Chapter One Restaurant

18/19 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Cuisine:
Fine Dining

Price Range:

€€€€€

311 reviews
5 stars - based on 311 reviews

Chapter One Restaurant

Submit a review
Chapter One Restaurant

Foodienomnom
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2015 (visited 16 December 2014)

Incredible food and excellent service. One of my favorite dinning experienced to date.

Chapter One Restaurant

rcamber30313262
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2015 (visited 14 November 2014)

Hi we went as a group for my brother's birthday. The food was fab as always but its the way the staff look after you that makes the difference. Always so attentive and pleased to see you. It's a bit more expensive but worth every penny we have never had anything but a great night out here.

Chapter One Restaurant

Aoibheann22
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st December 2014 (visited 11 December 2014)

Great food and wine. Loved the Irish coffee. Will be back very soon

Chapter One Restaurant

Harboura
Wicklow
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th December 2014 (visited 8 December 2014)

I always thought the location of a Michelin Star restaurant in a Georgian basement, but a basement after all - and one somewhat awkwardly located was a problem - and I think it is. But the food, the food - light but righ game terrine, and an unusual goose boudin (something of a deconstructed scotch egg made with game bird?) was stunning in flavour and richly satisfying. Main courses were perfect pheasant with autumnal savoy cabbage and nuts as accompaniment, and a crispy carrot-crusted duck breast that was pink and perfect. A light but Christmas-y ice cream dessert which incorporated both cranberry and orange flavours, and my companion went for a triple dose of white chocolate. I just love the unobtrusive quality of the service, although we had to wait rather a while to pay the bill. Wish I could dine there every week!

Chapter One Restaurant

youngtag
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2014 (visited 12 September 2014)

A beautifully put together menu and a lovely ambiance and dining experience with highly professional staff and host. I had the mackerel to start which was tasty without being spectacular. Then the fillet of beef for main course, this was a step up with it cooked to perfection, medium rare and a fine cut of beef. The best came last with the chocolate mousse one of the best I've ever had (and I've had the pleasure of trying a lot in my time as my belly will bear testament!). My taste bud sensors sprang into life with the first mouthful and it was a beautiful moment in my culinary eating career! Highly recommend this and at €36 for the pre-theatre menu, it's not reserved for the super-rich.

Chapter One Restaurant

antiskeptic
Wicklow
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2014 (visited 8 May 2014)

We treat ourselves to one or other of Dublin's Michelin restaurants from time to time - enjoying the top-drawer food, ambience and service. Arrival at Chapter One at 8pm for a table booked for 8pm (on a Thursday evening) saw us having to wait 50 minutes before we were seated. There was neither an acknowledgement or apology for the inconvenience (to us, with work the next day and to our school-going baby sitter). Nor was there an offer of a complimentary second drink from the bar, having exhausted our first. The food was excellent all the way through but service continued to fall down. Bread arrived with our starters - the waiter apologizing for the delay, bottled water was topped up by ourselves throughout and the need for a second glass of wine not recognized early enough. My wife being wished a happy birthday heading out the door - which explained the single (and erroneous) candle on her desert humorously topped off an evening of slips. Not the biggest deal in the world and I'd go back to Chapter One. But if it were anything like the same again I would get to wondering why the heck I was paying for that which I wasn't receiving: in this case, the frivolous enjoyment of watching perfection at work.

Chapter One Restaurant

andyp
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 10th May 2014 (visited 9 May 2014)

I have nothing but good things to say about Chapter One. Group of 5 of us went last night, my second time. The whole experience was a pleasure from start to finish. We went for the four course dinner menu at 70 euro a head with a few bottles of wine to boot. I had to the Marinated violet artichokes with buttermilk, basil oil and pickled garlic to start which I think I might dream about. Following that I had Molloy’s smoked haddock, with creamed and roasted cauliflower, crème fraiche, dried leek and fermented wild horseradish juice. The haddock was cooked perfectly and I have no idea how the cauliflower tasted that nice. After 2 perfect plates of pleasure, I chose the loin of rabbit for main. For dessert i had the buttermilk cream lemon puree jelly that I would have eaten a whole plate of on its own. I will not be waiting as long for the next time I go to Chapter One. Great job guys , keep it up !

