Alex Restaurant

Conrad Hotel, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2, City Centre South, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Seafood

Price Range:

€€€€

44 reviews
4 stars - based on 44 reviews

Alex Restaurant

Submit a review
Alex Restaurant

StTottering
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 12th October 2011 (visited 22 September 2011)

I ate lunch in the Alex Restaurant in the Conrad with work a few weeks ago. Given the plush surroundings of the hotel I had high expectations and I have to say was not disappointed. The food and service were top class. My main of lamb with horse radish mash, is I have to say one of the tastiest meals I have had in recent times. Given that the set menu was €25 per head from what I can remember, it's not cheap for lunch but given the quality of the food it is definitely worth it. I'll be looking for an excuse to return as soon as possible.

Alex Restaurant

sretaw
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2011 (visited 29 August 2011)

Went for a meal with a friend before going to Concert Hall. Very efficient and friendly greeting at the entrance to restaurant and this continued through the meal. Friend had the halibut which she enjoyed and I had the battered cod and chips with mushy peas. While I shouldn't have been surprised about it, I found the cod extra filling but without the batter still very tasty. We each had a glass of house wine which was dear enough at over €8 each. However, the big minus was the absolutely ridiculous and pretentious serving plates for our food. They were like dishes for serving a giant-sized banana split and most unsuitable for a main course - they made lifting the food very difficult and really were much too OTT. Would opt for sandwiches in the bar next time - a lot cheaper than the €63 for two mains with two glasses of wine and much easier to eat!

Alex Restaurant

ansionnachcliste
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th June 2011 (visited 19 June 2011)

What an establishment. It is very posh, and the clientelle are somewhat too, but the food is delicious. It is very expensive but if you're out for a treat, then it is a nice place to go to. I tried the Fillet Beef, and it melted in my mouth. Good stuff. Will go back again if ever I have the cash.

Alex Restaurant

pricekr
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2011 (visited 24 September 2010)

Had dinner here when we stayed at the Conrad Dublin. The food was extraordinarily and, I must admit, unexpectedly good. We got in a bit late and there weren't many other patrons in the restaurant. We were treated very well and the wait staff were pleasant and very friendly.

Alex Restaurant

Countrybumpkin

26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th May 2011 (visited 15 May 2011)

Before going on to NCH we had the early bird dinner for €32. It was really excellent! So tasty, beautifully presented and extremely good value. The restaurant lacks a bit in atmosphere [maybe because it is an extension of the Reception, front bar area]. However, this is more than made up for with lovely tableware, charming, efficient and friendly staff and delicious food. We will definitely return!

Alex Restaurant

McTavish
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th April 2011 (visited 24 April 2011)

We ate here on two consecutive nights while staying in the hotel, staff are very friendly and service excellent. As other diners have mentioned the bread is absolutely delicious and it would be very easy to eat too much. First night partner had crab for starters and I was given a soup to taste even though I did not order anything, I thought this was a nice touch. For mains I had an Club sandwich on what ever bread I wanted with chicken and three cheeses, this was tasty and I could only manage to eat half, due to the generous size., monkfish was the other main and this was also a hit. The second night I had Lamb for mains and I have to say this was the nicest Lamb I have ever had, partner had Halibut and thoroughly enjoyed it too. Prices are not over the top even though this is a five star hotel. We would return for another meal.

Alex Restaurant

amachan
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th March 2011 (visited 22 March 2011)

We ate here during the dine in dublin week. Although it seemed like a good deal - 3 courses for €30 - it would not entice me to return. The bread which was served before the meal was delicious and the best part of the meal. If we hadn't had the bread we may have left still hungry. I also liked the sorbet which was brought out between courses. The rest was disappointing. I had the salmon nori tempura to start. This was a Japanese inspired dish that just didn't work. For mains I had salmon and cod roulade. This was quite nice but very rich. My boyfriend had curry soup to start and pork belly for mains. He didn't like his meal at all. We both had the walnut and chocolate tart for dessert. It wasn't as good as we had expected and we both left our desserts unfinished. The standard was not what one would expect for such a restaurant therefore I feel it was not very good value for money. This deal would not tempt me to return for the more expensive a la carte menu which should be the point of the dine in dublin offer.

Alex Restaurant

sengmana
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th October 2010 (visited 21 October 2010)

Dined here with a friend during Dine in Dublin Week. The was attracted to the menu because it had a variety of different things on it like quail, mackeral, veal and ray wing. We were served different breads and butter while looking at the menu. The brown bread was to die for! After much deliberation I decided on the Quail Spachcock, moroccan style couscous, pear and saffron chutney. It was divine. The quail was served on 2 skewers and was moist and tender. The couscous has grains that were roasted as well which added a different texture and was lovely. The pear and saffron chutnet was so delicious I had to eat the lot. For mains I had the Beef Bourguignon braised blade of beef, smoked pork belly, white onion puree and roast chantenay carrots. The beef was very tender and moist. Pork belly meltd in your mouth and the vegetables were cooked very well. The only thing that let the dish down was not enough sauce. For dessert I went for the Cranberry parfait and soft vanilla meringue. I was shocked to see the mountain of a dessert that was served. It was huge!! Which was great, don't get me wrong. I never had soft meringue before - i think this is known as italian meringue in the culinary world. It was different but I think I prefer the other type of meringue that is baked. Never had parfait before either but it was delicious. Overall I really enjoyed the food and the price was only 30 euros which was a great deal. I look forward to what the restaurant offers in the Dine in Dublin next time.

