Wallace's Asti restaurant

15 Russell Street, Behan Square (just off the North Circular Road at Croke Park), City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:


35 reviews
4 stars - based on 35 reviews

Wallace's Asti

Submit a review
Wallace's Asti

NiamhMc
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th April 2012 (visited 20 April 2012)

Visited this restaurant with my better half last Friday. The atmosphere is really relaxed considering how busy they were. We got a nice table and they recommened a lovely bottle of dry white wine for us. While we were deciding on what starter to have we were brought out some crusty, sliced bagette bread which when put with the olive oil and balsamic vinegar made a great combination. For the starter I had the caprese and my bf had the bruschetta, both were really tasty and the only critiscism I would have would be that they were a little too big. A smaller portin would have been fine. For a main I had the asti pizza which was gorgeous, there was parma ham, rocket and sliced parmasan which together were a great combination, I would highly recommend it. My bf had the seafood spagetti special and the muscles were really good. For dessert we shared the carrot cake which we both loved, it can be a trciky dessert to get right but this was perfect. There was a lovely atmosphere the whole time, we never felt rushed and there was always a friendly waiter on hand when we needed something. We felt really relaxed and thourghly enjoyed our dining experience and combined with the great value we will definitley be going back!

Wallace's Asti

balloonhead
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th January 2012 (visited 21 December 2011)

Ate here for the 10euro lunch deal. We had a very large group but were very well catered for with everyone being served quickly and efficiently. The food was delicious with the two courses such good value for just 10 euro. The pizza base was lovely and thin and the sauce was very tasty. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and I will definitely return again.

Wallace's Asti

jillbrowne
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd October 2011 (visited 3 September 2011)

Lovely early evening meal with my mum. Really authentic food. Staff always friendly with real attention to deal. Lovely pizzas and cakes. Would really recommend. Perfect for familys, couples or anyone just wants a really good meal at a reasonable price.

Wallace's Asti

emckinney
Wicklow
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th June 2011 (visited 18 June 2011)

On the doorstep of Croke Park this is a great place to go before a concert or a game. I went with 5 friends before Take That concert. The menu is not particularly large but there are enough nice choices and the food is great value. I had Bruschetta to start which was ok but the bread base was a bit tough around the crust for my likings. My chicken pasta main was delicious. Service was friendly and efficient and for a busy spot there was no pressure to vacate the table. We had a window table which gave the prime advantage of being able to people watch and soak up the pre-concert atmosphere. There are also outside tables. My one annoyance was that there were 10 - 15 minute queues for the toilet - a bit annoying given that there was another wheelchair toilet which seemed to be locked. I'd definitely go back before a croke park event but make sure you book as this is a busy place at these times.

Wallace's Asti

walnut11
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th May 2011 (visited 11 May 2011)

Wonderful place - Great service and buzz about the place - Had the prawns, Couldn't stop nodding my head with how lovely they were. Go and see for yourself & you won't be disappointed - 5 stars all round!

Wallace's Asti

stiofandebrun
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th February 2011 (visited 15 February 2011)

A good place to go for a quick lunch or an intimate dinner. This place serves real Italian food, don't go expecting 'Irish Italian Food'. Pastas and Pizzas are great and service is always friendly and quick. One to keep in your back pocket!

Wallace's Asti

Jules81
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2010 (visited 25 August 2010)

Excellent restaurant. I've been to Italian on numerous occasions and this restaurant is the closest thing I've found to authentic Italian food in Dublin, even in Ireland. The menu is not huge by any stretch but I can safely say that whatever you choose will be delicious. On top of that the service is friendly, casual and friendly. They always remember you when you make a return visit which I really like as that's not common in most Dublin restaurants. Get's a thumbs up from me!

Wallace's Asti

einstein

74 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st May 2010 (visited 30 May 2010)

Two of us went there and got the antipasta starter to share, very little on it and no dressing on the lettuce, very unappealing. One got a pizza which was dry and tasteless and I got spaghetti with garlic, olive oil and chilli which again lacked any taste . Expresso was nice, as was the few glasses of wine. This could be a great local place but they have really let themselves down in both the presentation and taste of the food.

Wallace's Asti

Irishtweety
Dublin
60 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th May 2010 (visited 11 May 2010)

I ate here for the second time recently... The first time was a number of months ago after a rugby game and admittedly a number of drinks so I was not sure how accurate my memory was - that the starters were very good and the mains just so so.... It turns out that my recollection was spot on as the starters were great last week and the mains were mostly just ok... The goats cheese pizza I had was slightly burnt and one of the starters we ordered of baked aubergine was piping hot at the edge but only just warm in the centre... Having said that the staff are friendly and prices are reasonable so I would possibly go back although I would not rush back....

Wallace's Asti

sanu67
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th May 2010 (visited 30 April 2010)

Great Italian restaurant, albeit hidden away in Richmond Street it is well worth a visit. I have been a couple of times over the last year and each time it has never failed to deliver in either the food or the service. I think value is good also as their prices are reasonable and for what you get it is well worth it. For the starters most of them are good to share due to the size of them and with the mains being generous also not always room for dessert unless you want to share and squeeze one in. They are a good selection of wines and the bonus of serving by the glass as well as the bottle for their wines whcih is a bonus when so many places only serve certain wines by the glass. Highly recommed if you are looking for good value, great food and great service from an Italian.

Wallace's Asti

sebawei
Dublin
84 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th April 2010 (visited 24 April 2010)

After failure to attempt to go to Croker for the division 3 & 4 finals we resorted to having a quick bite and head home, in what look like a rather chilly night out in Dublin city centre, and with rain looming in the horizon. After ordering it with an extra load of cheese (never mozzarella, as always in Ireland...) I can surely say I had the best pizza in years at D'Asti: salssiccia e patate. This was a combination I had not tried before and must say, caught me unaware. Twelve euro well worth it. Good service & good atmosphere added to a brief, excellent experience. Very recommendable.

Wallace's Asti

Stu123
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th February 2010 (visited 26 February 2010)

Nice place, tucked in behind Croke Park. Such a treat to find an inexpensive, genuine italian restaurant on the inner North side. We turned up around 7.30pm on a Friday without having booked and were lucky to get a table. Fairly small menu of mainly pasta or pizza mains. Friendly service, pleasant staff, if at times a bit inattentive. We had crostini and green salad to start, both excellent, then a couple of pasta dishes, accompanied by garlic bread and a nice dry white, followed by one dessert (a custardy flan which was lovely) and two coffees. At €76 for two (€31 of which was the wine), it's well-priced. There's a nice café-type atmosphere, family-friendly. We'll most definitely be back.

Wallace's Asti

Genny
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th October 2009 (visited 9 September 2009)

All in all a great little place and great asset to the area - we enjoyed pasta, bruchetta and antipasta - have been back several times

Wallace's Asti

diver
Dublin
114 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th September 2009 (visited 24 September 2009)

The starters were excellent. The main course was disappointing. It seemed at though half the starter came back as main couse in the form of the side salad. I would have preferred to have some vegetables instead of the recycled starter. They should stick to Italian and not bother with the Italian-Iriah stuff. Maybe put the english translation of the dishes on the menu to save us having to ask all the time! What's 'speck' ? Will try here again. but will stick to the pasta dishes.

Wallace's Asti

greenlung

16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th August 2009 (visited 2 August 2009)

I love this place, not pretentious, good food, good service. you get to choose from a small menu, all proper Italian dishes, there are chefs beside you. Smells gorgeous, Not pretentious every restaurant should be like this, I love it.

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4651 ]