Chapter One Restaurant

rionaclarke
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 22 February 2014)

This boutique indulgent restaurant under the Writers museum on Parnell Street may have a rather austere exterior but that conceals a playfully cool and modern interior and staff you'll never want to leave. Celebrating a family occasion we enjoyed the Chef's Table on Saturday last, we had to wait several months to get a Saturday sitting but it was more than worth it. Truly spoiling ourselves we opted for the matching wines, the Sommeliers generosity in his pouring led to this reviewer being as"delicate" as fine china the following morning but they were truly sublime, pairing sherry with onion broth, vegetables with sauvignon blanc, tapioca with Riesling and beef carpaccio with a Portuguese grape, the taste of Irish coffee dessert would make a Nun sigh, I would go on but at this point in the dining I had to just sit back and enjoy rather than taking notes. The duck was good enough for me to hunt down Donald and Daffy and have them skinned to have it again. The desserts were a small taste of poetry, and even the petit fours are served like something that should be in a gallery. It is worth ordering an Irish Coffee to view the sheer mastery of the preparation. While the food and standard of this restaurant is Michelin there is no pretensions about the staff, they genuinely make you feel as welcome as a warm summers day, and had my party laughing throughout the night. A super night, a real treat, thoroughly amazing experience.

Chapter One Restaurant

rionaclarke
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 22 February 2014)

This boutique indulgent restaurant under the Writers museum on Parnell Street may have a rather austere exterior but that conceals a playfully cool and modern interior and staff you'll never want to leave. Celebrating a family occasion we enjoyed the Chef's Table, we had to wait several months to get a Saturday sitting but it was more than worth it. Truly spoiling ourselves we opted for the matching wines, the Sommeliers generosity in his pouring led to this reviewer being as"delicate" as fine china the following morning but they were truly sublime, pairing sherry with onion broth, vegetables with sauvignon blanc, tapioca with Riesling and beef carpaccio with a Portuguese grape, and then the taste of Irish coffee dessert would make a nun sigh. I would go on but at this point in the dining I had to just sit back and enjoy rather than taking notes. The duck was good enough for me to hunt down Donald and Daffy and have them skinned to have it again. The desserts were a small taste of poetry, and even the petit fours are served like something that should be in a gallery. It is worth ordering an Irish Coffee to view the sheer mastery of the preparation. While the food and standard of this restaurant is Michelin there is no pretensions about the staff, they genuinely make you feel as welcome as a warm summers day, and had my party laughing throughout the night. A super night, a real treat, thoroughly amazing experience.

Chapter One Restaurant

garbhan
Dublin
70 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 14th February 2014 (visited 25 January 2014)

I was really looking forward to this night with friends which had been organised many months before. I had eaten here some years before and knew it was going to be expensive and it was. The restaurant is beautiful and the staff are friendly without being over attentive, however, we were quite disappointed with a couple of things on this night. Firstly in our group of eight, two had ordered a haddock starter and neither of them liked it or ate it. The waiter just cleared the plates and didn't ask if had been ok. We also felt they were pushing the wine a little too much and refilling glasses unnecessarily. I spent most of the first two courses with my hand covering my glass. The portions of Champ which accompanied our main courses were tiny and only one small dish between every two diners. We still had a great night but the cost of a round of drinks, eight four course dinners, a few Irish coffees and wine was just under one thousand euros excluding service. It will be a while before I can afford to repeat this.

