The Winding Stair Restaurant

40 Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1 , City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€€

365 reviews
4 stars - based on 365 reviews

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Submit a review
The Winding Stair Restaurant

Lynx
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th November 2014 (visited 3 November 2014)

We celebrated our 13 year wedding anniversary there and as usual, were not disappointed. I had the Portobello mushroom as a starter which was lovely, the steak and veggies for a main and the ginger and pear cake for dessert. We could not fault a thing. The waitress was really friendly and accommodating. This is one of our top five restaurants in Dublin and would recommend it to absolutely everyone. Top marks!

The Winding Stair Restaurant

sligogirl
All Regions
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th September 2014 (visited 26 September 2014)

Delicious food, very generous portion size. Good atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

VMalahide
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2014 (visited 5 September 2014)

Food was very good, irish quality produce done modern way. However, the tables are quite close to one another, being saturday night it was very noisy, my partner had to shout so we understood each other. Really feels squashed, if they expanded the space would be the ideal venue.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

deirdreemoore
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th July 2014 (visited 10 July 2014)

Very enjoyable visit for late lunch. Lovely food and great service.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Joanlouisesugrue

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st May 2014 (visited 30 May 2014)

Good atmosphere and service but disappointed with selection of mains on lunch menu and the chop was very fatty salty. Also the mash was tasteless. Dishes fron the main menu were nicer than the lunch menu. The orange and rhubarb dessert delicious. Outrageous twelve and a half percent added to bill for a party of 5 which added 38 euros to our bill. I like the buzz of this place and the location but it is not good value for what you get.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

GrubGrapeGrain
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st May 2014 (visited 20 May 2014)

Great setting. A super spot to bring visitors as it has great views and offers some quintessential Irish food in a modern way. Perhaps a bit on the steep side price wise. Some great flavours in the dishes. Service was attentive and friendly.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

jm1014
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2014 (visited 2 March 2014)

Went for the brunch menu on sunday afternoon. food was lovely but very expensive. the menu was quite limited and may not suit everyones taste. the service was pleasant and the setting is lovely. would go back for the pre-theatre menu

The Winding Stair Restaurant

pmcginn393719023
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 21 February 2014)

This restaurant is consistently excellent.. I never fails to deliver. The food is always excellent and the staff are first class....always knowledgable about the menu and the wines ...also good for a bit of banter!! The atmosphere is cosy ..We've eaten here as a couple but also in a big group...Get a table by the window...best view in Dublin..Love this restaurant, never disappointed

The Winding Stair Restaurant

niamh.byrne29
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 15 February 2014)

The setting of this restaurant is lovely. It is a small room but very cosy - great place for a date. I found the food unusual but very tasty. The service was great too. I'd definitely go back to this restaurant.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

anoirtiac
Kildare
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 03rd April 2014 (visited 7 February 2014)

Gorgeous food, great atmophere. Probably one of the best retaurants i have been to in a long time. A must for foodies

The Winding Stair Restaurant

tiggsy

14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th February 2014 (visited 12 February 2014)

Three of us had dinner at The Winding Stair last night, and it was excellent. The room itself is great. Best tables are at the window, overlooking the Liffey and Ha'penny Bridge. Staff are very friendly and helpful, with plenty of knowledge about the menu. Food itself was delicious and portions very generous - I'll save more room next time! We each had a starter and main, and skipped on dessert only because we were so full. It's not particularly cheap, but well worth what you pay. Highly recommended. I can't wait to go back and try more dishes!

The Winding Stair Restaurant

grubsup
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th January 2014 (visited 28 December 2013)

Loved it, dined with 4 others, between us we had the duck liver parfait, venison, chowder which came with lovely warm treacle brown bread. Absolutely stuffed after our mains but still managed to order and devour a brownie which was gorgeous, bursting with black cherries. Can't fault the place. Staff were very welcoming. Will definitely be back.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

Gartan
Kildare
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2014 (visited 4 January 2014)

I have eaten at Winding Stair a few times and loved it for the food and the quirky atmosphere of the place. It is a little pricey for what it is but the quality of the food tends to make up for that. I have found the staff friendly and knowledgable without being overbearing or intrusive. With that in mind, we ate there last night and it was very busy which is no mean achievement for a restaurant in early january. We had a wonderful wine which the waiter rightly enthused about (Alento Tinto, 2010 for €35). Our starter was a shared pheasant and game terrine which tasted like something out of a french farm house. it was perfect. My main course was a millines stuffed chicken with kale and duck fat roasties. The chicken and the kale was delicious but the potatoes were really terrible. They tasted like reheats or as if they were cooked in overused fat which was not likely but there was something not right about the texture or taste. I pointed this out when asked and the staff seemed a little defensive rather than accepting of a criticism. I was not asking for anything and made it clear that everything else was wonderful. We were offered complimentary dessert which was thoughtful. I wasn't in the mood for dessert because I was quite satisfied and my partner chose a rice pudding which was a little too al-dente for both our tastes ( I had a spoonful). We were brought coffees with the dessert and the coffee was really good. Nobody came to ask how we were or how dessert was and we had to struggle to get attention for the bill. Gently, my partner said that the dessert was not eaten because it was not fully cooked. The waiter ignored the comment and processed the payment and and the contrast between the earlier friendliness was so stark that he appeared utterly rude. Unusually for this place, there was no farewell shouted either. We did not leave a tip which would be exceptional for us. We thought afterwards that we were obviously dismissed as complainers. I won't be back!

The Winding Stair Restaurant

chent
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th December 2013 (visited 19 December 2013)

Great venue. Delicious food. Our waitress was fantastic! No house wine available as such, although lots of choice by the glass. Will return.

The Winding Stair Restaurant

harrisoncarole
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th December 2013 (visited 11 December 2013)

Great food wonderful service. A bit pricy for what it is

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6030 ]