Alex Restaurant

Castleknock Traveller
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th October 2010 (visited 16 October 2010)

What a meal. My wife and I decided to try the Alex restaurant on a cold October Saturday evening. We have had tasty lunches in the lobby area over the last few years. Great decision. We both ordered the Gambas Prawn cocktail, followed by the 10 oz fillet steak and we shared a cheeseboard afterward and coffee. So boring that we had the same food but it was so tasty. The prawns were huge and cooked to perfection. They were presented in their shells and we were pleasantly surprised that it was effortless to extract them from the shells and enjoy them completely. It was the best Prawn cocktail we've had in years. Freshly baked brown bread was served by the ever attentive waiting staff. Follow that? Well the chef did. My wife ordered a medium fillet steak and I ordered mine medium rare. Both were cooked to perfection - a difficult enough thing to do with such a thick cut. Really lovely and beautifully seared. We had the chef’s medley of vegetables and gratin potatoes to accompany the steak. Steaming hot, delicious and served with a genuine smile. As like a previous reviewer we had ordered a bottle of Shiraz to enjoy with our meal only for the waitress to recommend the Chilean Cabernet. The Cabernet was less expensive but the waitress explained that recent guests to the restaurant had thought the Cabernet was exceptional and that we could change to the Shiraz if we felt the Cabernet was not to our taste. It was very pleasant and was a perfect foil to the steak. Finishing with a nice cheese plate and a couple of coffee liqueurs, I am certain we had just had one of the best meals in ages. It was a pity that we had to request that the heating be increased as the restaurant was definitely chilly. I t took a little while for the restaurant to get warmer and now that the weather has become a lot cooler I'm sure it's more comfortable. Unfortunately there were only a handful of diners enjoying their food.

Alex Restaurant

sanctamaria
Meath
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 07th June 2010 (visited 6 June 2010)

Ate in Alex with my husband yesterday evening. It was quite enough for a bank holiday. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We ate from the A La Carte Menu – We both had the soup of the day to start – which was cauliflower – this was very tasty. I had the fillet steak and my husband had the monkfish which were both equally delicious. We both finished off with the chocolate feather which was light and extremely tasty. We washed it down with a bottle of their House Chilean Cabernet Sauvignon which I would recommend. When you dine in the hotel they cover the cost of your parking at the hotel. It was an enjoyable evening and definitely worth a visit.

Alex Restaurant

Toulouse
Kildare
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th March 2010 (visited 26 March 2010)

We ate here as part of the Dine in Dublin week. As we arrived in the Conrad there was a great buzz about the place and we thought it must be packed. Sadly it was a large group of people in Alfies that soon headed off to the NCH. Alex was empty except for 3 small groups. With plenty of good tables to spare we were seated right beside the waiters station meaning lots of noise and bustle over the course of our meal as other waiters cleared tables or chatted to eachother. We ordered a couple of drinks and had a look at both the 'Dine in Dublin' and also the A la carte for comparison sake. I have to say that the A la carte didn't really tempt me and I'm not sure what I would have ordered had it been the only menu. Getting back to the Dine in Dublin menu we ordered the Charcuterie plate and the Gnocchi to start and the Rib-eye for mains. We also nibbled on some lovely bread served with 2 flavoured butters, sun-dried tomato and pesto. The charcuterie plate came with a really good hummus, crostini, chorizo and a slice of pork belly. My gnocchi was okay, it was a bit bland but the lovely tomato sauce, basil oil dressing and parmesan flakes really lifted the dish. Our steaks arrived perfectly cooked and with a duo of celeriac and green beans. We also had a side of chunky chips. For dessert I had the chocolate Marquise and himself had the creme brulee which he declared delicious! The Marquise was too big a portion to finish but tasty all the same. A pot of weak coffee finished the meal. As we left the restaurant was still quiet. The table of four who sat beside us as we were leaving commented that it had been much busier last year. Our meal came to €66 in total which I thought was fantastic value for what we'd eaten. Okay it is a hotel restaurant and you never quite get away from that fact but the food was good value and the staff were nice and friendly.

Alex Restaurant

Royal Ireland
Meath
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th February 2010 (visited 5 February 2010)

Great Restaurant. This is my six visit to Alex in the last 5 months and I have to say I love the place which is good coming from me as I've always seen myself as a bit of a foodie!!. It's got everything you want from a 'treat' yourself evening out. Excellent food, reasonably priced (on both the set and a la carte menu - set menu is only €32 for 3 courses and tea/coffee!!). Intimate, but with a nice buzz. Waiters are great, really genuine people, friendly but always professional. The last time I was there one waiter even recognised us and came over to welcome us back - thats what I mean by genuine. I know its an awful cliche but - I'll be back!!!!.

Alex Restaurant

Von
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd December 2009 (visited 22 October 2009)

I was here for a end of project celebration and the place was great. Service was great too. Ambience lacked but then we were in a large hall due to numbers. Can't comment on the vfm I'm afriad as it was all paid for :-)

Alex Restaurant

Verity
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th December 2009 (visited 4 December 2009)

This catering does not reach 5 star hotel standards! The waitress left without taking our drinks order and almost didn't return the menu when we asked for it again for our drinks. They couldn't seem to cope with the fact that my husband had ordered something completely different from what they brought out but he accepted it anyway seeing as it took so long to arrive. The food was plain and certainly not hot. They never came back to sort out our drinks so we didn't bother. (I tried to lower the stars on the atmosphere but the dial won't budge.)

Alex Restaurant

Jazzer
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th February 2010 (visited 15 January 2010)

Ate in Alex with two friends. I had the scallops to start which were delicous and very nicely presented. For main course we had seabass and john dory. We arrived late for our booking and were going to the national concert hall so we didn't have time for dessert. Service was very attentive and professional and all the staff seemed to have time for guests even though the restaurant was full. Wouldn't hesitate to go back again in fact I'm looking forward to it.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.9771 ]