Chapter One Restaurant

Gartan
Kildare
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th December 2013 (visited 27 November 2013)

Chapter One is the perfect place to go for an intimate lunch or dinner. I am never quite sure how they manage to make dining here such a perfect experience whether you are a couple or a group. The only fault I have with this excellent house is the bar area which can feel cramped when busy but this is a tiny fault because the real time is spent at a table savouring, over a few hours, wonderful food. it is not a place to have a quick lunch but a place to linger and talk and enjoy some of the finest food in Dublin. I love this place and every visit is a treat. Describing the food is almost impossible as each dish is a creation of unique flavours. On this occasion, I want to rave about the chestnut and wild mushroom soup which sounds nice but to taste was truly divine.

Chapter One Restaurant

gnugent
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th December 2013 (visited 3 October 2013)

I real welcoming experience from the moment we arrived for our early bird. We could not get a evening table it was booked out for weeks. The food was beautifully presented and service of staff is so professional. I found the food to be a little rich for my taste but it is delicious. I had a hot whiskey before I left and did not expect it to be prepared at our table, very impressive showmanship. My only issue was that the tables were quite close and the time between service was longer than I expected. It cost us just over €100 for the early bird which could not be considered cheap but it was worth the experience for what was an enjoyable evening before we left for the theatre. They also offer to collect your tickets so you don't need to rush off to the Gate, nice to know next time we return.

Chapter One Restaurant

yummee
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th November 2013 (visited 21 November 2013)

Good atmosphere, however felt a little cramped walking through the restaurant to get to our table in the corner. It was also a little chilly (a woman at the table beside us also commented on the draft). Starters and main course were excellent, beautifully presented and filling; I particularly enjoyed the lighter than air smoked potato and buttermilk soup. The dessert options didn't appeal to me so I opted for a cheese plate, there was a good choice as was expected. Overall, it's a lovely restaurant and definitely one I'd return to.

Chapter One Restaurant

Laure
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th November 2013 (visited 22 November 2013)

My husband and I ate here for a special occasion, and while we enjoyed the food, we were just a little underwhelmed , given the restaurants Michelin star. We started off on slightly bad footing, as when we never received a call from the restaurant to confirm our reservation, we called them only to learn that they had cancelled our booking! Apparently someone with the same surname had cancelled a booking, so they assumed that ours was part of the same booking. Pretty big assumption! Luckily they were able to accommodate us though. The bar area id very busy, and not really big enough for a busy Friday night. We ordered our meal from the bar area while having a drink and were brought to our table just before the first course was to be served. The food is delicious; I had the tastiest venison, and the best pasta I’ve ever eaten. My husband hasn’t stopped talking about the tapioca (it was amazing)! The only minor criticisms of the food are that, one of the scallops was a little over cooked, and very chewy, therefore not nice to eat. When this was mentioned to the waitress she looked surprised and simply said “oh”. I guess maybe they’re not used to negative comments about the food, but an apology would have been nice. I also wasn’t bowled over by the dessert (blackberries and baked custard). It was nice, but I expected something more flavoursome and elaborate for a Michelin starred restaurant. The starters are quite big, so you definitely won’t leave hungry. The selection of wine is great of course, and there is plenty of choice for less than €50. Mostly the staff are great, very friendly, however we weren’t too keen on the member of staff that just seems to greet guests and have a chat with them. It all just seemed a little insincere, and just about the theatre of a very animated man, rather than to enhance your evening. He also gave us a copy of the Chapter One book to flick through while having a drink, which just felt like he was trying to sell it. Chapter One is definitely more reasonably priced than some other fine dining restaurants in Dublin, but I think I’d rather pay slightly more to eat somewhere else.

Chapter One Restaurant

Nibbles
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th November 2013 (visited 19 October 2013)

A truely enjoyable experience from start to fininsh. When we arrived we were seated in the lovely bar area for a drink which was served with yum olives. We then moved to the table where the service from our waiter was excellent as was the advice from the somellier who provied an excellent choice. The food was as good as we'd hoped with all courses being perfectly balanced. the only drawback was is that we were stuck off to the side alcove and not in the main dining area. We will be back, for a special occasion given the cost, but i will be requesting a table in the main area for more ambience.

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5427 ]