Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

83 Middle Abbey Street, City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Vegetarian

Price Range:

€€

53 reviews
4 stars - based on 53 reviews

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Submit a review
Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

JenniferKeogh
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th July 2009 (visited 13 July 2009)

This place is absolutely summed up by the phrase *cheap and cheerful*. Its probably the only place in Dublin where you get a consistently high standard of food at a very reasonable cost. I love it here, have often come in for lunch and found myself back on the same day for dinner as its so good. The staff seem happy to be working there (very unusual in Dublin!) and there is a chilled out, relaxed, vibe of good-will from the place. You get a really good selection of food for a tiny price, ask for a small plate and a little bit of everything, and they will pile it high with four or five different selections and still give you change back for a tenner. Or get a take-away box for less if you're passing by. Great place, just love it!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Spoony
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th May 2009 (visited 19 May 2009)

I eat here frequently and again today was overwhelmed by the man-size portions. Great food and great value for money, served with a smile.. : ) I had a large plate full of goodess and the soup which my good friend let me sample, was particularly tasty today.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Shineyb
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th January 2009 (visited 16 January 2009)

This has to be one of the best places in town for a quick bite. The the staff friendly the food is always very tasty and it is without the best value intown. Hard to beat.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

katrinab
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th December 2008 (visited 12 December 2008)

I have been frequenting all of the Govindas in Dublin for the past 3 years. The one on Abbey Street is my favourite. They offer the biggest portions so I think it is the best value for money if you are very hungry. Their large plate is enough to feed four people. Medium will leave you stuffed. The food is so good, you can't stop eating it!. What is great is you can order a bit of everything so you can try things and see what you like. rice, dal (lentils), mung bean curry, gouranga potatoes and their homemade paneer (Indian cottage cheese) are just a few mouth watering options for you. The staff are great - they always smile and say hello or goodbye etc. The decor in the restaurant could do with some updating but it somehow adds to the charm. I used to pop in here for my lunch break and they do takeaway boxes for those on the run. Try their cookbook sold in store if you feel like trying it for yourself. Hare Krisna :)

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

queeny
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th December 2008 (visited 1 December 2008)

Goooooooooood veggie food here.Also they also have some yummy soups here.Nice cosy atmosphere but they could do with an wxtra bit of decor!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

maryann1930
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2008 (visited 27 November 2008)

Good veggie food. Was there with friend from USA who loves this place. The portion size on the "small plate" has been downsized over time while the price has raised.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

JoeDedanta
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2008 (visited 9 December 2008)

Oh YUM! I love the food at Govidas! So good and excellent value for money. I can never finish a plate- they pile them up high. Very casual dining. Friendly, relaxed service and atmosphere.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Stef
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th December 2008 (visited 7 October 2008)

This is a nice place for an informal lunch. It's very hippy style. Food was really tasty and reasonably priced. It's kind of carvery style so you can taste bits of different dishes. Food could have been hotter and also we had to clean a table to sit at.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

jbuilder6
Dublin
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 17th October 2008 (visited 14 October 2008)

Love this joint! It's reminisant of student days, mixed with an earth mother vibe. The food is very tasty and served up in extremely generous portions. You can have as much or little of any dish as you like. The standard plate costs just 8.95 and is enough to fill you up until the next day (and long after!). Govinda's isn't somewhere to go for a 'special night out'. However, it's perfect for a quick lunch, or a pit stop before heading out for the night. Well worth a try.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

ashy84
Dublin
49 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd September 2008 (visited 5 September 2008)

A great place to go for a vegetarian meal - you get to try a bit of everything so it saves the whole choosing something from the menu part of eating out. You get served very generous portions and it tastes great!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

stevelee925
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2008 (visited 14 August 2008)

Govindas! As recommended by my vegetarian-food loving friend, I gave it a try. Even though we're not vegetarian, we definitely love the place. It's got a relaxing atmosphere, with their menus changing occasionally. No need to explain how healthy the food is. Their desserts are also to die for, esp their cheesecakes. Portions are great too!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

dublingourmande
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th September 2008 (visited 13 September 2008)

If you are a healthy eater looking to fill up on low-cal veg and tofu, GO TO GOVINDAS. Get the medium mixed plate, it'll cost you €6.95 and about 300 cals and you'll be stuffed until tomorrow. I cannot stress enough how delicious their food is. The value--for Dublin--is great and the staff is very friendly. This is one of my favorites!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

MadMike

12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2008 (visited 5 September 2008)

As a vegetarian, this restaurant is perfect for me. There's a huge selection for me. I'm no limited to the usual 3-4 dishes on the menu. The dishes vary from day to day and they're always of high quality. For an inexpensive meal in a cosy environment, I'd recommend this restaurant again and again.

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

BLily
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th July 2008 (visited 25 July 2008)

This food is amazing. I always go for the special, which can include a wide range of dishes. The staff is always lovely. They could do with turning down the music though!

Govindas Restaurant (Abbey Street)

Suzette
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2008 (visited 28 April 2008)

I love this place. It's two minutes from O'Connell Street, with a relaxed atmosphere and terrific food. The staff are superb - they never, ever get annoyed with people mulling over the menu - and always have a smile for everybody. The decor is a little tatty, but it's a fantastic place for a substantial evening post-work meal, whether you want to meet friends or simply settle down with a newspaper. I'm not a vegetarian, so I really appreciate the way the menu pushes me to try dishes I am not familiar with. The only downside is the loos. I've had occasion to go down to them on a couple of occasions and they appeared a little neglected. For that reason, I'd never bring my more fastidious friends there. Sorry...

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4874 ]