Carlo's Restaurant

63-64 O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, City Centre North, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 1

Dublin 1

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Casual Dining

Price Range:


279 reviews
4 stars - based on 279 reviews

Carlo's Restaurant

Submit a review
Carlo's Restaurant

moiradefalco
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th October 2015 (visited 24 October 2015)

Got 2 vouchers for our table. misunderstanding on the fine prints but Mohammed was amazing and was still able to accommodate us- lovely table reserved (we were there to celebrate my friend's BDay), tasty house wine (white and red), big portions- great great food.... my god- the fish was to DIE FOR!!! lots to eat for an amazing price.... def going back there.... btw- my friend Oleg said that the prosciutto and funghi pizza was the best he ever had in Dublin. so there you go!!! to be recommended for sure!!!!

Carlo's Restaurant

cora251
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 05th October 2015 (visited 29 September 2015)

While I had been at carlo's several times, my companion had never been there. She was very impressed with her steak - perfectly cooked to her preference and the sauce chunky chips were great. She was stunned at the price..!

Carlo's Restaurant

burster
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 05th October 2015 (visited 4 October 2015)

Great Value and friendly atmosphere

Carlo's Restaurant

farrelldominic
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th September 2015 (visited 12 September 2015)

have been here several times and quality of food and friendly staff continue.

Carlo's Restaurant

caroline_conlon5
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2015 (visited 1 September 2015)

Visited Carlos yesterday with a friend and to say i was disappointed is an understatement! usually beautiful fish and chips - yesterday it was like a cheap cod portion from the chipper. my friend had a toasted wrap - it was burned :( the onion rings were shop bought. wont be returning any time soon

Carlo's Restaurant

crissiebelle67861128
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th August 2015 (visited 25 August 2015)

I purchased a voucher online for four of us to dine at a reduced rate. But even this reduced rate was way too much to pay for the terrible food and even worse service that we experienced. We were greeted by a waitress who exuded about as much enthusiasm as a parsnip. She showed us to the most cramped table in the restaurant... despite the fact that we were the ONLY patrons in the place. We made our orders to Little Miss Personality, and promptly received our starters, which we cannot complain about. Three of the six diners in the party had ordered Roast Beef as their main course. The beef smelled un-appetising and upon closer inspection, under the congealed gravy, the beef was undercooked. All three diners therefore could not eat their meals. We were sat for at least fifteen minutes before the waitress with the root-vegetable personality approached us asking if all was ok? We complained saying that there were issues with the beef, that we were dis-satisfied with the quality and the length at which it had been cooked. She nodded and then walked off, not to return to the table again. We continued to sit, waiting for some type of customer service, when a new member of the waiting staff came over. We explained the situation to him, at which point he collected the plates and brought them to the kitchen. He returned then minutes later saying that the chef had "received no complaints so far that week". We asked to see a manager. The response we received was that if we wished to complain, we could get up and go "in next door" (the hotel) to complain. We felt that this wasn't good enough so asked that a manager come to us in the restaurant so that we could resolve the situation. 20 minutes later, two members of the hotel staff who we assumed were in managerial positions as they were suited and booted and walked with an air of self-importance, entered the restaurant and walked straight past our table and went out the back. At this point, sick of waiting, we decided to begin to gather our things and make ready to leave the establishment. This caught the attention of the waiter and he quite promptly had a chat with the tailored twosome out the back, only to return with a bill. We asked what the bill was for, to which the waiter responded that it was for the child's meal and the two (measly; honestly, saucer sized) plates of chips that we had ordered after we realised that the beef was in-edible. This did not sit well with us, and we asked AGAIN to see a member of the managerial staff. The waiter said that he was representing the managerial staff and was conveying the message given to him by the duty manager. He seemed to think that removing one of the beef meals from the bill was sufficient resolution to our complaint. We argued that we should not be paying anything. We were getting nowhere with the waiter and demanded to see the duty manager, who we could see lurking in the background. He eventually graced us with his presence, only to reveal himself to be the most ignorant and obnoxious person that I have ever dealt with. He said that because he had not seen our dinners, that he could not comment as to their quality. Therefore did not feel the need to resolve the situation any further. Incredulous, we informed him that the beef was not of edible quality, and that striking one beef meal from the bill when three were ordered was ridiculous. His response was "well, you paid for the others with a voucher..." Personally, I feel that this fact was irrelevant. We paid for four meals. Only received two and a half edible ones and two saucers of chips, and were expected to pay an extra amount. We notified the "manager" that there was fat chance that we would be paying anything extra and asked for his name. Like a little child caught being bold, he huffily refused to give us his name. We gave up at this point, put on our jackets and left. Please avoid this disgusting place like the plague.

Carlo's Restaurant

jimscanlanei
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2015 (visited 14 August 2015)

Great meal great staff A very enjoyabkeThanks evening.

Carlo's Restaurant

michaelkenny62
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2015 (visited 19 July 2015)

nice food very quite centre of town good prices plenty of vouchers out there on grabone.ie and groupon

Restaurant response:
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Carlo's Restaurant Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed it! We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Lucy

Carlo's Restaurant

dina_andreucetti

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th July 2015 (visited 14 July 2015)

Great Place

Restaurant response:
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Carlo's Restaurant. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal and great to hear you liked our place. We hope to see you back again in the near future. Lucy

Carlo's Restaurant

HutchieM
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2015 (visited 2 March 2015)

Food (burger) was cold and (Fish) overdone

Carlo's Restaurant

cathymcardle1975
Monaghan
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st March 2015 (visited 28 February 2015)

Got 2 starters and 2 mains for 12euro in city centre, great value, 1 breaded mushroom,1 home made soup with 4 slices of garlic bread, 1 huge portion of fish n chips and 1 salmon with mas and veg, one word, Brilliant-

Carlo's Restaurant

Cooko
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:77%

Reviewed 24th February 2015 (visited 20 February 2015)

We purchased a Voucher for Carlo's Restaurant and were very happy with our choice. Our server was excellent and there was a nice chilled out atmosphere. Myself and my partner had chicken/beef burgers and our kids opted for roast beef / sausage & chips. If anything, the chicken burger lacked seasoning and the beef burger was overdone but weighing everything up we 100% received value for money.

Carlo's Restaurant

mary.a.cannon

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th February 2015 (visited 19 February 2015)

19th Feb 2014 Great lunch, super service( with a smile!) Very welcoming environment thanks to the great staff. For value- well nothing can beat it in its class. Well done to all Mary and Chrissy

Carlo's Restaurant

kathy0301
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th February 2015 (visited 13 February 2015)

Ok wouldnt rush back.

Carlo's Restaurant

robbie.armstrong

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th February 2015 (visited 10 February 2015)

A nice, cosy restaurant with great staff. The food was fantastic and the staff were so nice but not intrusive in any way and simply allowed you to enjoy your meal. I will go back and also recommend it to friends.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6185 ]