WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

4-5 Dorset Street Lower, City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

10 reviews
4 stars - based on 10 reviews

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

Submit a review
WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

jclally
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd December 2014 (visited 12 December 2014)

I had been here a number of times previously and have recommended it to a lot of people. How disappointed I was when I brought the extended family last week. Firstly it was freezing inside - we all had to wear our coats eating dinner. That aside, the food and service had slipped a lot since my last visit. One of our party ordered a lamb tagine with cous cous. The tagine was brought on its own, with the waitress saying they had run out of cous cous but could offer potatoes instead. Surely something she could have been told when ordering, or at least prior to the food arriving, so she could have the choice of ordering something else instead? Four us ordered steaks ranging from rare to medium. Every one arrived far more than well done - the meat was so overcooked it was white throughout. When we mentioned it to the waitress she just shrugged her shoulders and said nothing more. On the plus side, the number of craft beers on offer was great. I have had countless good meals here before, but I won't be back in a hurry.

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

jonniomah

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2014 (visited 19 September 2014)

Top class, highly recommended. Great food, well worth a visit!

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

shauna
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2014 (visited 7 September 2014)

I visited WJ Kavanaghs after the All-Ireland final on Sunday so some post match drinks & grub. I had chicken wings & a burger which were scrumptious. This place never fails to get my thumbs up. Keep up the good work!

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

Bcroz
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th August 2014 (visited 30 July 2014)

Excellent value for the quality of food,nice atmosphere and great selection of craft beers,a hidden gem

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

33
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2014 (visited 2 August 2014)

Aren't we lucky to have such an honest eatery in the North Inner City. The food and beverages are just excellent, fresh, clean, tasty, value for money for amazing quality. Starters, Mains, Desserts, we are working our way through the choices and each excels the previous. The atmosphere is relaxed.... one small suggestion... the tables on wheels are a big small and awkward and could do with being upgraded but other than that, we are no regulars and supports of this local gastro pub with tasty, home cooked, fresh food served with a local honest smile. More of these please and less of the pretentious venues, food is over complicated, over priced and barely enjoyable...... well done!!!!

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

bobsalot
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th August 2014 (visited 22 May 2014)

A really decent place to eat on Dorset Street. This place was recommended to us for its fabulous food and didn't disappoint. It also has a great selection of craft beers if you're feeling adventurous and want a change from the Bulmers or Heineken.

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

cailínbeag
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th June 2014 (visited 7 June 2014)

Absolutely love this gastro pub. Have been here twice since it re-opened and am definitely going to be a regular. On Saturday night my friend and I visited W.J. Kavangh's. There was a nice little crowd here, not too busy. We both went for the beef sliders, which were very tasty and well presented. We had planned on having the scallops and black pudding salad, but unfortunately they were out of scallops which was a bit disappointing. I decided to make up for this and treat myself to a cocktail while I waited. They don't seem to have a menu, but the waiter recommended a few various options. It came out with fresh raspberries on a cocktail stick and was lovely. My friend had a glass of Rioja and said it was very nice too. I finished with a rhubarb and ginger crumble, which was yummy. WJ Kavangh's is the nicest bar in the area in my opinion. The service is top class - friendly, helpful and efficient. Definitely worth a visit!

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

redmonr6
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th June 2013 (visited 11 April 2013)

Went here with a group of friends as they have a lot of craft beers and recommend them one to go with each meal on their menu. The place is really nice and chilled, the staff are friendly and the food is quite tasty. For starters I had the crab, which was tasty . My friend had a really nice starter of black pudding wontons, unusual but gorgeous. For mains I had the steak sambo with twice cooked chips. This was really nice. They also have a good selection of wines and cocktails for those not really into the beers. I think the prices could be lowered slightly as they were a bit high, but all in all we had a great night.

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

weewoo
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd January 2013 (visited 31 December 2012)

What a hidden gem?! I was blown away by the food that we got here on New Years Eve! We popped in on the of chance that they would have a table and we couldnt believe the quality of the food! I had the Ling which was battered in a very light seaweed crust and served with mushy wasabi peas and twice cooked fried. My partner had a steak sambo which was cooked medium rare and served between two thick slices of Foccaica bread..heaven. Staff were very natural and genuinely friendly and there was a lovely festive atmosphere. There were people in just for drinks and then tables for dinner and it gives a lovely lively buzz. I will definitely be back for the food and craft beers!

WJ Kavanaghs Gastro Bar & Restaurant

JHC
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th November 2012 (visited 4 November 2012)

W.J. Kavanaghs is a bit off the beaten track (unless it's match day in Croke Park) but this pub is well worth a trip to Dorset Street for its great food and wonderful service. I've been in Kavanaghs for both lunch and dinner and have yet to be disappointed. The menu doesn't offer a huge range of choices (except, of course, when it comes to beer!) but they have taken great care to ensure that there is something for everyone, including tasty vegetarian options and traditional Sunday roasts. Most recently was in for lunch, tackling the roast (whiskey glazed ham with champ) and the hazlenut crumbed lemon chicken. The portions are extremely generous, though it wasn't on this occasion possible to resist the chocolate mousse and Eton Mess desserts as well. I would love to see this place do well--it really is a pleasure to visit with such friendly and knowledgeable service and delicious food!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 23.2791 ]