to help in any way. We were told they were short staffed! left our number but no one called. Not good customer service, we wont be back!

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

Stealth
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th May 2012 (visited 28 May 2012)

It was our first time visiting this restaurant and we really enjoyed the food and service. Nice place :)

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

jimmyg
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2012 (visited 21 May 2012)

Visited Bloom last night (Monday) with my wife and once again had a wonderful meal. This was maybe our 5/6th visit and the quality of food and service never fails us. I would agree with some other reviews that it can be a little pricey, but last night we were using a voucher purchased on a "deal" website which made for great value. Being a Monday it was initially quiet with perhaps only 5/6 others present, but during our stay perhaps a further 8/10 people arrived, which made for a better atmosphere. I love some of the tables for two along the wall which have one person sitting in a recess, so even if it were particualrly busy it would give a sense of privacy. For starters we had the crab dish and a seared chicken liver - both excellently presented, and were very tasty. For mains my wife had her favourite rack of lamb, which as usual was superb, and I had the squab of pigeon, which was really good - two breasts were served together with the legs done in a confit style. It was accompanied by a lovely chestnut/mushroom mix which suited the pigeon meat. We shared a creme brulee dessert - loved the heavy vanilla tones The wines by the glass offering was good - starting with a crisp chablis, and a suprisingly good French Merlot for the mains - good value at I think €6 or €7 euro and a great accompianment to both the lamd and the pigeon.. We finished with two cappucinos, which really hit the spot. As usual service was inobtrusive yet friendly, and we look forward to our next visit.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

AliBreen
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 02nd May 2012 (visited 31 March 2012)

I brought my mum here as a treat. Although a little pricey, it was worth every cent. The food was exquisite and the service was fabulous. I had the sea trout to start and have been thinking of it ever since. I had the lamb for main, which was great but my mum got the sea bream which gave me some serious food envy. Overall, a great experience and I will be returning.

Bloom Brasserie & Wine Bar

AliBreen
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 02nd May 2012 (visited 31 March 2012)

I brought my mum here as a treat. Although a little pricey, it was worth every cent. The food was exquisite and the service was fabulous. I had the sea trout to start and have been thinking of it ever since. I had the lamb for main, which was great but my mum got the sea bream which gave me some serious food envy. Overall, a great experience and I will be returning.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5103 ]